We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Upgrade for a view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Park Plaza Riverbank London

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Park Plaza Riverbank London
Ranked #387 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Liverpool, England
Level Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Upgrade for a view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

Stayed 1 night at Park Plaza Riverbank and we got an executive suite upgrade with a fab view of the Houses of Parliament and the River Thames (spectacular view when lights come on after dark) Well worth the extra (but did have to bargain at reception!) rooms beautifully furnished and Oooh loved the quality of the pillows and duvet...made it feel very luxurious! Breakfast was bit disorganised lie previous review said...waited for table and too much traffic! Food delicious tho and definitely would stay here again. The walk along embankment to South Bank was great. Just the ticket to wind down after a busy day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PColumbine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear PColumbine,

We read with pleasure about your time at the Hotel.

The views from some of our rooms after sunset are certainly breathtaking and worth the room upgrade. We are glad you enjoyed.

We hope to see you back soon.

Best regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,322 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,629
    1,565
    671
    291
    166
See reviews for
646
1,653
212
1,111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (788)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
aberdeen
Level Contributor
174 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

A plush and modern style hotel of the Radisson Group, the hotel is right on Albert Embankment and a short walk from the South Bank, London Eye, Houses of Parliament. Easy to get around being close to Vauxhall Station and to taxis.but suggest you try for a deal as the place is a bit expensive. I prefer to do without breakfast and eat later and the hotel was well suited to this. Staff could not be more helpful and pleasant but with the dignity expected of a four star hotel. we had one meal there and the food was first class although drinks are a bit pricey but reflect a four star in central London. Reception was efficient with a delightful young lady who couldn't do enough for us. I am a little hard of hearing and did find the background music in the reception ,mad it hard to hear the young lady's very soft voice but otherwise a great stay.

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a riverview room . We were off to one side and could see the river and thankf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AberdeenBraveheart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear AberdeenBraveheart,

Thank you for your experienced review. It is a delight to read about your experience.

I trust we will be welcoming you back in the near future and we look forward to it!

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

We loved or stay here. Excellent location, we walked all around London and up to Covent gardens. The breakfast in the morning was lovely. Staff were very helpful behind the front desk. We were upgraded to a river view room. we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenna2407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear jenna2407,

It is great to hear about your enjoyable stay with us and thank you for sharing it with other travelers.

We hope you will visit us again soon!

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

Only stayed for one night as we had a wedding nearby. As a chain I rather like Park Plaza hotels and this experience served to confirm that opinion. Large, clean, modern rooms, helpful staff and good in-room facilities. We paid for breakfast at reception but at the restaurant found that it was a tad disorganised - we just walked in and served ourselves and it would have been easy to have avoided paying at all (however, it was a weekend and very busy). Food choice was varied and things like lovely Glamorgan sausages and having actual 'crispy' bacon (rather than that almost boiled looking stuff you often get) was appreciated.

Check in and check out were simple and quick and overall the hotel was good value for London. Had nearly booked a Park Plaza in a nearby location in London which cost more and I'm glad we didn't as this would have been wasted money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dougdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Dougdog,

We very much appreciate your kind words and we are delighted that you made us your preferred hotel.

We look forward to a very long relationship with you!

All the best,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here with work in March and it is a nice hotel. Average room, nice food, centrally located. Lovely view of the Thames. Nice hotel, helpful staff. Would stay here again. Not too far from Euston station in a cab. Great location for Westminster, London Bridge, Downing Street etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindsey_singleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear Lindsey_singleton,

Thank you for your positive review!

We are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay and everything was to your satisfaction.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed at the hotel only for one night so a limited experience on this occasion. We had booked three rooms as part of a package with friends but one party had to drop out at short notice so only two rooms were occupied, one of which was ready on arrival at 12.00 noon so earlier than expected. Both were in the executive rooms area on the 11th floor. No river view, we were told by staff the hotel was full but would have cost an extra £50 each room to upgrade if they had any. The staff were very keen to point out on arrival there could be no refund as the other party was not turning up and three rooms were booked as a package. We knew that a refund was not possible but the impression given was that this seemed more important to them than greeting and making us welcome. Both rooms had views across London skyline but we had to contend with the Waterloo to Vauxhall trains running past every few minutes below the window, although noise subdued by double glazing if window shut. Our room was quite reasonable in terms of cleanliness and facilities as advertised and bed quite comfortable, although no morning paper offered. Breakfast was not included in the package so added that option at check-in for another £12.00 per head. Breakfast was not the best value for money, reception from staff on arrival in the restaurant was luke warm as was some of the food at 9am, so not a late breakfast for a Saturday morning and food was being re-stocked but not all kept as warm as it should be. Overall not a great stay and not likely to return in a hurry. A pity as the hotel is well located for London sight-seeing and seems good on the web site.

Room Tip: If you want a river view, ensure you request on booking, there may possibly be an extra charge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mandm78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear mandm78,

We are very disappointed that the welcome experience at Reception and during your Breakfast did not live up to your expectations. This is certainly not the kind of service we aim to provide and we will discuss your observations within the management. We thank you for sharing your feedback and we apologize for any possible inconvenience caused.

We look forward to welcome you back and if you decide to do so, please do not hesitate to contact me personally and I will be happy to look after your booking.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bracknell, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013


We arrived to be welcomed by the doorman. ..check in was easy and very helpful. ..room was modern contemporary design and good space for central London. ..spotless with lovely big bathroom with separate shower and bath...only had breakfast which was good deal at £12 (book at check in otherwise its more expensive). What set this hotel apart is exceptional customer service. ..friendly easy not forced. ..just made us feel very welcome and special. ...will go back again. ...

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lindsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza Riverbank London, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Lindsey M,

It is a delight to learn that all our efforts to create a welcoming and warm experience are successful.

We very much appreciate your review and we will be looking forward to your next holiday with us.

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Novotel London Waterloo
#305 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,535 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#230 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza Riverbank London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza Riverbank London

Property: Park Plaza Riverbank London
Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Business Hotel in London
#274 Luxury Hotel in London
#281 Romantic Hotel in London
#314 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza Riverbank London 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza Riverbank London offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza Riverbank London now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Park Plaza Riverbank London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London
Park Plaza Riverbank London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing