We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeds expectations”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #387 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Golden, CO
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations”
Reviewed April 25, 2007

Overall, I had an extremely pleasant experience at the Riverbank Park Plaza. I got a weekend special of 76 GBP which included breakfast. Althought I was traveling alone, I had a double room (no view) but I did not get the "railroad"view that others complained about. In fact, the view was to the interior of the building. However, in London, who stays in the room? In any event, the room was high-tech -- DVD, plasma TV, internet, room lights do not work unless you insert your room key card in a special slot @ the door. The room was decorated in modern, clean lines with leather and black painted wood furniture. Bathroom has a separate shower, a "huge" tub and all new chrome faucets with granite floors and countertops. While some have complained that it was not close to the sights, I found I could walk across the river to the Houses of Parliament in five minutes. London Eye/County Hall is about a ten minute walk up the Thames and the river is literally right outside the front door of the hotel. If you're doing London on a budget, there's a small grocery store adjacent to the hotel that sells wine, liquor and other grocery items.

Finally, if you want to go sightseeing, the local sightseeing company stops about 1 block from the hotel and will carry you all over London for about 22 GBP. The sightseeing pass is good for 24 hours and allows you to use it on two different days.

I am definitely going to return to the Riverbank. I had a great stay in London.

  • Liked — Size of the room and decor
  • Disliked — Distance to local restaurants
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank jetset53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

5,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,030
    1,837
    791
    370
    218
See reviews for
814
2,040
248
1,329
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (882)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 20, 2007

Went to this Hotel on Easter weekend as part of theatre package wityh Last Minute.com. Hotel was actually not named on LM.com but with a bit of research it was easy to find where we might be staying. Overall felt it was a good deal.

Hotel 15 mins walk from Waterloo or Pimilco tube stations or 10 minutes from Vauxhall Tube on the South Bank opposite the Tate Britain, very easy to find as only building that has hotel type frontage.
Hotel also appears to form part of apartment block for longer term residents though they have their own entrance.

Customer service was very good at reception, with our bags being looked after pre-check in so that we could see the matinee show. There were a number of weekend offers available on check-in that would allow us free first drink though this was difficult to completely understand as the receptionists accent was very strong. Good service though.

We were located on the 9th floor in room that gave just a glimpse of the River. Room comfortable size compared to other London hotel rooms, with high standard of fittings, large lcd Tv and DVD player, internet acccess.

Went for pre meal drinks in the cocktail bar. Prices were what I would expect though did feel strange not seeing the cocktails not being made front of house. They were made behind a stained glass window highlighting the drinks.

Went to get a meal in the lounge downstairs, however this was fully booked, be warned. Decided to give the in house Chino Latino restaurant a go. Food I would say was not terrific value given the standard, very Sushi/ sea food orientated. Service was very good.

Cannot comment on breakfast as we both felt £17.50 each was too much for breakfast when we don't eat that much.

Good base for a weekend in London if you like modern hotels.

  • Liked — Very Modern Feel
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö
1 review
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Park Plaza Riverbank, London! Great Hotel!
Good location! Excellent staff! Easy to find! Restaurant was excellent! Fantastic rooms!
Overall it was a fantstic experience and one of the best hotels that I visit!

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
Thank Daniel75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2007

Stayed with my husband and two children for 3 nights from 10th to 13th April. Husband there on business and thought as it was school holidays we would make most of it and join him. Hotel was great...spotlessly clean, staff very friendly and helpful and breakfasts great.
Location overlooking the Houses of Parliament and Big Ben was perfect. Great walk along the Thames to the London Eye of about 15 minutes. Nearest tube station was Vauxhall on Victoria line about 5 mins walk.
We had interconnecting rooms so kids had a room of their own. Rooms were cleaned to a high standard each day although a little on the warm side.
Breakfasts were great , buffet style with hot and cold choices.
All in all we had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Liked — the high standards
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronnie40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

Riverbank Park Plaza is a really stylish, chic property despite having almost 400 rooms.

Our bedroom was very comfortable with an absolutely stunning view overlooking the House of Commons, Big Ben and the River Thames. The room itself was very well laid, everything you needed was there including an iron and ironing board which is a godsend if you are anything like me - packing at the last minute with no time to iron anything! The bathroom was spacious with a seperate bath and shower and a decent selection of toiletries. Overall, not too bad at all.

Had diiner in the hotel restaurant 'Chino Latino' and it really was excellent. We had several different starters to share including Tempura Prawns which were fantastic. The Black Cod is to die for, better than Nobu which is not surprising considering the hotel have poached the chef from there! (padon the pun) Really, you should try it out when you are there or just go for the evening, you won't be sorry. The bar area was packed, but not unpleasantly so, plenty of seating and attentive service. I can recommend the Watermelon Martinis.

Overall, as large corporate hotels go, Riverbank Park Plaza was a very pleasant surprise. The location could be better, but it was a great place to spend an evening.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — the lighting in the bathroom
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank InAllTheRightPlaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2007

This is great looking hotel, and wonderful rooms and facilities inside, the executive upgrade is well worth it with the drinks and canapes in the lounge in the evening and a more relaxed breakfast experience. Location wise the hotel is good especially if you are happy roaming along the southbank and not adverse to a little bit of a walk rather than immediate access to underground network - although its still only 5 mins away.
The downside - the service was slow and not particularly welcoming. Many mistakes were made with our room, our bill, mistaking our deal etc. Restaurant staff in club lounge were really friendly and up beat though.
All in all we would recommend this hotel for a long weekend just be prepared for the slightly below average service!

  • Liked — The hotel architecture and quality
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank haggisgardner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington (uk)
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2007

Having stayed regularly at the City Inn in London I decided to move and give the Park Plaza a go. And was I glad!! Just like the City Inn the location is excellent and easily accessible.

Upon arrival I was greeted by concierge who helped by from the taxi. The entrance hall is very impressive and contemporary. The reception staff were very helpful and I was quickly booked into my room. The lift leading to the room was amazing with star style lighting. Everything was really futuristic, something you would expect to see in a hotel in Tokyo.

The room was fantastic, very clean with a huge bed, flat screen and a media centre. This was much more than expected. The bathroom was even better with a large bath, separate glass shower cubical, halogen spotlights and beautiful black floor tiles.

My only minor complaint was surrounding the minibar. Basically it wouldn’t open and when I rang reception I was told it would be sorted in two minutes. Twenty minutes later I rang back and was told it couldn’t be opened because I didn’t log my credit card number. I find this quite odd as I had a room allowance but was told that its part of the system! What was really strange was the fact that I could order drinks via room service without any questions.

Breakfast was a buffet style service and provided plenty of choice which was very welcome. The service was excellent and I was given a table in no time.

Overall this is a fantastic hotel in an excellent part of town. Really conferrable with good service most of the time. I would definably recommend this and I believe it’s a better bet than the nearby City Inn.

  • Liked — Futuristic Setup
  • Disliked — Non functioning mini bar
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank graemeboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Plaza on the River
#226 of 1,069 in London
1,498 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#174 of 1,069 in London
952 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
The Tower
#268 of 1,069 in London
6,665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Property: Park Plaza London Riverbank
Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#270 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Business Hotel in London
#281 Romantic Hotel in London
#314 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London Riverbank England
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing