We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hostel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Generator Hostel London

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Generator Hostel London
Ranked #38 of 827 Specialty Lodging in London
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

This hostel was right in the middle of London!! The rooms were very clean and the staff were really helpful! The food in the restaurant was very nice and cheap. I'd definitely recommend anyone who's visiting London to stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesboylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello Jesboylan,

Wow. Thank you for your wicked review!

We can’t wait to see you again soon. Please keep spreading the word.

Best Wishes

Lenny Hughes – GM Generator London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,353 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    690
    975
    409
    148
    131
See reviews for
210
226
636
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
West Bay, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

Loved this place, in a great location, bar with happy hours (5 til 8), chilled room and cafe serving great food at reasonable prices. Only two complaints: 1 paid for 8 bed dorm and was put in a 11 bed - you wouldnt believe the difference it made - but Complained to the manager at reception and after a couple excuses moved me and my friend into the correct room so all was good. 2 I honestly love everything about the hostel except the showers. A curtain rail with nowhere to put your dry clothes and belongings really let this place down. I've nothing against the human body but having to see naked girls first thing in the morning is not my cup if tea. Hoping to stay again in May for my 21st so maybe the shower situation will have improved. Other than these only two minors I love and would 100% recommend this hostel!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lotty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello Lotty F,

It’s great to hear from you after your stay with us!

My apologies for the rooming mix up, but super pleased to hear that you managed to get that sorted with our Team and that it made a big difference to your stay.

Your feedback about the showers is totally valid and it’s always good to get comments about our facilities. I will be passing the comments on to our development team for future considerations.

We literally can’t wait to have you back in May and we hope you’ll have just as much fun as you did this time around.

Thanks again Lotty and hope to see you soon

Best Wishes

Lenny Hughes – GM Generator London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014

These people have no clue what customer service is. management and most staff are so rude and careless that you wonder why they're there in the first place. the longer you stay there, the more careless and rude they become towards you. Me and my girlfriend were meant to stay there for 6 weeks while working on a project in London from Leeds but we had to check out 3 weeks after we got there because we couldn't take all the carelessness and the un-professionalism of the staff any longer. The rooms were never cleaned nor were the bins in our room (4 mix) cleaned once the whole time we were there. we had to empty the bin ourselves and when we told the people a the reception they didn't show any care at all and just said they will send someone to check, and that happened a lot. They have a cinema room but they made so much farce about playing movies each time we asked them. Clearly long-stay customers are not valued in that place. They prefer short-stay and new customers so that they don't stay long enough to see all they rubbish. we moved to Clink78 were we've been for the past 3 weeks and they make us feel welcome and valued. and they can definitely teach people at the generator a thing or two about customer services and customer relation management. and they have a wi-fi service that actually works and you get a deal for staying a week and more.Don't go to the generator if you're planning to stay long or really value good customer service because you won't find it there, they will put you off human race all together!!! and their breakfast menu is so poor it's a total waste of money and time to pay £4.50 for it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Daniel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Generator Guest,

I’m so very disappointed to read your review today.

I would very much appreciate the opportunity to talk to you in more detail about the events you are describing, as they seem so far away from the service the team at Generator aim to offer.

We want to give all our guests the best possible stay and a unique experience while they are with us and I am very disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations on this occasion.

Please feel free to email me on: Lenny.hughes@generatorhostels.com or contact me on 0207 3887666.

I hope to hear from you very soon.
Sincerely

Lenny Hughes – GM Generator London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014 via mobile

I stated here for almost a week and I did not expect them to be this good with such a price. Booked a 4 beds room with my friends and it-was-good. The place was nicely decorated, good service, good bed, the shared bathroom was always clean. My room had a problem with the lamp and they fix it right away, there was even someone from the hotel who came to our room asking if there's anything wrong and if we need any help. Location was wonderful as well. Can't argue more. Absolutely going back to this place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank AvantiSukma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hey AvantiSukma,

Thanks for your great feedback after your recent stay. We would love to welcome you back to Generator London again in the future, and hope you will tell all your friends about your Generator experience.

Thank you once again and hope to see you soon!

Lenny Hughes – GM Generator London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jyvaskyla, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

I stayed in Generator for four nights with a friend of mine and overall it was a very pleasant experience. Location is superb: only a few stops from all the main attraction points (Oxford Circus, Camden Town, Piccadilly Circus etc) and only one from King's Cross St. Pancras! The place was quite easy to find from Russell Square tube station and a security person checked our reservation on the street in front of the hostel gateway. Security personnel was nearly always there, on the street and on the courtyard in front of the hostel building, checking our room keys. Bit of a pain occasionally, when our hands were full of shopping bags or such and both of us were required to show the key, but at least we were sure there weren't any unwanted visitors.

Everything was very modern, recently refurbished by the looks of things and oh so clean. A bit strange though that our bin (in a private twin room) wasn't emptied during our stay, but I guess they would have done it if we had asked? Showers were good, and so were the toilets except it was freezing in them! Open windows and winds of February don't make a great match... Also we got a few knocks at the door in the evenings by the staff, apparently our giggling was too noisy after 10PM. Hmm, maybe silence was required from 10PM onwards? We weren't informed by that but I guess so. There's a happy hour in the bar from 5 to 9 and two films shown every evening, I guess free of charge?

Breakfast was good, nothing fancy but wasn't expecting it to be. Buns, ham, cheese, cereals. Quite a queue especially during the last 30 minutes! Didn't eat dinner there, so I don't know about their deliciousness or prices, but there was a splendid Greek restaurant close to the tube station! Also tried an Indian place nearby.

The lift is rather annoying, it's ridiculously slow and there's only one lift for a busy 6-floor hostel. Luckily we were on the 3rd floor so only 2 stairs up from the reception. Still, I sure hope they do something about it.

Staff was really friendly and always ready to help! Even carried our breakfast trays from the table for us. Didn't expect that to happen in a self-service place...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Satu S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hello!

Thank you so much for taking some time to share you comments with us after your recent stay at Generator London!

It’s great to hear that we have managed to meet your expectations during your stay, and that our Team made you feel comfortable and safe here.

One of the biggest positives we hear from our guests, along with our Team friendliness is that we are so centrally located and close to all of London’s main attractions. I’m very pleased that you found this and we were handy for you while you were in London!

We would love to welcome you and your friends back again and please keep spreading the good word about Generator London.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to see you really soon.

Lenny Hughes – GM Generator London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

Extremely clean and secure facility, some staff are a little rude and off duty staff were being boisterous which doesn't reflect well on the business. Great value for money, I would recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarlonMIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Hey there MarlonMIA,

Its fantastic to hear that you felt Generator London was clean and secure, these are key players in creating comfortable stays for our guests during their stay.

I’m disappointed to hear that you felt our staff were a little rude and at times boisterous. I’m sure they had no intention of being either of these things, as they are all Team players and care a great deal about the service our guests receive. I will however look into this and thank you for your feedback.

I’m delighted to hear that you would recommend us, and I hope we see you again soon at Generator London.

Thank you and Best Wishes

Lenny Hughes – GM Generator London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

I am very disappointed in Generator Hostel. As a chain, this company should know that the most important aspect of a chain business is consistency. Tbe reason people go to McDonald's or Starbucks is because they know what they are getting. The same was my thinking with this hostel. When I stayed at this hostel in Hamburg, I had very fast wifi service available in my room. It was the fastest wifi service I ever experienced in a hotel. For my room in Hamburg, I paid 900 USD for a stay of 17 nights. Because I was pleased with my stay in Hamburg, I decided to stay in Generator London. There was another hostel much closer to my work location but I decided I would stay in Generator because I was expecting to have the same great stay and fast wifi service as I had in Hamburg. However, I was mistaken. The wifi rarely worked in my room, and even in the main lobby it was slow. What's worse is that I paid 1000 USD for my 7 night stay which is nearly three times the price for the same type of room. I travel to Europe quite frequently for work but have decided that because of this experience I will never stay in Generator Hostel again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genlon, General Manager at Generator Hostel London, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Hey there Fishcakes L,

It’s really disappointing to hear your feedback about Generator London, as you had such a great experience in Hamburg.

I understand how frustrating Wi-Fi issues can be and can absolutely empathise with you. We try to resolve any IT issues as quickly as possible in house or by contacting our external service providers. Unfortunately as I am sure you will understand these things can take time to find solutions.

I can only apologise for any inconvenience caused and assure you that this is not the level of service we aim to provide at Generator London.

I hope you will reconsider Generator for your future trips and if you would like to discuss anything else, please do not hesitate in contacting me directly at lenny.hughes@generatorhostels.com.

Sincerely

Lenny Hughes – GM Generator London
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#19 of 827 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Bloomsbury
Studios2Let Serviced Apartments - Cartwright Gardens
Palmers Lodge Hillspring
#43 of 827 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Generator Hostel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Generator Hostel London

Property: Generator Hostel London
Address: 37 Tavistock Place | Russell Square, London WC1H 9SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 827 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Generator Hostel London 2*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Generator London was the very first Generator and you’ll find it in the area of Russell Square in the heart of the West End. It’s the ideal spot to enjoy London from, everything you need to see is minutes away by tube. You’ll never run out of things to do in the UK’s capital. You just have to decide where to start and we can help you with that. When you have seen and done it all for the day head back to Generator and unwind. It’s a destination in its own right and a great place to socialise and reflect on your experiences of the day. Head to the bar and chill out areas to get yourself a well deserved drink or two. It’s lively, friendly and un-missable. We’ve also got great beds for sleepy heads and of course you’ll be enjoying London life in the most authentic surroundings. Choose from a great selection of rooms, from Dorms, to Quads, to Private rooms with innovative mod cons. Fast and free Wi-Fi is all yours too. To get the most out of your stay visit the travel shop and our city experts will help you devise an itinerary that will take you to all the hidden treasures this dynamic city has to offer. You’ll have to stay longer to fit it all in but you’ll not need convincing of that. We’ll see you there soon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, HostelWorld and Jetsetter so you can book your Generator Hostel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Generator Hostel London Hotel London
Generator Hostel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing