We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Winchester Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$155
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$371
$309
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$321
$298
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$270
$251
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$215
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$277
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$220
$164
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$176
$161
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$128
$121
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $139/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$1,064
$843
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
17
48
19
12
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
48
19
12
4
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 100 reviews
Reviewed July 31, 2009

Stayed here for 10 days in July 2009 - myself and 2 teenagers. Had room #4 - family room with 1 double bed and 2 single beds. Little bit crowded but we didn't go to London to spend lots of time in the hotel. Had enough space to move around and store all the luggage. Very clean and daily maid service kept it that way. No A/C but hadn't expected it. Left windows open a bit all day, and with the fan running we were perfectly comfortable. Excellent location - few blocks from Victoria Station. I enjoyed breakfast every morning but my teens preferred to sleep in and we picked up some breakfast at Sainsbury market in Victoria Station on our way to the Tube. There was a computer with internet available for guests and wireless in the room.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank agi56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here because it was recommended by Rick Steves. We always use his books and advice when we travel. This time, I am sorry to say he was off the mark. The rooms are very dated, shabby and VERY SMALL. The hotel was also under contruction and this was not revealed on their website. There are pleanty of nicer places to stay for the same price and neighborhood. Go to one of them!!!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roslynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed here because it was recommended in a guide book and boy, were we sorry. Don't be deceived by the pictures on the internet of the hotel unless they are from travellers. They hotel is further away from Victoria Station than their website makes it sound. The main problem we had with the hotel is that the interior is very old and dated. The carpet looks horrible and there is no lift. We were given a tiny room for a "triple" and because it also had two worn and old looking chairs in there, we hardly had room to walk between the beds. The extra mattress that they put on the floor partially blocked the doorway to the bathroom. There was no a/c and we had to ask for a fan which (thank goodness) they had. We had rooms on the front and it was kind of noisy. We did have an interesting view out our window...of a "lady of the evening" who either had an apartment on the upper floor of the hotel across the street or was using the hotel as a base. She undressed in front of the open window, came out on her balcony in her bra and panties and strutted her stuff up and down the street every evening. Not exactly what you want your 3 teenagers to see. The prices were very, very high for the quality of the rooms. It is rated a 3 star hotel, but there is no way...I'd say a low 2 and that's being generous. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sohrmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed here for four nights. We had requested a room at the back so stayed in Room 19. It wasn't overly large but itt had two chairs, tea and coffee facilities, a built in wardrobe and a large bathroom. The only criticism was that they don't have hand towels but give you face washers to dry your hands. Fantastic location close to a main tube station (Victoria) and close to Lizzie's house (Buckingham Palace). Free internet too. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was large. It could do with air conditioning in the warmer weather as our first night it was warm so slept with the windows open (we were on first floor). Couldn't ask for a more comfortable hotel in a great location close to trains, buses, lots of restaurants and pubs and shops. Breakfasts were good (full service) although fresh fruit would have been nice rather than canned fruit salad. Keep up the good work. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Close to the hop on hop off bus starting bus stop too.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed at the Winchester a total of 7 nights. The first stay was in the family room number one. (I read all the comments prior to booking.) We needed a family room which is sometimes hard to find.
Room 1 has a double with two singles. The room was large but hard to move in due to all the beds. The bathroom is good size. The room we stayed in the last two nights was small. This was room 5 on the second floor. A double with one single bed. For two nights we were fine. The bathroom was small. The hot water continued to be a problem while we stayed. We did find out that there is a safety button on the handle and was sometimes the cause of no hot water. Other times it was the number of guests taking showers at one time. We took showers at different times to have hot water. We did eat the full English Breakfast many mornings. You can make changes to the breakfast menu of only the foods offered. You can order eggs and not the full breakfast. The internet worked through our first visit and did not our second visit but was being repaired. The TV in room 1 needed a new cable but did not get one. Room 65the TV works well. It is in a great location just a few blocks from Victoria Station which made taking the buses around the city easier. Trains also connect to Gatewick Airport. There are grocerys and places to eat in walking distance. The staff is friendly and someone is always at the front desk. Ice and drinks are also available.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentuckyWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews