We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Firmdale hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #41 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Having sampled a few of the firmdale hotels in London I was yet to try the Charlotte Street. Location is still good although slightly out of the hub of London town but rooms are a good size and a great bar downstairs.

Staff as always were very helpful and friendly, we had a junior suite with great views overlooking Charlotte Street. Had some drinks in the hotel bar and a special cocktail by one of the waiters which was interesting.

Breakfast was good although not as good as some of the other hotels, the restaurant staff were slightly abrupt and I ordered a bacon sandwich which could have done with more than 2 rashers of bacon.

A great hotel in a great location, another firmdale classic.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Markandnige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (715)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

399 - 405 of 715 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

My favorite hotel in the world (and I've stayed in dozens) from my favorite hotel group Firmdale Hotels. The regular rooms are smallish but this is London after all and you'll be so charmed by the decor and service you won't mind. The hotel is beautifully executed top to bottom and they've thought of everything- from an honor-system bar with afternoon cupcakes to the little touches in the rooms- so you won't want to leave. Their bar/lounge has a lively happy hour scene and even though the restaurant is expensive but the food is great so if you're the type who likes dinner in their hotel you'll be happy. The best part is after a busy day on bustling London streets, walking through the door of the hotel you suddenly feel transported to a little slice of English country charm in the heart of the city. I like to describe the feel of this place as Urban English Rose.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rachelle363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were just here for afternoon tea. Lovely ambience in bar/restaurant, good mix of couples, friends, older families. Excellent staff, topped up our tea and sandwiches quickly and willingly. Great warm scones. A lovely afternoon. Tiny quibble - I thought the quality of the cakes didn't quite match the rest. But overall very good.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SussexKathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Charlotte St Hotel is one of the many amazing Firmdale properties in London. One of the things I love about this property is its size and great staff. Rooms are comfortable and well decorated. The restaurant (Oscars) has a great breakfast. Housekeeping staff are great. I would definitely recommend this property!

Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
5  Thank 440WorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013

It was our second time to stay at Charlotte Street and it was just as wonderful as the first time. The rooms are so comfortable and luxurious! Our room had a large window which allowed the sun to come though (amazing it was sunny both mornings!). The staff and service were just as wonderful as the first time. This time we had time to go to the bar and it was fantastic. So trendy not pretentious and fantastic speciality cocktails! It will always be our place to stay in London.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2013 via mobile

The location can't be beaten here. Around the corner a fantastic selection of quality eateries and bars. Perfect for business and pleasure.

The hotel itself is priced well and of a consistently high standard. I will definitely consider staying here again. Recommended...

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Oknijbub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Going to the Charlotte Street Hotel is a rare pleasure. The super welcome, the very nice luxury rooms, the decoration and the excellent service makes it one of the bests. A really top of comfort "home in London". We go there for years and each time the quality got better. Congratulations! We'll be back. We have been upgraded to room 501, a wonderful suite. We'll come back !

Room Tip: All the suites are wonderful, but we are specially fond of #501
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ghislain D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#65 of 1,077 in London
1,907 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,077 in London
1,509 reviews
Soho
Ham Yard Hotel
Ham Yard Hotel
#53 of 1,077 in London
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#17 of 1,077 in London
1,048 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#69 of 1,077 in London
1,282 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#40 of 1,077 in London
2,358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#19 Business Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
#41 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $352 - $1,245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Orbitz and Cancelon so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street
Charlotte Street Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing