We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank you”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Ranked #258 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    542
    106
    36
    18
See reviews for
447
261
84
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (225)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Malton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

just returned from staying here on a Saturday night,stayed with my wife and daughter in a room which sleeps up to four.everything was great,we arrived earlier than the check in time which wasnt a problem,our room was ready so were able to go straight to it.All the staff were most obliging and even after we had checked out on the Sunday we were able to leave our luggage in the luggage store whilst we did some touristy stuff.The hotel is in a great location,only a couple of stops on the tube from oxford street and theatreland but far enough away to get an undisturbed nights sleep,the breakfast was good and plenty of it, and all in all our stay was fantastic value for money,we will definately stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy2465
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I recently stayed here for one night whilst visiting London. I paid £55 for a family room, and that included breakfast. I honestly thin that is fantastic value for a hotel very near to central London.

The room was very clean and had everything I needed, including tea and coffee. I forgot my toothbrush and they were kind enough to provide me with one free of charge!!

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was basic, but as it is included free of charge I certainly wouldn't complain. There was cereal, danishes, some cooked food, juice etc - all good quality.

Internet for 24 hours was £7.50, which again I thought was reasonable as I used it to work for several hours. The speed was good and wifi has just been installed so you were not confined to the desk.

Th only issue with the hotel is the noise, it is on Finchley Road which is very busy at all hours. If you are a light sleeper this would probably cause you some issues.

I will definitely stay here again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: You want to request a room that doesn't overlook Finchley Road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Henster79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uppsala, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

I spent five days here with two younger family members and am very satisfied with the stay. It was cheap, clean, close to local attractions and had most things nearby.

Location:
It is located right across O2 Centre Mall (not the stadium!). The closest tube station (Finchley Road) is about 1-2 minute walk from the hotel and there are just a couple of stations to the most attractions. There is also a bus stop right beside the hotel where a couple of buses go all the way to Marble Arch and Baker Street. I can't remember the numbers but there was a night bus to which is good if you miss the last tube. We often had to change connection at Green Park though but it wasn't much of a problem. On the street, there are a bunch of shops and restaurants. Right across, there is the O2 Mall and there is a cinema there, shops, restaurants, a Sainsbury supermarket which is open until past midnight and a Starbucks.

Room:
A small room but that is to expect in London. It was reasonable clean. A little bit dust here and there but nothing cringe-worthy. The beds were a bit too hard for my liking though and if you have a room that is facing the O2 center (which we had), then it can be a bit noisy sometimes because the street is very traffic heavy.

Breakfast:
Pretty much Holiday Inn Express standard. Coffee, tea, toast, cereals, beans, scrambled eggs, croissants, danish pastries, nutella, cheese, fruit. It was good for a short stay but you quickly grow tired of it if you stay there for a longer period. Luckily, there are a couple of cafés around the street too.

General Hotel stuff:
The staff was very kind to us and helpful. We arrived way earlier than our check-in time but it was no problem to put the luggage away until our room was finished. There is no free Wi-Fi which is a big downside (I think it cost about 2-3£ per hour). There is also no Wi-Fi in the rooms but only in the common areas but I read that they are planning on changing it. If you need wi-fi, there is a café right besides the hotel that offers free wi-fi and of course starbucks in the O2 centre.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fictionaldaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

I stayed here for one night, it was clean and in a great location, very close to central and all amenities also. I found the receptionist to be friendly and helpful, and although the breakfast is pretty basic, it served a purpose!

Overall a pleasant stay, if you want somewhere that is basic but clean, and close to the centre, I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,591 reviews
134 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 822 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This is a franchise and it shows the owners are nothing like the people at company owned Holiday Inns and we have been priority club members for 10 years, different lower standards I'm afraid. They overcharge for everything £30 car parking overnight £3 for water and the traffic noise from Finchley road is unbearable. breakfast quite decent but dried beer mats for scrambled eggs.

Room Tip: Take a pair of earmuffs
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thefooddood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Dear Dogsheep,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. It is disappointing to know you did not enjoy your overall experience with us, and regrettable that our hotel did not live up to your expectations. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
71 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is a great hotel in stay in its bang opp the tube station v close to baker street and oxford circus.
for the area and service the hotel is very reasonably priced - around 69 GBP for 2 adults inclusive of a decent breakfast like assorted cheese , 4 kinds of cereals , sausages , backed beans , juices etc.
The staff is very friendly a special thanks to Tamas at the reception for all the help.
Rooms are good and great housekeeping too.

Room Tip: always ask for a higher floor and at the back side of the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbhatnagar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
East End / East London
Holiday Inn Express London-Limehouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Langorf Hotel
#541 of 1,088 in London
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage

Property: Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage
Address: 152-156 Finchley Road, London NW3 5HS, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#128 Family Hotel in London
#220 Business Hotel in London
#255 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the enjoyment of a warm welcome & benefit from convenient location at the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage – 7 minutes from central London.This newly renovated, contemporary hotel, has excellent transport links being adjacent to Finchley Road Tube station. Finchley Road & Frognal overground station is also only 3 mins walk from the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage. National Express coaches serving Stansted & Luton stop directly outside the hotel. Enjoy sightseeing & the culture London has to offer by hopping on an 82, 113 or 13 Routemaster bus.Attentive, friendly & multi-lingual staff are waiting to welcome you 24 hours a day to make you feel comfortable and at home by providing you with information about the local area & beyond.Begin & end your day in friendly, sociable surroundings - Start your day with our compliments with free Continental Breakfast & a selection of hot items from the buffet.Relax & unwind after a day’s business or sightseeing in our Cocktail Lounge by enjoying a leisurely drink or one of our speciality hot beverages.42" plasma screens keep you up to date with current affairs and sporting events.Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage has one naturally lit, fully air-conditioned meeting perfect for business meetings for up to 25 people. Our lobby area with wireless internet serves as a break out area for lunches and offers secluded areas suitable for private meetings.The Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is two train stops from Lord’s Cricket Ground, 4 stops from the West End, Theatreland & central London. It is one train stop from Wembley and with excellent transport links, Westfield (White City & Stratford), Earls Court, Heathrow Airport, Hampstead, Camden Market, Kings Cross St Pancras (Eurostar) and Euston are all in easy reach.When travelling by car, the Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage is conveniently located outside the congestion zone. Our hotel has limited on site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Despegar.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage Hotel London
Holiday Inn London
Holiday Inn Express London-Swiss Cottage England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing