We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When in London do as Londoners do”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #36 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2012

As a native Englander living abroad I have come to understand how different the London hotel scene is to that of almost every other developed market. This is especially evident in the higher end of the market. In New York, Tokyo, Hong Kong, Singapore or any other international venue the brand name hotels – Intercontinental, Hilton etc. – provide five star luxury with the smaller venues competing for the budget traveler. In London, the brand names concentrated around Park Lane offer two star service at five star prices. I imagine this is attributable to the huge amount of tourist traffic passing through London each year. The discerning traveler needs to look for “boutique” hotels for superior facilities and service. Falling definitely into this category is the Charlotte Street Hotel eponymously located in Soho.

I have stayed at the CSH a number of times over the last several years and have always been extremely happy with the facilities, the location and the service.

The hotel is actually a bit of an amalgam of two separate venues. The hotel proper -- reserved for the use of guests, and the bar / restaurant which doubles as a gathering place for a local set -- largely consisting of media and advertising types. It is perfectly feasible to enjoy either venue without setting foot in the other as the streets around Charlotte Street are packed with fine dining and watering holes.

The rooms in the hotel are large for London, and well-equipped with televisions in both the bedroom and bathroom. Room service is smooth and unobtrusive and the front desk efficient and always well manned. No standing for hours in line to check out. The valet will happily park and retrieve your car or order you a cab. All in all, a well-staffed, efficiently run operation.

For a boutique hotel, the business facilities are first rate, at least for smaller meetings, with several drawing rooms available for rent at what for London are reasonable prices.

Of course, this all comes at a price. The room rates are stiff and I have never seen a discounted rate. Probably beyond most business travelers’ budget but well worth the stay if you can swing it.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BusinessTraveller019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (700)
There are newer reviews for Charlotte Street Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

504 - 510 of 700 reviews

Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed for one night over the diamond jubilee for a treat with my girlfriend. Really impressed with the service, the beautiful room, and the breakfast. Nice atmosphere in the bar in the evening. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe1804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We needed a place to interview people and the library is a nice relaxed room, the coffee and cakes are good, the bar afterwards fills up quickly and is good for people watching.

BUT £20 for a day's broadband is just daft! in Starbucks it is free. Please have some sense

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank leeothers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

After much deliberation we decided to celebrate our 2nd wedding anniversary here, boy did we pick well! Superlative welcome, amazing service and a feeling of total relaxation throughout our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel amazing. The decor is cool and instantly welcoming, the bar is an absolute delight and our room blew our expectations out of the water. Pommery Spring tea was utter heaven and is a must! If you are looking for a luxurious home from home hotel you would have to travel a long way to find somewhere better. The staff deserve a special mention as they lift an already excellent hotel further still.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanandNicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We booked yourselves for a night at this hotel for my partners birthday, as previously mentioned the food here is EXCELLENT and so is the atmosphere, this is situated in Charlotte Street which is home to some of the best Cafe's and Restaurants. The rooms are well appointed and far cry from the usual London business hotel looks & the hotel has a lovely Boutique'ish feel to it.
Apart from dining at the hotel we tried two other places which are worth mentioning
Roka for Lunch - Gorgeous food, pricey but well worth it... apparently it's a favourite with a certain Mr Beckham's sister! Their Lamb chops were to die for.
For Breakfast next day we ventured out as our stay was room only and dined at Sakleys - Again worth a mention as we have never see such big portion sizes, all freshly made to order and such good value for money. We been back there since just because one seldom finds such great homemade food these days. Don't forget their Carrot Cake with tea.
Both places are a must try if Staying around that area

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Poojs2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

I love the Charlotte Street hotel for the buzzy bar area, full of exciting people and great service!
We decided to also eat in the Restaurant behind the bar that evening. The service and atmosphere was excellent.

I had Asparagus to start, then Crab Linguinie - which was nice but not outstanding and not cheap, howeve the whole experience was fab.

Room Tip: We didn't stay
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2012

Beautiful decor and lovely food.Didn't stay the night but would have liked to!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#75 of 1,072 in London
1,226 reviews
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#59 of 1,072 in London
1,869 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,072 in London
1,488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,072 in London
3,290 reviews
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,072 in London
2,264 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#17 of 1,072 in London
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
#36 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: $360 - $954 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street
Charlotte Street Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing