We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Near Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charlotte Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #35 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Near Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

First time I've stated in this Firmdale Group hotel, but it won't be the last.

As with all their hotels, their are timelessly and beautifully styled. I know of no other decor that I enjoy so much and makes you feel so at home

Staff friendly, room 407 (which was an upgrade) was perfect - Quiet, light and airy and reasonably sized for central London

The bar and restaurant area were again so wonderfully easy on the eye. Achieving that degree of casual elegance takes hard work and real skill, but it really works

Food was good and reasonably priced, as was the wine, and the service.

BUT (There's always a but.....) the slice of Wensleydale cheese I had was as hard as rock. Sort it guys! When you do the hard stuff well, it's pretty rubbish and very disappointing from a customers point of view to drop it on the detail.....I'll be back to check!

All in all brilliant. And the rest of Charlotte street was buzzing too!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonUngernSternberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    115
    15
    7
    1
See reviews for
90
244
18
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Fabulous stay in The Charlotte Street Hotel at the end of May. From the minute we arrived at Reception to checking out we couldn't fault a thing. The staff are lovely, very welcoming and the Bar is one of the best bars I have visited in London, jumping every night with a great crowd. We had ordered breakfast and it didn''t disappoint. Have stayed in The Covent Garden Hotel which is another Firmdale Hotel and it was also fantastic - they aren't cheap but are worth every penny and we will be back, only problem is which one!!! Covent Garden Hotel is a five minute walk from Covent Garden and The Charlotte Street is 5 minutes from Oxford Street and Regent Street. You can't go wrong with a Firmdale Hotel if you want a bit of luxury and be near all the tourist spots

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarilynD52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Not your traditional tearoom, but we loved the atmosphere and the dining area. Very open and friendly, it would be a great area to stay in and the hotel looked very nice.

As for the tea ... teapots, tiny sandwiches, little pastries, more than we could consume. For our teen and tween daughters, this was heaven. Champagne was a lovely addition for the majors. Not too busy, not too expensive, not too stuffy. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cabbagerice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great duplex room with eclectic library and well stocked mini bar.
Staff were attentive in a relaxed and friendly manner.
Since we were celebrating my wife's birthday with friends they were kind enough to provide a private room for after hours celebrations.
Would definitely stay again since location, staff and facilities are all great.

Room Tip: Ask for a 'loft room'
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

A terrific place for a relaxing, luxury break in London. Located in easy walking distance of West End, Covent Garden, Soho and Chinatown, this is a great spot to base yourself for a weekend!

We had a luxury double on the second floor (#206) and were treated to a deep, big double bed, efficient (and quiet!!) air conditioning and a room that was spotlessly clean and quiet. Breakfast in bed a huge treat!

This is not a cheap hotel but the staff and service are excellent - it has been a while since we have been made to feel so welcome and treated as valued guests. The concierge even offered to collect our luggage from our car in a nearby car park! A glass of complementary champagne to help us celebrate a late birthday sealed the deal!

We were on a whistle stop visit, attending a matinee at the theatre, dinner at Roka (just up the road) and then taking a trip up the Thames on the Sunday so we didn't take advantage of all the other facilities on offer e.g. gym, spa treatments, restaurant etc but if they are anywhere near as good as the room and the staff, this hotel would be hard to beat!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IainRH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Was very impressed with service, decor, food and extras like arranging courier for me. Bar was very busy but rooms lovely and a TV in the bathroom was a real find!

The room was exceptionally well appointed and the food was delightful, so we ate all our meals in, and room service was superb

Room Tip: Try and get the ones below the suite range asthey are full of character and antiques
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindanne1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I have been trying to find alternative hotels in London. Firmdale hotels are always appealing; but the prices are a bit steep. Eventually I picked the Charlotte St. for a short stay. The rooms are beautifully appointed. The bathroom luxurious and ample. The personnel professional (a bit rushed, without the need), but when I needed something (i.e. another room for my son who was traveling behind me) I was very well served by the reservations department and given a great, non-expensive, solution (and this was at a very hectic and long weekend in London). Location? Great. Nice restaurants (Pied a terre, Roka, etc.) all around, and very near to all that matters when you are traveling for a short period of time. Great experience. Thanks to the management for their kind attentions upon our arrival. Just the right amount without feeling overtly pampered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank armandele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#21 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,893 reviews
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#52 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,636 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#18 of 1,077 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#54 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,863 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#65 of 1,077 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 909 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Property: Charlotte Street Hotel
Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street
Charlotte Street Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing