We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #387 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We have just returned from a great two night weekend break to this hotel and have had a wonderful time.
This is the second time we have used this hotel, the first being last May when we got it as a mystery hotel with a theatre package. We were impressed so booked directly to come back this time.
Upon arrival we were greeted professionally by the doorman and checked in straight away. We were offered the chance to upgrade to a suite overlooking the river which was well worth the extra. For the extra we got a large room (no 741) with a living area and a seperate bedroom. All stylishly decorated, and with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in, topped off with an amazing view down the river Thames towards Westminster and the London Eye! I am a very light sleeper and slept through both nights without being disturbed which was a bonus!
As london is notoriously expensive we found this was a great room to chill out in with a bottle or two and enjoy our weekend at a more relaxed pace.
Vauxhall station (underground and national rail) is a little over 5 minutes walk away, and an easy point to get around the whole city from.
The only gripes with this hotel we had on our stay were that we returned from a Show on the saturday night, quite thirsty and went to get a drink from the Hotel Bar, we waited nearly ten minutes and were not even greeted or apologised to for our wait. To add insult to injury it turned out both the serving staff (who had spent all this time working on two large orders of cocktails), were both working on orders for the restaurant and neither of them serving any of the customers waiting at the bar, so we left. Once in the room we decided to order room service having had no dinner before our show, perhaps on a friday and sat night the Room service cut off point for the full menu could be a bit later to accomodate people coming back from shows? The food itself was actually quite nice, but the server was quite rude, and the two drinks we ordered with the food (to make up for not getting any at the bar!!) were forgotten, something we didnt realise till going to bed!
The is also a small supermarket right next to this hotel as well open till 11pm for any snacks or drinks to take to your room as well!
All in all, the upsides to this hotel made up for the downsides meaning we had a great weekend, and left relaxed having enjoyed our weekend in London and slept well. We will return here for all our future London Trips, though will think again before using the room service.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morley_Tripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2011

Dear Morley,

Firstly I would like to apologise for any inconvience caused to you during your recent stay with us.
While your positive comments are greatly appreciated I note with great concern your remarks with regards to the service you received.The Restaurant and Bar team service the guests in both outlets during the evening, which may have caused the delay in you bring served. Greeting our guests is paramount to us, and I trust on this occasion it was a lapse in standards that will not be repeated.
Our room service menu is limited after 11.00pm and your remarks have been passed to the kitchen management to view. With regards to the server and the incorrect order, this will be addressed with the room service team and extra training will be carried out.
Feedback is always positive even if negative as it give us an opportunity to learn and improve the quality of service that we provide in order to exceed your every expectation on your next visit.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Plaza Riverbank in the near future.

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,336)
There are newer reviews for Park Plaza London Riverbank
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,271 - 4,277 of 5,336 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2011

Lovely hotel, however, when it's winter the A/C cannot be used and the heating is permanently on. It was far too warm. The shower wasn't very good in the beautiful bathroom, and there are no stairs!! So you have to use the lifts when I asked staff what to do in a fire he was unsure and told me I would need to use the staff lift???? Overall though a very nice hotel with a lovely breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crogkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PPRLLondon, EA to Regional General Manager UK at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about our hotel, I'm very glad that you enjoyed the room and breakfast. Please accept my apologies for the heat in your room, the hotel is currently looking into upgrading our climate control system to resolve this issue. Please be assured that there are stairs in the hotel and the fire escape route is clearly signed in rooms and around the hotel, I have made sure that all staff are aware of this.

Best Regards
Helen Bond
EA to Regional General Manager UK

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

In London for a quick trip from NYC. We stayed between Christmas and New Year's Eve. The hotel was lovely, great staff, wonderful breakfast (ours was included), nice little lounge where we had a late dinner. Location was pretty good as it is fairly quiet area on the Thames but near London Eye, across from Big Ben/Parliament, Vauxhall underground station a few blocks away, Rose pub about 2 blocks. Wasn't bothered by the rail as our room was in the front of the hotel. Room was immaculate, bathroom was superb with separate shower and tub, very modern, even had US power outlets! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Finnatic1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Dear Finnatic1223,

Thank you for your great comments, I was glad to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Park Plaza Riverbank we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!

Sincerely,

Madelen Tobiasson
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2011

Room was nice, modern and clean. Bed was massive and comfortable and had all the TV channels and services you could need. The staff and particularly the concierge were helpful and welcoming. The hotel is about a 6-7 min walk from Vauxhall underground or 10-15 mins walk the other way to Parliament/Westminster r the London Eye. Good value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fletch_thegr8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Dear Mr. fletch_thegr8,

May I take this opportunity to thank you on behalf of all the team at Park Plaza Riverbank for your kind comments expressed, and in particular the staff at the Concierge Department.
We do indeed benefit from a great central location, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future should your plans allow.

Sincerely

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2011

All good about this hotel but trains close to hotel with constant noise. Very poor nights sleep although food good and staff very helpful. Curtains let in light which didn't help disturbed sleep.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank discerning123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Dear discerning123,

Firstly may I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you following your recent stay with us. Unfortuanately due to our central location and the local train station we do experience some noise issues from time to time. We are currently looking at ways to limit this. May I also thank you for bringing to my attention the curtains in the room you vacated. Our Housekeeping Department have addressed the repairs this morning.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Park Plaza Riverbank in the near future.

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2011

We got an amazingly cheap deal via the Expedia Secret Deals. And were particularly delighted to find that this hotel provided excellent service, good sized room, fab bathroom/shower, excellent facilities in the room + quality toiletries etc. AND in a great location. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pen1e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Dear Pen1e,

On behalf of the team at Riverbank I would like to thank you for your kind comments and feedback following your recent visit.
Expedia do indeed offer great deals, and I hope that your business will bring you back to London in the near future and that you choose to stay with us again.

Sincerely

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2011

Decided to go London for a weekend get away and the hotel was last min. I was surprised at how up market the hotel was! There was staff ready to great you at the entrance and help with your luggage. Room was lovely and clean, ordered room service & the portions were massive, great value.15 min walk from parliament, and local shops either side of the hotel. Bus service outside to take you to local tube station Vauxhall but a ten min walk also does the job. Staff were friendly and helpful. Overall great stay and worth every penny.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2TRUEBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTobiasson, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2011

Dear 2TRUEBirmingham,

Many thanks for your fabulous comments following your recent weekend stay. As a 4star hotel we do our best to reach 5 star standards and always greet our guests from the moment they arrive at our door and continue trying to exceed their every expectation till they leave us. I’m glad you enjoyed the experience and all the amenities we provide.
We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Plaza on the River
#245 of 1,072 in London
1,524 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#164 of 1,072 in London
1,034 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Novotel London Waterloo
#314 of 1,072 in London
2,945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Business Hotel in London
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
#281 Romantic Hotel in London
#314 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $162 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London Riverbank England
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing