We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, decent price for London”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Ranked #273 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Bochum, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
189 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, decent price for London”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed here for one night and everything was fine with it, very clean, comfy bed and the breakfast was much nicer than the first time we were there 4 years ago. The only complaint I have is that the side facing the road is pretty loud, it was warm weather when we were there and it would have been nice to have the window open at night. However, there is A/C in the rooms so it was not a real problem. If you are a light sleeper, make sure you don't have a room facing the street because you can still here some noise with the window closed and A/C on. It is located at the underground stop Finchley Road which is serviced by two lines, which makes it a good base.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main road, it is too loud on the side facing the main road if you want the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank p_l_c_s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    556
    110
    37
    19
See reviews for
457
269
85
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (230)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

This hotel has become our London Hotel when we go to London for a weekend (from Paris). Underground station a little walk away. The staff are friendly and helpful.
Some rooms can be a little noisy due to the windows not sealing properly.
Bfast is good, but during the weekends avoid the crazy hours which are very crowded.

I noticed a US review with disappointment of the room size... Having traveled in the US, you cannot compare the luxury of space and 'newer' buildings in America compared to Europe where space is so expensive in cities that they cram as many rooms into a building (maybe it's part of our culture). Having tried many hotels in London before settling for this one, the room allows for a child or 2 without having to pay a fortune extra and as we spend most of our time visiting London, the size of the rooms has never been a problem. There are also restaurants close by that are reasonable and also a few take aways which have been ideal when getting back with an exhausted child. The huge Sainsbury's and shopping mall is also ideal to do some shopping when staying for a longer period or when you have things to take back abroad.

We have driven once or twice by car from France in the past 5 years... the parking allows for maybe 10 cars so do call the hotel the day before otherwise you end up in the Shopping Mall opposite which is very expensive per day.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stebouane91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Stayed 3 nights on business.Again a fantastic level of service,, high standard of cleaning. A problem with TV reception led to receptionist up at my room trying to help within 10 mins
Air fresheners plugged in on corridors was a nice touch.
Alternating bacon and sausages for breakfast was great.
Great location near Finchley Road tube for Metropolitan and Jubilee lines and with Sainsburys, Waitrose, Nandos and Yo Sushi very local.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BirminghamMouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Clean , Friendly ,Convenient and well located though get off the underground at Finchley Rd not Swiss Cottage . The back rooms are quieter than the front . We stayed one nigh then two weeks later two nights and were able to leave one bag there in our absence which saved us lugging that around for two weeks with gear we did not need . Breakfast was adequate. Yes the rooms were a little small not allowing a second chair to sit in but that's not unusual in London . Prices for Saturday nights were a bit high but I guess they have to make hay wile the sun shines.

Room Tip: Finchley Rd appeared to have a number of emergency vehicle traffic on it so the rear rooms are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldermorleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Being close to the Jubilee and Metropolitan lines on Finchley road (as well as bus routes outside the hotel ) this Holiday Inn suited our needs on out theatre break. The food is standard Express fayre with DIY everything including bacon and scrambled eggs. The dining room is cramped however and this makes for a queue at peak times both for tables and for food . That said there is sufficient but not perhaps the choice of some of the more spacious Expressses. There is limited parking and a back-facing room would be worth requesting. I didnt like the pillows but I rarely do !!

Room Tip: Back facing room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwichNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

I stay one night at this hotel. If I compare with holiday inn express in USA this hotel is the badest one. Room very small and the meciliniance was poor. Room very clean but suitable for one. If you platinum member at IHG you will receive nothing no upgrade, no newspaper, no bottel of water, no late chick out and no welcoming you as excepect. Breakfast was good. No variety but I think it's good start. Closer to hotel you will find 3 large supermarkets.
The best thing that the hotel well connected to tube and bus station the nearst tube is the finchley road station with one menut walk and the bus stop on front of the hotel. Staff very polit and helpfully. Hotel is very small hotel. It has one par only. The receptionist informed me that she try to hold amount from my credit card before I arrived which not good because I arrived the hotel at 3pm and I can cancel the reservation without penalties till 4 pm. I didn't like her action and I think this is not acceptable issue.
Swiss cottage is very calm eria so you can expect to do nothing. There are many restaurants close to the hotel such as Dominos pizza, piza Expres, KFC and McDonald.
The nearst center is O2 opsit the hotel. There are many massage centers but I didn't use it. Nearst cinema is Odeon cinema also there is a library and theater.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mohamed-Salem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Mohamed-Salem,

Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased you enjoyed the location of the hotel. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received service at check and room accommodations which was less than satisfactory. Your comments were vital as we have forwarded them to the management team to address.

Again, thank you for your feedback. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
near Geneva
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Long term member of the chain's loyalty programme, noticed it had been recently renewed. The room at the back of the hotel was immaculately clean and quiet, terrific price, internet and newspapers available. Location is very good - one stop on the Metropolitan line to Baker Street, two stops to Bond Street. Lots of convenience shops and places to eat just across the road.

The rate includes breakfast and this was the only weak point that stops me giving it the 5 star rating, but then at the rate we paid, what can you expect. However, it was totally adequate.

The staff were very helpful throughout and the taxi service they ordered for us (not a black cab) was excellent and good value for money.

Room Tip: Try to get a room NOT facing Finchely Road - lots of traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann_Onimme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Quality Hotel Hampstead
#612 of 1,068 in London
202 reviews
The Langorf Hotel
#609 of 1,068 in London
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Address: 152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Family Hotel in London
#220 Business Hotel in London
#255 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the enjoyment of a warm welcome & benefit from convenient location at the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage – 7 minutes from central London.This newly renovated, contemporary hotel, has excellent transport links being adjacent to Finchley Road Tube station. Finchley Road & Frognal overground station is also only 3 mins walk from the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage. National Express coaches serving Stansted & Luton stop directly outside the hotel. Enjoy sightseeing & the culture London has to offer by hopping on an 82, 113 or 13 Routemaster bus.Attentive, friendly & multi-lingual staff are waiting to welcome you 24 hours a day to make you feel comfortable and at home by providing you with information about the local area & beyond.Begin & end your day in friendly, sociable surroundings - Start your day with our compliments with free Continental Breakfast & a selection of hot items from the buffet.Relax & unwind after a day’s business or sightseeing in our Cocktail Lounge by enjoying a leisurely drink or one of our speciality hot beverages.42" plasma screens keep you up to date with current affairs and sporting events.Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage has one naturally lit, fully air-conditioned meeting perfect for business meetings for up to 25 people. Our lobby area with wireless internet serves as a break out area for lunches and offers secluded areas suitable for private meetings.The Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is two train stops from Lord’s Cricket Ground, 4 stops from the West End, Theatreland & central London. It is one train stop from Wembley and with excellent transport links, Westfield (White City & Stratford), Earls Court, Heathrow Airport, Hampstead, Camden Market, Kings Cross St Pancras (Eurostar) and Euston are all in easy reach.When travelling by car, the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is conveniently located outside the congestion zone. Our hotel has limited on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing