We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“absolute first class” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza London Riverbank

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #390 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
“absolute first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2006

Stayed at this hotel just once and what a treat. Really great rooms and if you are lucky will have a view of the Thames and Parliament. A Very nice hotel which I would recommend to anyone. I will return, A lovely walk along the south embankement to Westminster Bridge. Also saw Lisa Riley at Check out!

  • Liked — Location and Modern
  • Disliked — Beware the busy road
  • Tips/Secrets — Try and get a river view
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bachgyn123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,699 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,802
    1,663
    715
    331
    188
See reviews for
703
1,819
227
1,210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (833)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2006

This is a stylish hotel with a nice bar. Good location. The executive rooms with a view are big and beautiful. The standard rooms could look directly into another building or - even worse -face the tracks. The trains are running constantly and all day long.
The big problem of this hotel is the service on all levels. Most of the staff is friendly but nobody really cares. Many of them are simlpy unprofessional or untrained. One example: We stayed over Christmas and we knew that their restaurants would shut down for three (!) days the night before. By chance. You get informations in small pieces - if you get them.
I would only recommend this hotel if you book an executive room with a view and if you can take care of yourself. If you like hotels in which the staff is polite and greeting you and taking care of your needs this is not your hotel. All in all we enjoyed our stay but we will not come back.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank johannamaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2006

I don’t know where to begin…..I booked the Riverbank Park Plaza for my sisters 21st Birthday last weekend and can honestly say it was one of the greatest weekends I’ve ever had. We booked 3 River facing executive rooms and one Riverbank Suite for 8 of us. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly doorman who pointed us in the direction of reception. We had to queue for 10 minutes but this was only because a coach had just arrived. A very friendly trainee checked us and gave us our keys to our rooms.

The rooms were absolutely fabulous as were the bathrooms – separate shower cubicle as well as bath. Our Suite had a separate lounge area which was extremely spacious but best of all were the views!!! We were extremely lucky to have blue sky and sunshine even if it was a bit cold. Every room had clear views across the Houses of Parliament and down towards the London Eye – it was fabulous and well worth the upgrade fee. I believe the back rooms of the hotel overlook the train tracks into Waterloo so if you can afford the upgrade it’s well worth it.

The hotel itself was very modern and beautifully decorated – Before going out for the evening we had a drink in the bar and the bar staff were lovely. Breakfast the following morning was superb….a huge selection from fruit, pastries, yogurts, cereal, and of course hot full English….

As it was my sisters birthday we organised for the hotel to make a cake which we’ve all said was the best chocolate cake we’ve ever tasted….utter heaven!!! So if it’s a special occasion then definitely request the hotel to make a cake – it was worth every penny.

Lastly one of the best attributes of the hotel is the Guest Relations Manager Albert. I contacted him prior to my arrival and he was the most helpful accommodating member of staff that just made the weekend extra special.

I would recommend this hotel to anybody of any age. It was only a £5.60 for a black cab from Waterloo and £10.20 over the river to Piccadilly Circus so fantastically situated. If you fancy a brisk walk Sunday morning after breakfast then I strongly recommend coming out the hotel – turn right out the hotel and when you get to the bridge 50 yards in front of you walk down the steps so you are next to the river. Continue to walk along the river past the London Eye, The Tate Modern all the way to Borough Market and continue up to Tower Bridge – It’s a fabulous walk. If you don’t fancy the walk back then jump on the speed boat for £4.30 back and get off at Tate Britain which is opposite the hotel on the other side of the river and just walk over the bridge – This walk made our weekend complete!!!

I can’t wait to return back to the hotel.

  • Liked — Views from the River side rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Susie_Yal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2006

Booked Hotel on Last minute web site and have to say that the service we received from all staff was excellent. Check in was quick and efficient and they also allowed us to check in at 10:00 am. Room was clean and trendy with a view of the river. All facilities were excellent, especially meal in club lounge, which was very reasonably priced. Location of hotel was also good and with just a 15 minute stroll you are in the centre of most things. Would recommend hotel to friends and will definitley stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Altonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkburton, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2006

Situated just across Lambeth Bridge and opposite the Houses of Parliament this hotel is in a prime location to take in probably the most well known building in the world! Great if you can get one of the suites overlooking the Thames, maybe not so good if your room is at the back of the hotel overlooking the the eight-track rail line.

Our room was at the back of the hotel and, although we could hear the trains passing, it did not disturb us. We travelled to the hotel by car for a weekend stay. Overnight parking is £26. Check-in was extremely busy on our arrival and it did take quite awhile to get through the process. We booked through Priceline and got a good deal with their 'Name your own price'. The hotel offerred us a £25 upgrade 'executive package'. This included, special toiletries, robes, slippers, fruit, complimentary canapes and wine/beer in the 11th Floor Executive Lounge (between 6 p.m. and 8 p.m. ) and complimentary breakfast - at £12.50 each we found this excellent value.

The room was stylish and modern with quite a large bathroom. It was good to have a separate shower but the absence of a bidet let it down slightly. There seemed to be a problem with the hot water during our stay, it took to an age to come even luke warm and I am not sure it would have been hot enough to have a bath.

Overall a good stay at the price we paid - not sure I would want to pay the full price though.

  • Liked — Great views to the front
  • Tips/Secrets — Avoid the hotel parking charge - at weekend park overnight and all day Sunday free in Waterloo Place. Travel to hotel by bus from Trafalgar Square, stop A, No.3 bus to Crystal Palace.
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SB00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2006

Very pokey room ( executive room )....and service with a smile does not come natural to this hotel, even when you tip the staff !....the front desk was a nightmare on check-in....disgruntled guest from Cambridge UK.

  • Liked — style
  • Disliked — very clinical and staff
  • Tips/Secrets — pack some comfy shoes if you want to get anyway you'll have to walk a while or taxi !
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wanderererer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2006

We didn't actually book this hotel but were changed here from the Sherlock Holmes Hotel last minute.

The hotel itself is great, very modern, the staff are very helpful, the room was very big etc but from our point of view the location let it down.

We had booked the other hotel due to the central location.. unfortunately something which can't be said for this hotel. The nearest tube station is Vauxhall which is a good 15 minutes walk away... not great in the rain! We had to get taxis in the evening which is expensive.. especially when you hadn't planned for it!

Overall this is a great hotel as long as you don't mind being South of the River. I'm sure the river view rooms are great but unfortuatnely we didn't get one!

  • Liked — The bathroom!
  • Disliked — The location
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for a river view room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sofe1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#127 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Property: Park Plaza London Riverbank
Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Business Hotel in London
#275 Luxury Hotel in London
#281 Romantic Hotel in London
#314 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London Riverbank England
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing