We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Not a great place!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Winchester Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Winchester Hotel
Save
You added Winchester Hotel to your Saves list
17 Belgrave Road, London SW1 1RB, England (Pimlico)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #861 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not a great place!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2009

We stayed here because it was recommended by Rick Steves. We always use his books and advice when we travel. This time, I am sorry to say he was off the mark. The rooms are very dated, shabby and VERY SMALL. The hotel was also under contruction and this was not revealed on their website. There are pleanty of nicer places to stay for the same price and neighborhood. Go to one of them!!!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roslynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    48
    19
    12
    4
See reviews for
16
34
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2009

We stayed here because it was recommended in a guide book and boy, were we sorry. Don't be deceived by the pictures on the internet of the hotel unless they are from travellers. They hotel is further away from Victoria Station than their website makes it sound. The main problem we had with the hotel is that the interior is very old and dated. The carpet looks horrible and there is no lift. We were given a tiny room for a "triple" and because it also had two worn and old looking chairs in there, we hardly had room to walk between the beds. The extra mattress that they put on the floor partially blocked the doorway to the bathroom. There was no a/c and we had to ask for a fan which (thank goodness) they had. We had rooms on the front and it was kind of noisy. We did have an interesting view out our window...of a "lady of the evening" who either had an apartment on the upper floor of the hotel across the street or was using the hotel as a base. She undressed in front of the open window, came out on her balcony in her bra and panties and strutted her stuff up and down the street every evening. Not exactly what you want your 3 teenagers to see. The prices were very, very high for the quality of the rooms. It is rated a 3 star hotel, but there is no way...I'd say a low 2 and that's being generous. We would not stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sohrmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bacchus Marsh
Level Contributor
81 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2009

We stayed here for four nights. We had requested a room at the back so stayed in Room 19. It wasn't overly large but itt had two chairs, tea and coffee facilities, a built in wardrobe and a large bathroom. The only criticism was that they don't have hand towels but give you face washers to dry your hands. Fantastic location close to a main tube station (Victoria) and close to Lizzie's house (Buckingham Palace). Free internet too. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was large. It could do with air conditioning in the warmer weather as our first night it was warm so slept with the windows open (we were on first floor). Couldn't ask for a more comfortable hotel in a great location close to trains, buses, lots of restaurants and pubs and shops. Breakfasts were good (full service) although fresh fruit would have been nice rather than canned fruit salad. Keep up the good work. Staff very helpful and pleasant. Close to the hop on hop off bus starting bus stop too.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Readybluedragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Ky.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2009

We stayed at the Winchester a total of 7 nights. The first stay was in the family room number one. (I read all the comments prior to booking.) We needed a family room which is sometimes hard to find.
Room 1 has a double with two singles. The room was large but hard to move in due to all the beds. The bathroom is good size. The room we stayed in the last two nights was small. This was room 5 on the second floor. A double with one single bed. For two nights we were fine. The bathroom was small. The hot water continued to be a problem while we stayed. We did find out that there is a safety button on the handle and was sometimes the cause of no hot water. Other times it was the number of guests taking showers at one time. We took showers at different times to have hot water. We did eat the full English Breakfast many mornings. You can make changes to the breakfast menu of only the foods offered. You can order eggs and not the full breakfast. The internet worked through our first visit and did not our second visit but was being repaired. The TV in room 1 needed a new cable but did not get one. Room 65the TV works well. It is in a great location just a few blocks from Victoria Station which made taking the buses around the city easier. Trains also connect to Gatewick Airport. There are grocerys and places to eat in walking distance. The staff is friendly and someone is always at the front desk. Ice and drinks are also available.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KentuckyWanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level Contributor
196 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2009

I was really looking forward to our visit to the Winchester and its location on the quiet side of Victoria Station. We (four of us in two rooms) were at the Winchester for two nights. I wasn't expecting a grand hotel but it still fell short. I have now learned the property is under new management.....new from my original reservation through my travel agent. At one time we were staying three nights but canceled within the correct time frame. We arrived to learn we had been charged for our missed night. This issue is still being working out with the third party Unirez who no longer represent the hotel....ie new management. Strike one. The rooms were fine, small but I knew that going in. The full English breakfask as not full.....missing the mushrooms and beans. Strike two. Overall the staff were adequate but not overly friendly or helpful. Strike three.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rleNewEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, NC
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2009

I had a 10 a.m. flight from Gatwick so wanted to stay somewhere walking distance from Victoria station. This place was perfect (though for some reason, I didn't sleep all that well - blame the beer & curry). It is on the edge of the trendy Pimlico area - 20 pubs and 20 restaurants within quarter of a mile of the place. Not far to walk to Buckingham Palace though I preferred the half mile to the Thames and in to Westminster followed by dinner at the Paradise Indian restaurant and a couple of pints at the pub up the road.
The room was large for London, with a double bed for just me. It was quiet except for some noise outside the hotel in the middle of the night.
My last gut-busting English breakfast at 7 a.m. and a 5 minute walk to Victoria station (no stairs after leaving the hotel - luxury!) They have a computer on the ground floor that you can use for free though I did manage to pick up the free internet from the Dover Hotel (wherever that is). I would consider staying here again for my last night in London - makes a very hassle-free way to get out of town - but I'd probably go somewhere more central such as Covent Garden or Bloomsbury as a base for a London stay unless you really want to be in Pimlico.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnmnzAsheville_NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, FL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2009

We stayed at the Winchester for 2 nights following a transatlantic cruise that ended in Harwich. The location of the hotel is excellent with just a 3-4 block walk to Victoria Station for the tube or buses, etc. There are no elevators and no "common" room where you could go to sit and visit. We were 3 couples traveling together. Our room had a nice bath, but the other 2 couples complained about their small baths. The rooms in general are quite small, but adequate when you spend no time there. The only thing in our room that I felt wasn't clean was the tired, soiled carpet. The breakfast certainly wasn't like the one pictured on their web site. The dining room was adequate w/white table linens, but didn't like the bacon, sausages, or the scrambled eggs. Corn flakes and orange juice were great. Fortunately for Americans, the exchange verses the pound has moved in our favor recently, so that made the hotel a fairly good value.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelfl12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
St George's Inn Victoria
St George's Inn Victoria
#792 of 1,066 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Pimlico
The Beverley Hotel
The Beverley Hotel
#526 of 1,066 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 29 reviews
Pimlico
Premier Inn London Victoria Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#272 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
Pimlico
Park Plaza Victoria London
Park Plaza Victoria London
#219 of 1,066 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 3,508 reviews
Pimlico
New England Hotel
New England Hotel
#961 of 1,066 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Winchester Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Winchester Hotel

Property: Winchester Hotel
Address: 17 Belgrave Road, London SW1 1RB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #861 of 1,066 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Winchester Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing