We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine budget hotel but not so budget sometimes”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich
Ranked #345 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed here recently for the Olly Murs concert, and it was clean, great hot shower, standard type of budget room but everything you need, breakfast a little limited but fine, hot and tasted ok, it's a good location for the O2 and about a 15 minute walk, another reviewer on here has put a tip about staying on the left hand side of the road and crossing at the roundabout this is a useful tip. I have one big gripe that the pricing is high when there is a concert on, This time the rooms were paid for me by corporate hospitality but I tried to book for two nights for another concert and have been quoted £250 per night, this is not a budget rate! I looked on the net and it says no rooms available, but the desk said they did have rooms, so I guess they will go on the net reduced if they do not sell at the higher rate, dissapointment because we will now look around and the hotel has lost our business not just for the one future visit, but others as well, understand the need to maximise profit, but one tube stop away rooms plentiful at £100-£120 per night, for £250 a night I would want a bit more for my money.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Homersaysdoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

834 - 840 of 1,253 reviews

Reviewed March 29, 2013

Great location for the O2 Arena, an easy 10/15 min walk. Bus £2.40 pp each way, taxi approx £5.50 however with volume of traffic following concert at O2 the taxi fare can rise to over £20!!, so walking is by far best option. Requested an early check in and high floor. On arrival could not check in until 15.00 and no record of my request ( arr at hotel 10.30 ) but left luggage in secure room and checked in at 23.30 following concert, we were however given a high floor. Bar prices as you would expect for a London hotel. Nice room with comfy bed but pillows very firm. Breakfast inc in tarrif but not a good choice esp with hot breakfast. Overall would use again mainly due to proximity of O2.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wayne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013

Dear countryboyWales,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate that you find our location to be convenient.

However, We’re sorry you received poor service from our front desk and the poor breakfast selection. We will address these point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

This hotel is ideal for the O2.
The staff where very informative and helpful.
The room was not very big but extremely comfortable with all facilities working,
the breakfast is included in the price with a good selection of hot and cold food and drink.
Book on line and you will get a better deal than booking direct.

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank johnnylager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for concert at O2. In walking distance about 15 minutes. Was ideal for us would stay here again. Staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. A little noisy with the traffic but after a good night at the concert I was tired so it didn't effect me too much.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jendotty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights mid March 2013 and I am back there again tomorrow night for 4 nights. The staff are very friendly and helpful, appear multi lingual. All speak very good English.
The menu is limited and didn't change all week. The O2 is nearby and there is a multi plex nearby.
The hotel is clean

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Walsham45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

Attending a concert so wanted somewhere within walking distance to the 02. You can see the 02 from the hotel so wasnt disappointed as some hotel make false claims to distance but not the case here. Arrived just after1pm, aware maybe having to wait as check in wasnt till 3 but on arrival were able to have a room straight away. It is very modernand clean. The receptionist was very polite and efficient. Nice rooms, warm and a good breakfast. If you want to viist Greenwich or planning to go to the 02, you wont do any better than staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jav66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Stayed for one night on 17th March due to attending Country to Country at the O2. The check in was quick and efficient. Within minutes were in our room on the 6th floor.

Room and bathroom were both clean and smart. The towels looked very new. The room was larger than I'd expected. Bathroom only had a shower, which didn't bother us in the slightest but some might want a bath. All twin rooms look towards Canary Wharf while the double rooms have a view over the river. Our room had a limited view of Canary Wharf and a very good view of the main road. Yes the road could be heard a little in the room but as this road is the road to Blackwell Tunnel of course its going to be busy.

The breakfast was a buffet breakfast with a good choice.

All staff were friendly and helpful.

This hotel is the only hotel that you can walk to the O2 from but be prepared for a 20 minute walk from the O2/North Greenwich tube station (the nearest tube station for the hotel). The hotel is not signed from the O2 (This was the only thing that disappointed me about my stay here). If walking from the O2 walk to (under covered walkway) and through the top of North Greenwich tube station (its the glass building at the end of the covered walkway). Once outside keep walking straight on until you reach the road (Millenium Way), Turn left and keep walking along this road (stay on the left hand side of the road otherwise later you cannot cross easily - we ended up walking nearly twice as far as we needed to just because we'd crossed the road). When you reach the roundabout the hotel is diagonally in front of you. Use the traffic light pedestrian crossings until you are outside the hotel.
There was no taxi rank that I saw but I guess there would be someone in the O2 or the restaurants immediately outside who could get a taxi for you.

When walking back form the event there was a steady stream of people walking back to the hotel so it didn't feel lonely, but the whole area felt quiet lonely in the middle of the day just becasue there weren't many walking around but it was a cold and wet March day.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCFanSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
Novotel London Greenwich
#259 of 1,077 in London
1,951 reviews
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London Royal Docks - Docklands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
Ibis London Greenwich
#430 of 1,077 in London
1,231 reviews
Travelodge London Docklands
#595 of 1,077 in London
112 reviews
Greenwich
De Vere Devonport House
De Vere Devonport House
#398 of 1,077 in London
1,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich

Address: 85 Bugsby's Way | Greenwich, London SE10 0GD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Greenwich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#349 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $104 - $365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich 3.5*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich, the closest hotel to the O2 Arena. You can see the O2 Arena and the sparkling lights of Canary Wharf's high-rise offices reflected on the River Thames from our modern hotel. Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich is conveniently located just off the A102 and 15 minutes by car from London City Airport. Stroll to the nearby O2 Arena for sports events and big-name concerts or catch an Underground train into central London from North Greenwich station, 10 minutes' walk away. Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich is a handy base for business, 15 minutes' drive from exhibitions and conferences at ExCeL. We have plenty of parking space and a self-service Business Centre open 24 hours. Host a workshop for up to 35 people in one of our 2 modern meeting rooms. Underground trains from North Greenwich station speed you to central London sights like majestic Buckingham Palace. Stay local to set your watch at Greenwich's hill-top Royal Observatory. Children under 18 stay free in our family rooms, making us a good-value choice. Help yourself at the inclusive hot breakfast buffet in Holiday Inn Express London-Greenwich's bright Great Room. Choose from our range of bar meals and mingle over drinks in the Lobby bar. Free Wi-Fi available throughout. Wi-Fi is free for guests who book directly with the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, IHG, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich Hotel London
Holiday Inn Express London - Greenwich England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing