We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Communal areas better than the bedrooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #392 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here recently for an event - have stayed in park plazas before so knew I would have a good stay. Entrance area and reception was impressive with very nice staff. When I got to my room was pretty disappointed - it didn't seem up to the standard of other park plazas. The shower wouldn't switch off properly so it dripped all night and I was unable to switch the bathroom light off - which coupled with the fact that the bathroom door would not close meant that I had to sleep with a sliver of light on - I prefer a dark room! The room was also boiling and the air con was not working. I got 3 hours of sleep at the most! Additionally, the day after I realised that I had left some clothes by mistake in the room (tip - don't hang anything up on the hook in the bathroom behind the door) so I called the hotel who put me through to housekeeping. They confirmed that they had my items but I needed to send them an email with my card details so they could charge me for the posting! Whilst I don't mind paying for my own forgetfulness I just thought it was slightly dodgy putting such sensitive info on an email! I duly did it however, and I just hope my items are returned and that i am not fleeced for postage! Also, I did spend quite a bit of money that evening at the event (evident from my room acount) plus im a regular customer of the park plaza chain so I thought a kind gesture may have been offered. Despite all this however, location was good, really close to vauxhall tube station and hotel facilities were nice.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angelcarla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review online.

I read your comments in regards to the room standards with certain concern and I would kindly ask you to write me a personal email with further details of your booking. That way I will be able to remedy the details described. In addition to that I will be happy to confirm your delivery and rest assured your details are absolutely safe.

On the other hand I was glad to read that you found the facilities and location up to your needs.

I look forward to your email.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (5,519)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,912 - 3,918 of 5,519 reviews

Reviewed February 14, 2013

We stayed here having stayed at PP Westminster earlier in our trip, having not been able to get back in there.

Riverbank is about 2 miles further West along the Thames than Westminster & also has stunning view of Parliament & Big Ben. But the location is generally not quite as good as PPW.

The hotel itself is lovely & very cool in the bar & common areas & the food in the restaurant was brilliant.

Unlike PPW it did at times feel like a big hotel & this along with slightly lesser location is the only thing that stops it being as outstanding as it neighbour.

Still a fantastic hotel & lovely rooms, but would stay at Westminster given the choice

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jsmithny09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review after your recent visit and your kind recommendations.

We read with absolute pleasure about your superb experience and we look forward to welcoming you any time soon.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Parc Plaza. We had a beautiful view of parliment. The room was clean and modern and the staff was outstanding. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. London is an amazing place and this hotel made it even better.

Room Tip: Ensure you get a river view to obtain ther full experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review after your recent visit and your kind recommendations.

We read with absolute pleasure about your superb experience and we look forward to welcoming you any time soon.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I was staying here for an event so got a cheap rate, and looking at the reviews I was quite looking forward to staying here. And at first sight it does look good, with a quality welcome and service at reception.

It went downhill from there. I arrived as it was snowing outside, the room was freezing cold and to cap it all, the aircon didn't work. It was fixed quickly enough but by then I had to change in ten minutes so not a good start.

The room size is good, and bathroom very good sized, but then the fittings are a conquest of style over substance, the carpets are thin and the bed was easily the most uncomfortable I have had the pleasure of trying to sleep on in many years. Added to that the (by then working) aircon was emulating the noise of a roadsweeper it made for a very poor sleep. While I'm moaning, the reading lights in the bad room were really badly positioned, so you had bright lights right into your eyes, or no lights at all......

I'd read some comments about breakfast, well I got a table without waiting, but only just, and the food was mediocre to be honest.

If I'd paid the full rack rate I'd have asked for a refund and gone to a Premier Inn or the like. So all round disappointing and I'd only go back if I really really had to - and that's rarely the case in London where there are far better hotels for the money.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FamilyH68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciated the time you have taken to raise your concerns and bring them to our attention via Tripadvisor.

The described is certainly not in line with the high standards we aim to provide and we sincerely apologize for any possible inconvenicne. I was glad however to read that our staff was welcoming and the issue with the A/C was fixed in a timely manner.

We hope you will give us another opportunity to meet and maybe exceed your expectations.

With kind regards,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We have, since my first review of this hotel, re-visited many times and are still finding the hotel excellent. We always take advantage of the Club Carlson option to upgrade, if available, at a much lower rate. So far, so good. The rooms we have had on recent visits have had refurbishment and are always immaculate. The beds are very comfortable with robes and slippers provided. Very nice amenities in the bathroom. The staff are always friendly and helpful and when we had a problem with a dvd player on our last visit the engineer was there within 5 minutes. We will most certainly re-visit.

Room Tip: River view rooms on a higher floor give a breathtaking view. The Club Carlson scheme worth joining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirsty022
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MaciejHille, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2013

Dear Kirsty,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

It is with great pleasure that I read your comments - it's good to hear that you find our service satisfactory on each and every visit.

We should only hope to see you more often!

Yours sincerely,

Maciej Hille
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Everything is bad. The room was stinky. The shower was dirty. The air conditioner was extremely noisy. Very slow wifi. Not comfortable bed. Bad bad bad. I was in 3 star hotels in Ukraine which were better than this place. Will never come back again.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
5  Thank ck203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments and feedback following your recent stay with us.

It is with great concern that I read that you did not experience the standards we aim to provide and I would like to put remedy to these matters. Should you have a minute I would appreciate if you could send me a personal email with some further details of your visit. This would greatly increase my ability to review and act upon areas that might require attention.

Regardless of your response I wanted to ensure that you felt your comments are heard and we take the feedback from our guests as a valuable tool to constantly improve our service and product.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager
mgarciavao@pphe.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Room: good size, well decorated and clean
Bathroom: massive with a shower stall and separate bath tub.
Soundproofing: good, no issues despite my room being quite close to main road, no noise from corridor or other rooms.
Check in/out: good
Service in bar: bit slow
Breakfast: food was excellent, good selection and very fresh. However there are not enough tables and they do not clear them very quickly so there was large queue (20+ people) waiting for tables.
Location: 10 mins walk from Vauxhall tube and 30 to Covent Garden (nice walk along river).

Would return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug47648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this reviewResponded February 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience here at Park Plaza Riverbank London with other travelers online.

We are glad to learn that you found our facilities and service to your satisfaction overall. I was however concerned to read about your breakfast experience and I have personally transmitted these comments to our Food and Beverage Management for review and action.

We appreciate the feedback and we are looking forward to your next visit.

Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Senior Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Plaza on the River
#267 of 1,077 in London
1,572 reviews
Westminster
DoubleTree by Hilton London - Westminster
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#163 of 1,077 in London
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Novotel London Waterloo
#319 of 1,077 in London
3,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#272 Business Hotel in London
#273 Luxury Hotel in London
#280 Romantic Hotel in London
#313 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $153 - $291 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Splitty, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London Riverbank England
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing