We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but be carefull of bar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #390 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great location,clean and basically a good hotel. Went to bar on first evening,was very disappointed to see on our receipt we had a "optional service charge" which was not optional as it was already taken off me. I only purchased a cola,so I got charged for waiter to take cap off. After looking around everybody sitting on the settees was getting bar snacks,where as, we were sat at bar and did not receive anything. Was kind of let down by this.

Room Tip: Try ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eddiekai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review online.

I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Please rest assured that your comments will be passed on to the bar manager.

We appreciate your feedback, and we hope you will choose to stay at Park Plaza Riverbank again some time soon.

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,884 - 3,890 of 5,514 reviews

Reviewed February 26, 2013

went sight seeing with my son in London good place to stay but breakfast was £17 a head felt this was to expensive for us so eat else ware, was very up set with view we stayed on the 9th floor but could not see the ground or the sky as we over looked other windows

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
2  Thank Mary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Mary N

Thank you for your review online.

I was sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations in regards to the view from your room. We have different room categories in the Hotel and unfortunately not all of them have the same views. For a future visit please do not hesitate to contact us prior to your arrival and we will be glad to offer you a room with one of our fantastic views over the River Thames and Big Ben.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Mgarciavao@pphe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Rooms are relatively spacious and quite clean. Staff is friendly and efficient. Stayed in February and despite the fact that is was very cold outside, the room was warm enough that I resorted to opening a window to lower the inside temperature. Fortunately I was not on the side of the hotel near the train tracks. There are some rooms that have a breathtaking view of the river and Parliament but be prepared to pay an upgrade. Food at the Chino Latino Lounge was aweful...try the local restaurants near the hotel. Internet WI-FI was slow and connection dropped frequently. Notified management and got no help.

Room Tip: Ask if your room faces the river or is located over the train track. It can get very loud if the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear Charles N,

Please accept our apologies for the shortfalls described in your review. We appreciate your feedback and would be grateful should you could send me a personal email with further details of your stay. That way I will be able to look into areas that might require attention and avoid experiences like yours.

Nevertheless, I was very happy to read that you had a nice stay overall and you enjoyed the views.

Once again, thank you for your comments and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Mgarciavao@pphe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

Dont be taken in by the photos, our three rooms overlooked train tracks. The rooms themselves were modern and clean. Tube stations could have been closer but would stay again. The breakfast was over subscribed so got sent somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jakerushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear jakerushy,

It is our pleasure to read the title of your review and we very much appreciate the time taken to post it.

We are also glad to read you will be returning and we hope will be in the near future!

Best regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Mgarciavao@pphe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed for one night, and although the bar and restaurant were very pleasant, the hotel room itself was ridiculously hot, so much so that it was difficult to sleep.
The room stat was turned down to 10c but it still kept on heating.
Strangely our friends had the opposite problem and had to be moved at 2am as their room was so cold!
Very strange! Think the hotel needs to get their air con people in to have a look!!
The breakfast was very reasonable although it was taken in a basement room rather than the more pleasant main restaurant.
Although the hotel is slightly out of the way, taxis are always available outside.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martin1England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2013

Dear martin1England

We are very sorry to read about the shortfalls experience upon the room temperature. We do appreciate your feedback and our Engineering team has been advised of this issues for review and action.

In the hope we can welcome you back soon, please do not hesitate to contact me in advance so that I may ensure a wonderful stay.

Kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Mgarciavao@pphe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We spent one night at this hotel for my daughters birthday , the service was excellent , the rooms were spotless and we were very satisfied. when we discovered the heating was not working in our room, we were upgraded to a suite very quickly .And the sausages for breakfast were a treat on their own , delicious.


  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Graham A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2013

Dear Graham,

Thank you for sharing your comments.

It was with great pleasure that I read how much you enjoyed your stay on this special occasion.

I appreciate all the good words and I shall look forward to welcoming you back at Park Plaza Riverbank in the future!

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at the Park Plaza Riverbank on February 2 and 3, 2012. My husband had a business meeting that week and we decided to take a brief London break beforehand.

We were lodged in the suites part of the building (not their most expensive type of room, though), and maybe this is where the difference lies. Other reviewers seem had a less stellar experience but for us, it was outstanding. Everything was sensational: the bed was super comfy, the bathroom was new, very modern & clean, great toiletries!
We had a sitting area with an ample assortment of TV channels and he was able to watch the Super Bowl which was being directly shown by the BBC!

Their staff was very helpful and kind: they even came in on 2/2 at around 6 PM (when we returned from our sightseeing) to make our bed and clean up the room because we forgot to turn the door light (from red to green) to let them know the room could be entered for housekeeping!Compare THAT to our experience at the Milan hotel! Concierge was knowledgeable and always available for tips on dining and places to go. Definitely a "go back to" place for us.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Plaza on the River
#267 of 1,077 in London
1,570 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#162 of 1,077 in London
1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Novotel London Waterloo
#322 of 1,077 in London
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Business Hotel in London
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
#280 Romantic Hotel in London
#313 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $149 - $293 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Splitty, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London Riverbank England
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing