We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special at all!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #392 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 4, 2008

The hotel was extremely average. Our room felt like it hadn't been cleaned properly, there was an iron burn on the carpet and there were no little extras to the room at all - just the usual tea making facilities (not even any biscuits). The room was tired and in need of some TLC, when using the toilet roll, the holder fell off the wall.

The positives were that the room was large in terms of London standards, the staff were pleasant and it was a lovely walk along the Thames to the Millenium Wheel on the sunny Sunday morning - of course the weather can't be guaranteed ;)

We are a young couple who used the room as a base so it did for us but if you want something special, go somewhere else.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank cate_devine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,429)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,608 - 4,614 of 5,430 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2008

I have stayed at the Riverbank on a number of occasions and can recommend it. A large modern hotel, the rooms are excellent - larger than most London hotel rooms and with large bathrooms. Very well equipped (including DVD player) and some rooms have great views. Breakfast is comprehensive though the cooked version can be a bit lacking in freshness if it has been on the hotplate too long. You will need a large bank loan if you want anything from the mini-bar so I recommend the little shop almost next door which stays open until 11.00 and stocks most things.

The only real disadvantage for many people is the location - it is a fair distance from the nearest tube and there are only a limited range of eating places in the immediate vicinity.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brunlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We stayed here before leaving on a cruise. We arrived early and the staff was helpful in finding us a room that was available early on a Friday afternoon. It's very centrally located, we walked to the Houses of Parlament for a late afternoon tour, then found dinner.

There were a number of nearby bars, one of which we visited later in the evening and met a number of people leaving on the same cruise the next day.

This was my 3rd time to London, both by location and service this is the best place I've stayed. I would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrell_msp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2008

I recently stayed at the Park Plaza Riverbank for two nights with my partner; we were in London celebrating our anniversary and so booked an 'Executive' room for two nights.

The hotel promised much and was in a good location.

However, the experience was utterly uninspiring: this hotel really is nothing special. What's more, there were a series of niggles and minor irritations which somewhat spoiled the occasion.

The most blatant error was that our sheets were not cleaned after the first night. We returned from the city to find that the room itself had been cleaned, and fresh towels provided, but that no-one had seen fit to change the bedding.

I've stayed in pokey hotels and apartments for less than £50 per night where the sheets were changed daily with metronomic precision; so why not, when I paid over £200 per night?

Also annoying was the 'Executive' package itself - and the associated promotions.

We were supposed to have been able to access the Executive lounge, with drinks and canapes included, which would have been nice, as the view from our room was of the walls of an apartment block (presumably) and a dirty side street...

But we couldn't get in.

Nobody picked up the phone when I called to query this; then, when we asked at reception, they informed us that drinks were to be served instead in the bar.

The bar staff knew nothing of this and we left quite disappointed.

Breakfast was also quite dismal - and similarly confusing. (It is served in three different places and we were shuffled between them all.) And, although we sat down towards the end of the allotted slot for breakfast, the staff seemed to actively want to get rid of us.

The overall package - comfort, quality, service, etc. - was average (at best) and what I would expect for about a third of the price. For an outlay of £420 (for two nights), I expected a lot more.

Definitely not recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Myrmidon_J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2008

I booked the hotel through lastminute.com (one of their mystery hotels) for £300 (Thu & Fri) in an executive room. Given that the rate includes a full breakfast and free drinks & snacks between 6.00 & 8.00 pm it was a bit of a bargain. We had a (very) partial river view room on the 10th floor which was very quiet. They wouldn't upgrade me to a river view room, even when I offerred to pay the difference in price (very odd).

The hotel is quite new so all furnishings are immaculate. The design of the bedroom, the quality of the bed and en-suite are all first class. The aircon is effective but noisy on any setting.

The executive lounge was closed and so drinks/snacks were served in the basement club lounge - the other half of which was full of coach-party guests - not very conducive for a quiet drink.

Breakfast for non-executive room guests in the Club room looked pretty horrendous; breakfast in Chino restaurant was much better, but the tables would be much too close together for dinner.

Check in / check out was efficient. Be careful when you ask the concierge to call a taxi though; make sure you get a real black cab. The porters appear to have an arrangment with a firm of unmetred minicabs that lie in wait outside the entrance. They take your bags to one of these guys, who, when you get to your destination, proceed to demand double the normal taxi fare. Beware.

Mangement should put a stop to this scam.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank CIARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2008

Hotel is in prime location , adjacent to the Thames . Rooms at the front have excellent views of Houses of Parliament , rooms at the rear are next to a railway line and have terrible views of industrial areas . Many of the young staff are foreign and their command of english is not always good . Bar was understaffed and they were rushing about , which does not create a relaxed atmosphere . The continental breakfast was far better than the full english , which included tinned mushrooms , watery scrambled eggs and bacon rashers that appeared to be boiled . Overall disappointing for a hotel of this class .

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MikeUKfornow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2008

After staying one night nearby in a Premier Inn for £68 we thought we would splash out and stay in a luxury hotel for a night. Ok, so we booked through a London discount hotel website, but when we turned up, the desk said they did not have my reservation entered on their system. Luckily I had a printout of my reservation so they grudgingly gave us a room while they checked it out. The receptionist refused to believe that we were entitled to breakfast and said we were room only.
Eventually, after about half an hour, they found our booking and agreed that we were indeed having breakfast.
The room was beautiful, although it was at the back of the hotel overlooking the main railway line (approx 25 yards away) into Waterloo. In spite of the triple glazing the sound of trains could be heard all through the night. Breakfast was good.
So - lovely hotel but ask for a room at the front overlooking the river. It will set you back a lot more but at least you'll get some sleep.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jane49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Plaza on the River
#249 of 1,076 in London
1,540 reviews
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#163 of 1,076 in London
1,153 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Novotel London Waterloo
#320 of 1,076 in London
2,988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Business Hotel in London
#281 Romantic Hotel in London
#314 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $145 - $298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London Riverbank England
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing