We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Ranked #258 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
ashford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

Great location for visiting central London. Close to tube station, managed to get our car parked for £20 for 24 hrs behind hotel. Good size room, great air con. Fab breakfast, great value, very helpful staff

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank littlefour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Littlefour, Thank you for taking the time to post your 5-star review of our hotel.
We are thrilled to hear the hotel met your expectations in every way to make your stay enjoyable; we will share your comments with our team members.
We look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hasina B. Sales and Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    542
    106
    36
    18
See reviews for
447
261
84
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

I booked a double room for 1 night and I was given a rear facing double room. It was very comfortable indeed. The room was spacious, very quiet and I was given a late checkout free of charge. The staff were perfectly polite and friendly and I can say that I definitely be staying here again in the future in my trips to London

Room Tip: as for a rear facing room as they are very very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Phillip M, Many thanks for letting us know about your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Express- Swiss Cottage. We enjoyed reviewing your very positive comments and are pleased that you found our facilities and staff satisfying.
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Hasina B. Sales and Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, UK
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

Although it looks a little way out from Central London, the hotel is easy to get to, take the Jubilee Line (or Metropolitan) to Finchley Road and turn left from the station exit. Cross the road using the underpass and then turn left, hotel is about 100 yds on right. Very welcoming staff with a quick and efficient check in. Rooms were standard HEI size but perfect for a night or two. Comfy bed with a choice of pillows, decent shower with shower gel and/or shampoo provided.
This hotel is on a busy road so ask for a quiet room at the back, beware that there is a charge for the Wi-Fi, some other hotels include this in their charge so bear this in mind when comparing prices.

Breakfast is adequate, not a full cooked breakfast, sausages or bacon depending on the day, scrambled eggs and beans but there was a good choice of fruit, cereals and pastries etc.
Would definitely stay there again,

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the back if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hasina B, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear KP0608, Many thanks for letting us know about your recent experience of our hotel.
We are pleased that during your stay with us the facilities and services met your needs
We appreciate your comments with the Wi-Fi and are pleased to announce as off from the 09th September 2013 all Holiday Inn Express in the UK will be providing free internet access to all our guests. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future and hope you enjoy the facilities of the free Wi-Fi.

Kind Regards
Hasina . B Sales and Reservations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, Alabama
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stay at this Holiday Inn express on a regular basis because it just does everything very well.
When checking in, the front desk people are so friendly and can`t do enough for you. The rooms are fine, very clean and more than adequate for the money. The WIFI works great and the hotel is situated near restaurants and a Supermarket.
We think while writing this review, that one member of the team who is called Florame deserves a special mention, as she goes out of her way to make every client feel special and just tries that little bit harder, and it makes all the difference, hence, we will be back again at the end of the month again. Thank you to all the team,

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LOS ANGELES
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Back again for the 3rd, 4th (?) time.. You just can't find a better deal in London with breakfast included. I booked the double room with the sofa and was delighted when i opened the door to see a King (bigger than a true King or Cal King)! It was very hot in July for London and thankful for the hotel's excellent A/C system, they had pitchers of fresh, ice-cold lemonade at the front desk, poured with big smiles! Staff were lovely, acknowledged me every time I passed by, and as I requested no maid service, was never bothered by knocking- When i did see the Housekeeping girls, they always asked if I needed ANYthing!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank REAL_CONTESSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
75 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed with friends for a 1 night break and chose the Swiss Cottage HIE as it had got good reviews and was a decent price. Hotel easy to find, take the Jubilee Line (or Metropolitan) to Finchley Road and turn left from the station exit. Cross the road using the underpass and then turn left, hotel is about 100 yds on right. Very welcoming staff with a quick and efficient check in. Rooms were standard HEI size but perfect for a night or two. Comfy bed with a choice of pillows, decent shower with shower gel and/or shampoo provided.
This hotel is on a busy road so we had asked for a quiet room at the back. We were handed key cards for our two rooms (I think they may have been 605 & 607) so we expected to be next door to our friends but the room numbering seems to go up one side of the corridor and back down the other. We just picked up the key cards by random but we ended up at the back of the hotel overlooking an over grown shrubby bank, so quiet, where as our friends ended up at the front of the hotel which they did find noisy, they did try shutting the window but found the a/c was more of a disturbance. Certainly worth trying to definitely get a room at the back.
Breakfast was adequate, not a full cooked breakfast, sausages, scrambled eggs and beans but there was a good choice of fruit etc.
Would definitely stay there again, especially if we could get it for £68 again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back but note if more than 2 rooms being booked check room numbering if you wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SRewse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

Excellent service and friendly staff. Outside london centre but in wealthy area (swiss cottage, hampstead, and st john) and right next to main underground tube - Jubilee line (gray). New small mall opposite road - big supermarket and restaurants and movie houses.
Breakfast at hotel is superb! Highly recommend

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TokolosheMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langorf Hotel
#541 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Address: 152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Family Hotel in London
#220 Business Hotel in London
#255 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the enjoyment of a warm welcome & benefit from convenient location at the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage – 7 minutes from central London.This newly renovated, contemporary hotel, has excellent transport links being adjacent to Finchley Road Tube station. Finchley Road & Frognal overground station is also only 3 mins walk from the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage. National Express coaches serving Stansted & Luton stop directly outside the hotel. Enjoy sightseeing & the culture London has to offer by hopping on an 82, 113 or 13 Routemaster bus.Attentive, friendly & multi-lingual staff are waiting to welcome you 24 hours a day to make you feel comfortable and at home by providing you with information about the local area & beyond.Begin & end your day in friendly, sociable surroundings - Start your day with our compliments with free Continental Breakfast & a selection of hot items from the buffet.Relax & unwind after a day’s business or sightseeing in our Cocktail Lounge by enjoying a leisurely drink or one of our speciality hot beverages.42" plasma screens keep you up to date with current affairs and sporting events.Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage has one naturally lit, fully air-conditioned meeting perfect for business meetings for up to 25 people. Our lobby area with wireless internet serves as a break out area for lunches and offers secluded areas suitable for private meetings.The Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is two train stops from Lord’s Cricket Ground, 4 stops from the West End, Theatreland & central London. It is one train stop from Wembley and with excellent transport links, Westfield (White City & Stratford), Earls Court, Heathrow Airport, Hampstead, Camden Market, Kings Cross St Pancras (Eurostar) and Euston are all in easy reach.When travelling by car, the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is conveniently located outside the congestion zone. Our hotel has limited on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing