We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great afternoon tea”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Charlotte Street Hotel
Ranked #33 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great afternoon tea”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

I've been here twice for afternoon tea now but have never stayed here. The standard of service here is really high. The food is lovely - the scones in particular are fab. We went with seven adults and four small children who were given complementary sandwiches. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank londub77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    122
    17
    7
    1
See reviews for
105
264
20
137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Beautiful hotel, exceptional reception staff, luxurious rooms and bathrooms......but you would expect that for the price you pay!

Simply one of the best hotels in London! If you can afford to stay here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughBrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

I have stayed in Firmdale Hotel's before when on business but never written a review. My wife and I were travelling to London together and I wanted her to experience the charm of one of their establishments.
The Charlotte Street Hotel in particular is in a great location with great bars and restaurants along the street, but the Charlotte Street Hotel has its own fun and happening bar and resaurant, but also a more refined and relaxed reading and sitting room for guests only, if you are looking for something beautifully finished but a little quieter.
The rooms are lush, beds fantastic, amentities perfect, and the service and concierge are best in class. The staff appear to all enjoy working there and making sure their guests are looked after. That attention and pride in their workplace is hard to beat and seems to be the case at all of the Firmdale Hotels I have stayed at previously.
Can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank GlobalPerspectiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2011

This boutique hotel is ideally located in the heart of London. The bar and restaurant are very popular and it was packed when we arrived - always a good sign when in a city the size of London, a hotel bar/resturant is that poppular. The concierge was brillant and managed to get us tickets to a very popular show and even dinner at The Ivy following the show. The feel of the hotel is like staying in a large private home. The staff were very friendly and acocomodating. The guest room and bathroom were superb!! We will always highly recommend to anyone going and hopefully we will be able to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 27, 2011

Had a drink with a friend at the Oscar Bar, which had such a trendy and spectacular interior. Usually in hotel bars, staff are usually so unfriendly and would look at you from head to toe before serving you but the staff at Oscars were so helpful and so polite and could not help us enough. The bar also had such brilliant cocktails and some gorgeous bar men who were always so friendly. What really impressed me was that I accidentally dropped an item from my bag and straight away staff were there to help me immediately. Could not find a fault in service. We will definitely be back and spread the word to friends through such a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda_Chigwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2011

We've only been back home for a couple of days and we already miss being at Charlotte Street. Manager Anna Jackson runs an incredible hotel and her entire staff is of top quality. They make you feel welcome, at home and appreciated. Head Concierge Aline and Concierge Tim don't only provide recommendation -- they show a great intererest in ensuring that their recommendations are best designed for individual guests. The hotel has it all -- great rooms, great public space, great restaurant and incredible locations. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amanwarren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We stayed at the hotel last year and were very happy with it. There's no other place to be when a volcano interrupts one's travel plans. This year, it's as charming as ever and the staff is as pleasant as can be.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmrmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Fitzrovia
Sanderson London Hotel
Sanderson London Hotel
#54 of 1,068 in London
1,816 reviews
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,068 in London
1,465 reviews
Fitzrovia
The London EDITION
The London EDITION
#70 of 1,068 in London
1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#35 of 1,068 in London
2,197 reviews
Covent Garden
Covent Garden Hotel
Covent Garden Hotel
#18 of 1,068 in London
997 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
The Bloomsbury
#56 of 1,068 in London
3,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charlotte Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charlotte Street Hotel

Property: Charlotte Street Hotel
Address: 15-17 Charlotte Street, London W1T 1RJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Fitzrovia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Business Hotel in London
#19 Romantic Hotel in London
#33 Luxury Hotel in London
#35 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Charlotte Street Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charlotte Street Hotel is situated in the media neighbourhood just north of Soho. It is a minute's walk from leafy Soho Square and the theatre district, within easy reach of the financial centre and is surrounded by some of London's best bars, restaurants and cafes. Designer Kit Kemp has used a 'Bloomsbury Group' theme throughout the hotel which features original art from the period and a mural in the brasserie reflecting scenes of 'contemporary London life'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Charlotte Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Charlotte Street London
Hotel Charlotte Street
Charlotte Street Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing