We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking distance to everything”
Review of Wigram House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wigram House
Ranked #380 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I am a firm believer in 'you get what you pay for'. With Wigram house you get a basic clean very central location to launch your days in London. Ideal for the solo traveler!

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brodleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 57 reviews

Reviewed August 17, 2011

This was the cheapest room I could find in London, and it was well worth it. I had a private room across the hall from the WC. 2 kitchens, a common room, and laundry facilities are all available. Sainsbury's supermarket was 5 minutes walk away. The bed wasn't the most comfortable, but the shower was hot and sheets/towels were provided. Victoria station and Westminster Abbey are just 10-15 minutes walk. They don't keep luggage, but I left mine behind a couch in a common room and came back for it after exploring the city. When I stayed, there were hardly any other visitors. Most residents were foreign students who were willing to talk and share their experiences. Great value and highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank strangenewland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

A typical college dorm, slightly noisy whenever people were walking down the halls due to the old floorboards. Other than that, could not complain whatsoever. There was an issue with my booking but they still checked me in without any issues and told me not to worry. Close to Victoria Station which makes getting to Gatwick a breeze and getting around the city is easy. Walking distance to Buckingham Palace and Westminster Abbey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wandering_roadrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2010

Wigram House is a typical dorm setting. If you just need a place to sleep it is perfect. Quiet, safe, less than 5 minute walk to Victoria station, close to theaters, pubs, etc.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stacey0508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2010

Stayed here for one night after arriving in Heathrow before beginning my vacation in Cornwall & Devon.

No-frills accomodation at a reasonable price (30 pounds in the heart of London). The bed was full of broken springs and the pillow about as thick as tissue paper. However, it was quiet and only 2 blocks from Westminster. If you're looking for comfort, spend the extra 10 to 20 pounds at another establishment; if you're looking for a private room at hostel prices, this is a good bet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atmos05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2010

the accomodations were significant cheaper than everything else in the London area. Situated a couple of minutes away from Victoria Underground Station gives it excellent proximity to all the major London attractions. Rooms and facilities were clean and quiet.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adrien99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2010

I stayed there aug 09 with my 11yo son, having stayed at a pretty bad b§b this year, thought i should review wigram house, as it is a palace compared to the golden star! clean and spacious room with sink, toilets, showers and kitchens dotted around each floor, think 3each. brilliant to be able to make yourself a cuppa or some cooked food. staff were helpful and nice. location is excellent, just off victoria st, gd for tube, buses or shops, and close to big ben and palace etc. will definately stay there again,bit loathed to give good review incase full when i want to stay again!!! def recomend if u want cheap, basic and clean.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracygreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#51 of 929 in London
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wigram House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wigram House

Address: 84-99 Ashley Gardens | Thirleby Road, London SW1P 1HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Westminster
Hotel Style:
Ranked #380 of 929 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wigram House 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon so you can book your Wigram House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wigram House Hotel London
Wigram House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing