We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indian Food at it's best”

Taj Restaurant London
Ranked #7,235 of 27,656 Restaurants in London
Restaurant details
Reviewed March 10, 2019

We went here as a family, our daughter having just moved into the area.The owner took great pride in explaining why his food was different with a twist on many of the classics. We ordered four main courses from "Chef's Innovations" and each was wonderful with distinctive and different flavours. The side dishes were equally as good. They don't have a licence but are happy for you to pop next door for your alcohol requirements and open and serve your purchases with no corkage. All the staff were charming. Best of all the bill was so reasonable for what we had had. Cannot recommend highly enough. We will definitely return.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Patrick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (33)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 33 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2019 via mobile

This is our second home, we've had nearly everything in the menu and never been disappointed with every dish their own distinctive flavour. Owner told us he doesn't cook with ghee which is so much better for your arteries and fry the spices first so that the flavours are stronger before adding the main ingredients, this avoids the bland curries.. Top place

Date of visit: March 2019
Thank vivisponge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2019

We've been going here as a couple/ friends/ family since it first opened, and each time we find ourselves saying ' This really is outstanding Indian food'. I understand they are very particular about sourcing their ingredients, making their own paneer, and using a particular type of ghee, and it shows. Every meal tastes fresh and flavoursome with a slight twist on traditional recipes. I'd highly recommend you try it out.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2019 via mobile

Me and my husband just live around the corner and is our essential meal for the week. We at least come for meal once a week or two. There’s no place can compare, We’ve tried most of the Indian cuisine around this area but Taj is the only one we love.

Date of visit: January 2019
Thank Lynn1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2018 via mobile

Great meal in a lovely place. Friendly staff and nice atmosphere.
Bring your own booze as it’s not licensed (makes for a very reasonable bill....)
They do great takeaways too!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank davemc1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Taj Restaurant London also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Taj Restaurant London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing