We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Jones Family Project

The Jones Family Project
Ranked #325 of 22,217 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $50
Cuisines: European, British, Grill, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Shoreditch
Description: The Jones Family Project is an independently owned modern steak restaurant & cocktail bar. Sourcing our meat from farmers & butchers we know focus on quality such as The Ginger Pig, we're open from 11am until midnight Mon - Sat and for traditional British roast lunch on Sundays. Our extensive wine list of over 100 wines always has more than 28 choices by the glass & our cocktail list features in-house aged ingredients. Our main focus is meat, with steaks dry-aged for a minimum of 28 days and cooked on our Josper grill, but there are always two vegetarian dishes on our a la carte menu and, as all dishes are prepared by our experienced chef team in house, we are able to adapt many of our dishes to meet requests by diners with food intolerances and allergies. In addition to fantastic steaks some of the house specialities include Pork Rib Eye, Truffled Macaroni Cheese and Anna's Triple Chocolate Brownie. (If you have a food allergy or intolerance please let us know. Our gluten free menu is on our web site and other menus/details on dishes which can be adapted can be provided on request.)
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went here recently with some co-workers and have a lovely meal. Really interesting menu with international flare. Eggplant involotini, potatoes dauphinois, a great burger with sublime onion rings. Chili squid was amazing too. Service was wonderful and attentive, all in a really great spot. The dining room is in the basement though - so don't expect mobile signal. But DO expect an excellent meal.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Owner at The Jones Family Project, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Emily,

I am very glad that you and your colleagues enjoyed your meal with us and found our menu interesting and excellent. Thank you very much for taking the time to write about it.

Very best wishes from all of us at Jones
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

432 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    231
    158
    28
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level Contributor
126 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Very cool new place in Shoreditch - awesome food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Went there with the whole family for a birthday dinner after visiting once before on imulse - very nice atmosphere and very attentive and knowledgeable staff. Food choice is broad, plus varying daily options on offer - plus a nice wine and champagne range. Steak is very much recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank prime01234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Owner at The Jones Family Project, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Happy Birthday :-)! Thank you very much for coming to The Jones Family Project for your family birthday dinner. I am very glad that you enjoyed yourselves and found our staff welcoming & knowledgeable. Our steaks are cooked by our specialist team on our Josper oven. We only buy good quality meat and only from suppliers that we know. We think it makes a huge difference!

with very best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The new place to go in Old Street / Shoreditch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

Went to the Hoxton Hotel but couldn't get in so walked over to the Jones Family Project - best decision. It's East London upstairs and West London downstairs.

We sat in the dining area and it felt like you really were in a restaurant ran by a family as the staff were absolutely fantastic - very attentive, friendly and polite. Would definitely go again - food was incredible and the house wine was delicious. The food was a bit pricey but you got a lot for your money and it was great quality.

An up and coming place to go ASAP, before it undoubtedly rises to be one of the busiest places!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank klouise0306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anna W, Owner at The Jones Family Project, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Hi Louise,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on The Jones Family Project. We are very happy that you found us all friendly, polite and attentive and that you enjoyed our food and wine. We deeply care about quality and it is lovely to be able to pass your feedback on.

with best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Such a charming place where lovely people work”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

Had a fantastic dinner. Being served by two friendly and honest ladies. Will be back again. And the atmosphere is really warm

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ncgm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt
Level Contributor
64 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Eats in East London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

We couldnt wait at the Hoxton Hotel for a table so we went across the street to the Jones Family Project. What a surprise!

We decided to eat lightly upstairs in the Cafe/Bistro because the restaurant downstairs was completely packed (with good reason). Upstairs offers a quality tapas-like menu with an excellent wine pairing. We ordered olives, meat board and a cheese board with a selection that rivals that of anywhere on mainland Europe. These were so good we had to try some of the Chili afterwards which was also outstanding.

Giles, the Manager came by and spoke with us about the concept and offered to show us around the place when we were done eating.

We ate so much that giles had to leave in the meantime., so we were shown the downstairs dining room by Chantal (sp?). It offers an open kitchen concept and a corner with a theme room that changes ever month or so.

I can't wait to try a full dinner here!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank chutaiko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jones Family Project also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Jones Family Project? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing