We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Charlotte Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #21 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Very large and comfortable bed, beautiful bathroom with luxurious and generous products, slippers and dressing gowns. Big bath, walk in shower. Bath sheets soft and warm.
Two pleasant lounges when you can relax and have a drink.
Above all friendly, professional staff.
I am delighted to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Santorini74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    446
    103
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
83
219
16
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I frequently stay here and will continue to do so when I travel to London on business - everything about this place is a sanctuary. The rooms are so cozy, the staff are always professional and friendly, and the room service and housekeeping services are top notch. The special bonus is Wahaca next door - excellent Margaritas and tacos. Good Mexican food in London is a rarity and it's right next door to one of the best hotels in town!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mexicana555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed here for one night on a trip to London, we've stayed in a few hotels in London and this is by far my favourite. This was the second time that we have stayed at the Charlotte Street and both times everything has been fabulous. As it is slightly away from the hustle and bustle it doesn't seem to be too busy at the weekend, this has worked in our favour on both of our stays as we were very kindly upgraded to a better room. The service is kind, friendly and very attentive and there are lots of little treats in your room when you arrive which I loved. Breakfast is delicious and extremely good value for money if you stay on a bed and breakfast rate which I would certainly recommend. Also if you are dining out there are lots of wonderful restaurants on Charlotte Street itself. Overall I cannot recommend the Charlotte Street Hotel enough and will most definitely be returning, hopefully sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S&JGill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights at the start of our honeymoon in November 2012. We couldn't fault the hotel, the staff or the food. We were treated to a bottle of champagne, scented candle and fruit bowl and complimentary breakfast on both morning as honeymooners. We ate in the restaurant the first night and had exceptional food and service.
The staff were friendly, helpful and helped make our stay one we will never forget. Thank you so much. We will be back for many anniversaries I'm sure!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

Super special. Feels like home, but a bit more special. Really spacious room - would recommend splashing out on a suite. The decor is fresh and fashionable, but without being super trendy. The bar is fun and the restaurant was good too, though nothing amazing on the menu or anything to make the cooking stand out particularly. Good part of town for bars and restaurants. I would definitely come back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamieKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I live in London but have stayed in many London hotels over the past 10 years. The Charlotte Street Hotel is, I think, a bit of a gem in London. I'll definitely stay here again. It is relatively small so has a very personal feel to it in comparison with some of the larger hotels in London and beyond.

The location is great - it is so close to shopping, restaurants and nightlife (depending on where you want to go of course) but its on a pretty quiet street. Now we did stay over Christmas so London was quiet anyway so I am not sure what it is like it is busier.

We were lucky to be upgraded to a 1 bedroom suite which was fantastic - huge, super comfortable bed in the bedroom and plenty of space in the rest of the suite. I am picky when it comes to bathrooms and the toiletries they give you and the Hotel did not disappoint.

We had dinner in their restaurant twice - the food was nice...not outstanding but good enough. Service was very good though. Their restaurant has a very buzzy and energetic atmosphere which I liked. I guess if you are looking for a quiet, 3 michelin star, dinner then this is probably not the place to eat.

I absolutely loved their honour bar and I used their gym - its small but has the essentials and good quality cardio equipment.

So I'd say this is a great choice of hotel in London, particularly if you like a more personalised experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jules_London1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
469 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 314 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Only popped into the Charlotte Street hotel for some late night cocktails after a meal but on such a small sampling of its service and hospitality would certainly consider a swift return for a stay. Comfortable, relaxing and although not resident the staff were courteous, respectful and most efficient.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank marksw3960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Montague on The Gardens
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#13 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,736 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#23 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
Amba Hotel Charing Cross
#8 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 2,482 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#12 of 1,067 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 839 reviews
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#49 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Property: Charlotte Street Hotel
Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#21 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street
Charlotte Street Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing