We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Firmdale at its Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #34 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Firmdale at its Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We always reserve with Firmdale Hotels when we travel to London. Most often the Soho Hotel which is excellent.

This time however we decided to try somewhere different from their collection. We were not disappointed.

We were on a one night stop over before holidaying in America and the staff at Charlotte Street ensured our holiday began before we even boarded the plane to Phoenix.

As usual with any Firmdale hotel the room was beautiful, exceptionally clean and extremely well furnished.

The bar and restaurant were very lively. I had one of the best cocktails of my holiday in here !

I can highly recommend it and I hope to return for my birthday in November.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiarain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    513
    119
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
97
258
19
134
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

There's something about Charlotte st hotel that is just lovely. I always feel relaxed there. I've never stayed overnight but if they do the accommodation as well as everything else it will be perfect. If you are in town try and have a drink at the end of the day, the atmosphere is interesting and lively with the odd celeb often in the mix

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paulaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
138 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed here on a recent work trip. Great location, lovely rooms, I especially loved the gym which is one of the best equipped I've ever seen. A particular favourite was the lounge with their honor system -a great initiative.

Only slight down side was the breakfast -my server had a very bad attitude trying to convince me that my apple juice was freshly squeezed from a juicer when it was blatantly from a carton.

Apart from that I can't fault the hotel and will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneywinelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Great location, understated luxury, warm and welcoming atmosphere, very friendly and professional staff, attention to detail, Oscar's offers lovely food..everything was just perfect. We will certainly return!

Room Tip: Rooms are on the smaller side, but furnished with care and attention to detail.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UrbaniteLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

What a great hotel.Staff was great and restaurant and bar were hopping. A terrific boutique hotel in a a great neighborhood filled with bars and restaurants. While the room was small, it was furnished beautifully. I'd highly recommend for a couples getaway.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nate501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nacka, Sweden
Level Contributor
164 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

There are *many* expensive 'luxury' hotels in London. Few of them get it right unfortunately. Something always seems to be amiss. Be it ventilation, service, plumming, insulation or something else. This is one of the few exceptions.

Charlotte Street Hotel's got an excellent location, really nice rooms (superior on level 3 in our case) with ok beds (no Tempur though as some websites suggests), nice breakfast hall and healthy selection, ok wireless internet (unfortunately no one seems to get this fully right in Europe) and an overall very nice athmosphere with friendly staff. Outdoor seating available in season.

Will I be coming back? You betcha!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arneby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

My partner and I have always wanted to stay at this hotel but the stiff prices never felt justified for a business trip or pit stop enroute to Paris. Thankfully I was in the country for my birthday this year and on a whim we decided the Charlotte Street hotel would be our treat. And what a treat! We liked it so much we stayed an extra night. If you're after flash Park Lane luxury then stroll on, but if you're more into a bespoke, ultra chic personal service then this is the place for you. Rooms are elegantly appointed, the service is fantastic and the breakfast simply divine. The bar is also a wonderful place to hang out, though if you like your cocktails I'd bypass the Charlotte Street ones and head to the end of the street to Bourne & Hollingsworth where they're half the price and twice as tasty.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robertsdesk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#54 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,764 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#22 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,406 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#76 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,078 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#32 of 1,088 in London
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,082 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Property: Charlotte Street Hotel
Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#19 Business Hotel in London
#34 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and HotelQuickly so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street
Charlotte Street Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing