We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Don't look any further'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Park Plaza London Riverbank
Ranked #380 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Kinsale, Ireland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“'Don't look any further'”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2011

My friend and I booked this hotel for a long weekend stay and we were absolutely delighted with our choice. The hotel is opposite the Houses of Parliament/Big Ben and just off the South Bank. The hotel is very modern and our room was a good size, totally clean and had a view of the river. The facilities in the room were top class and included air conditioning. We cannot say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of all the staff members. They were most obliging on all matters. The breakfast was lovely and the dining room was clean and well laid out. We were seating as soon as we arrived - considering it was such a busy weekend, this was most welcome. We walked most of the time into central London and along the river. Other times we used the underground trains from Vauxhall station which was a ten minute walk from the hotel and we used it to get to Heathrow airport when we were leaving. It took exactly one hour to do so. We would highly recommend this hotel for any type of visit and wish to say a big thank you to Park Plaza for a wonderful weekend.

Room Tip: Some of the cheaper rooms have views so ask reception to place you in one - we had a view of the riv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bettytrollop12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarioGarcia-Vao, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, August 20, 2011
Dear aine1234_567,

Let me first thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

Also, it is a great pleasure to read you enjoyed the hotel that much and you appreciated the service and standards we pride ourselves upon.

The convenient location and the views over the River Thames and Big Ben - Houses of Parliament are indeed a great asset for the Hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you back any time soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Mario Garcia-Vao
Guest Relations Manager
Park Plaza Riverbank
+44 (0)2077692525
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,842
    1,704
    731
    335
    191
See reviews for
728
1,852
229
1,239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (842)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

My mom and I loved our stay at this hotel. I have been to London on vacation a few times before but had never stayed on the South Bank. The room had spectacular views of the Thames, Parliament and Big Ben. It was spacious and clean. The bathroom was the same. Breakfast offered plenty of choices for every palate. Even the coffee was hot and tasty. My Mom and I ate dinner one night in the Hotel restaurant and found it very good. One night we enjoyed a cocktail in the lounge. As for the staff, I can't imagine a more helpful group. They made our every request possible, gave directions, made reservations and were happy to go the extra step without our asking. They significantly contributed to what turned out to be a most memorable birthday celebration trip. I highly recommend this hotel and would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room and if it is an
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ferne52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NNieto, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, August 8, 2011
Dear Ferne,

We appreciate you taking the time to review Park Plaza Riverbank following your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us was enjoyable and would like to thank you for your fantastic comments which I have passed on to my colleagues and we all over the moon believe me, so a big thank you on behalf of all the staff here.

We hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area and look forward welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Natalie Nieto
Senior Guest Relations Manager
Park Plaza Riverbank
+44 (0)2077692525
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2011

stayed here on business lately, requested a quiet room, got one overlooking a busy railway line. Unfortunately the trains went past every 5 mins (or so it seemed). I didnt like the decor , to minimalist, for my taste. If im paying for a 4* hotel I want something a bit more than ordinary. Unfortunately not for me!! Although, on the plus side great staff, polite, cheerful and helpful. Breakfast up to a great standard as well

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladymarmalade40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregmoorehead, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

I read your review with disappointment that you did not warm to the décor of Park Plaza Riverbank. Ordinary is word I would never have associated with the property, but everyone’s taste is varied and we do factor this in at all stages when we make changes to décor, menus etc.

Some of our rooms do face the local Tube station, but our team do try to allocate accordingly, so should you choose Park Plaza Riverbank in the future which I trust you will please do ask the Reception to allocate an Atrium room.

We look forward to welcoming you again on behalf of all the team.
Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

A lovely hotel lobby and public areas fantastic, I booked through London Town and paid £154 for a room only. The room was overlooking the busy railway line so you couldn't open the window and you could still hear the trains. There was 1/2 a toilet roll, the one on the wall was finished. The make up mirror was broken ( room 902). No shower cap either. Got room service and was charged £18.50 for a chicken burger and chips a wee bit stiff I think.
In saying that the hotel is on the Albert embankment great spot and there is a wee shop nearby. I got a pastry and a bottle of wine from nice and cold and cost £7.50 not £24.50 for the same wine from room service. Other complaints were the carpet was very dirty didn't feel that it merited the cost of it. Apart from the overlook with servicing the room the staff are pleasant helpful and polite very attentive. Well done staff. There is ice making machines on each floor which was a nice touch.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank workslave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregmoorehead, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, August 6, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you on behalf of the team at Riverbank for taking the time to post a review following your visit to us. To address your concerns some of our rooms do indeed face the local tube station, but an excellent soundproofing system is in place to cause as little disturbance to guests as humanly possible. The team are always more than willing to move your allocation if the availability allows.
I note with great concerns your comments regarding the housekeeping of the room, and I have asked the Manager of the Department to address with immediate effect, as this is not Park Plaza standard. We are currently upgrading many of the carpets within the hotel, and this is an ongoing project and extensive for a property of this size. In relation to the room service pricing, wine will vary from prices in the local store ,but in comparison to London these are very competitive I have passed on your feedback to the Beverage Manager and also to the staff that you have praised so highly.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Riverbank again in the near future.

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

The Riverbank Plaza Hotel is ideal as a central base to all the London tourist attractions. Just a short walk from Westminster bridge you will find the hotel on the south bank of the river almost overlooking the Houses of Parliament. Inside it is a well presented modern and clean place to stay. The staff are all polite and friendly and the full english breakfast was just what you need for a long day of sightseeing. Our room didn't have a view but it was very nice and quite spacious, again all modern with a very nice bathroom. Bathrobes and slippers are provided along with an ironing board, hairdryer, tea and coffee, mini bar and a safe. Satellite TV with the option of viewing movies at a small price, and free Wi Fi are provided too. All in all a very nice hotel and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lafidelio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregmoorehead, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Guest,

I read your positive review with great interest, and as always I look forward to sharing it with the team at our weekly briefing.
We do benefit from a great central location for anyone sightseeing in the city, and with a host of amenities that you have listed we are very proud of the service we provide.

As a team we are always looking forward, and for new ways to exceed every guest’s expectations, so we trust you will visit us again should your plans allow.

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2011

We had stayed one night at the Park Plaza Westminster and then moved to the Riverbank Hotel. Like Westminster, this is a stylish modern hotel. Riverbank is smaller than Westminster, but that is no bad thing, it is more on the lines of a boutique hotel. It is situated near Lambeth Palace and is a ten minute walk to Vauxhall underground station, it is across the river between the Houses of Parliament and the Tate Britain.

We arrived early at about 11.30 am but were swiftly checked in and given our room keys immediately. Our room was a little smaller than Westminster, but a reasonable size, especially for London.

We were in a standard room, at the side of the hotel, but it was o.k., not a particularly nice view, but at least we weren't in the bowels of the hotel as we had been at Westminster.

Very comfortable beds, but again too soft pillows and once again no dedicated make up mirror, this really is a nuisance as most women like a decent mirror to put on make up, with decent light, and putting a shaving mirror in the bathroom is not the answer, bathrooms after a shower or bath are far too hot and steamy to put on make up, good hotels should know this and cater accordingly, women make up a good proportion of the clientelle after all.

There were decent facilities, a room safe, hairdryer, tea/coffee ironing board etc.

Breakfast was good and the staff were helpful and courteous.

We liked this hotel and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LJC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregmoorehead, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, August 5, 2011
Dear Guest ,

Many Thanks for taking the time to review our property following your recent stay with us. I read with delight that you stayed within the Park Plaza family for your trip, as Westminster is the newest addition to our chain.

We have many mirrors located in the rooms, but we do take on board that these are a personal choice, and I will bring your feedback to the Executive team at our next meeting so that they may address.

May I Thank you again for choosing Park Plaza, and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
plymouth
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

This hotel was the clean, modern and extremely good value for money. We booked the day before as our daughter had an interview in a local hospital. We paid just £99 for one night as a special offer. When we turned up, they upgraded us straight away to a suite. The room (s) was lovely and I had absolutely no complaints. The only tiny downside was the train track beyond the window (we were at the back of the hotel) but as the window was triple glazed, we were not aware of any noise. The staff were so polite and helpful...they could not have done enough to help us. I would definitely go back. Also the hotel was a short walk from many attractions and the charge for parking for 24 hours is £26, which in London is good value. (and they park it for you).

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gregmoorehead, Guest Relations Manager at Park Plaza London Riverbank, responded to this review, July 31, 2011
Dear Guest ,

Thank you for taking the time to pen such a positive review. Our website does have some amazing offers throughout the year, and I read with delight that your room was upgraded by the team.
As stated some of the rooms do face onto the local tube station, but as you have said the soundproofing is triple glazed and we are always looking at ways to limit noise further.
On behalf of the team I thank you for your kind comments, as it inspires them to continue with the already high level of service they deliver on a daily basis.

Greg Moorehead
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Park Plaza London Waterloo
#115 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Westminster
Doubletree by Hilton London - Westminster
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#60 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Park Plaza London Riverbank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Park Plaza London Riverbank

Property: Park Plaza London Riverbank
Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7DP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#269 Luxury Hotel in London
#272 Business Hotel in London
#281 Romantic Hotel in London
#314 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Park Plaza London Riverbank 4*
Number of rooms: 489
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Millbank and the Houses of Parliament in the heart of the city, Park Plaza London Riverbank offers stunning four-star deluxe accommodation for corporate and leisure travellers. The hotel is within easy reach of both London Waterloo and Vauxhall railway stations as well as Westminster Underground. Following a spectacular renovation, Park Plaza London Riverbank now offers 489 sumptuous guest rooms, including Superior Rooms, Executive Rooms and Suites, some with stunning river views. The modern fitness suite is open 24 hours a day and features a range of cardio and weight equipment. Located on the first floor, Chino Latino(R) Restaurant & Bar, the Lounge and a fresh new Sushi Bar offer tantalising cuisine with beautiful 180-degree panoramic views of the River Thames and the Houses of Parliament. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Park Plaza London Riverbank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Park Plaza Riverbank London Hotel London
Park Plaza London Riverbank England
London Park Plaza
Riverbank Park Plaza London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing