We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight stay on our way through london”
Review of European Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
European Hotel
Ranked #894 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here as we had an early morning Eurostar train. We stayed right on the top floor and the room was basic but clean. We has a small en suite bathroom which was about 1m x 2.5m.

The hotel is good value for an overnight stay but I wouldn't stay there if I was having a holiday or on a business trip in London.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helenrswill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at European Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

Yes the hotel is perfect for an overnight stay especially for those catching an early train the next morning as Kings Cross St Pancras station is within 1 - 2 minutes walking distance from the hotel.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

255 - 261 of 690 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2012

Pleasant hotel for our overnight stay prior to catching Eurostar and train to Edinburgh. Ask for a ground floor room if you have heavy luggage. Rooms are small and basic, bed a bit hard but breakfast is good and staff helpful and friendly. An okay overnight stay

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Caitlin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

First the positives - this hotel is in a good location - very close to King's Cross and St Pancras Station, the bedroom was clean and slightly larger than similar hotels I've stayed in in the area and the bed was OK.

But the negatives - smell from shower closet, no lampshade on central light, exposed pipes in tiny shower/toilet closet and no toiletries, no bedside lamp, creamer not milk for tea, noise from room above (well it is an old building), thin curtains on window - and breakfast - diluting orange juice!

This is the 3rd hotel I've stayed in in this area and it is definitely the worst. I won't be going back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at European Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

Sorry to hear you will not be coming back to the hotel.

We try to target the budget traveller who is looking for an economical stay in a fantastically central London location close to Kings Cross St Pancras Station.

There are 3 to 4 star hotels in the area also but are more expenisve.

Kind Regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

While rooms are very small, this allows travelers an economical way to stay in London within easy reach of rail/tube stations. An included breakfast provided an opportunity to start out early each day.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at European Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

Yes we try our best to ensure our guests receive best value for money with our competitive prices.

We look forward to seeing you again soon!!!

Warm Regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

You pay for what you get.....very basic rooms but clean. Great location with access to transportation. Surprisngly there are some really nice restaurants around the corner and all worth a visit....

For the money....would stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calvin e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at European Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2012

Thank you for your feedback.

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Regards

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Spent three nights in European Hotel.

Very good location. Walking distance to Kings Cross station, still located in a very quiet location.
Staff helpful. Rooms very small. Comfy bed. Clean bed linen. No telephone in room. Work desk and TV. Wardrobe small. Shower and WC separate and clean. Rooms cleaned daily.

WiFi in room and free. Tea and coffee facilities with good supply. Replenished daily.Had some problem with kettle in my room. Nothing major.Breakfast good. Hair dryer on request and free. Room would not accommodate big luggage. Since there is no lift you may also have to carry it all the way up stairs.

No parking facilities. No restaurent in hotel. Plenty of take away places in the vicinity. BK, McDonalds, Subway and Indian in walking distance.

Overall good hotel to stay if you on a budget and looking for convenient access to rail network.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JagDeeAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotelier19, Manager at European Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Hello

Thank you for your feedback.

Yes we are an excellent base for those travelling to Central London on a budget.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Warm Regards

From the Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Service, does'nt exsist, felt as though we were in the way at breakfast which was COLD on both mornings. Rooms, not enough room to swing a cat especially shower (of which pipe was loose). Location good, only 3 min walk from KingsX. Thats the + about this so called hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edtheeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#753 of 1,077 in London
576 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#599 of 1,077 in London
1,012 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#312 of 1,077 in London
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#266 of 1,077 in London
2,062 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#551 of 1,077 in London
947 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#943 of 1,077 in London
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to European Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about European Hotel

Address: 11-15 Argyle Square, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #894 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $73 - $154 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — European Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a bed and breakfast hotel located in a central location in London. Located on a quiet and peaceful square tucked away from the hustle and bustle of London but within 2 minutes walking distance to Kings Cross St Pancras station. We have a fantastic free wifi connection in all rooms. A Full English buffet breakfast is served every morning. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities and flat screen tv's with all the freeview channels. We re open 24 hours and have a luggage room for those checking in early or those who want to explore London upon checking out.There is easy access to all of Londons Airports from Kings Cross and all the tourist attractions such as Leicester Square, Picadilly Circus and Covent Garden are all within easy reach from Kings Cross Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your European Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
European Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing