We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed ” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Regency House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Regency House Hotel
Ranked #557 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked room more than 6 months ahead for myself and five friends to stay in the family room for 5. When we arrived the room had been given to someone else. We'd looked forward to our girls night all year too!!!! Very disappointed.
The rooms we were give were split. The room at the front was very hot and very noisy (take ear plugs) The room at the back was ok. Beds were comfortable and facilities good. The window was left open all night to allow some cool air. Breakfast was lovely. Would have been nice to have cereals and juice available as buffet rather than having to order with breakfast. All in all though this hotel was in a good position for our stay in London.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank chixie34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    121
    62
    27
    22
See reviews for
77
102
36
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013

This place is disappointing. The walls are so thin, I could hear the guy next door snoring, and the people upstairs if they stepped on the floor. The entire hotel smells of fatty fried meat in the morning, no ventilation. My room was very hot and stuffy, and opening the window at night wasn't a good option due to street noise. The people seem nice, and I wanted to like it, but will never stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mow_joe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a room for 3. Cost around £140 for the night. Was spotlessly clean, quiet and friendly. Only comments are that the shower head leaked/sprayed, shower door runners need to looked at as the shower door was a little difficult to open, breakfast was nice, apart from we all had 1 button mushroom each - can't understand why as mushrooms are two a penny. Other than these very minor and trivial things, this hotel was definitely value for money and is just somewhere to get your head down for a night or two, so the most important thing for us was cleanliness, which it definitely was clean, and location, which was close to everything. Would come back again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank LouiseBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Having arrived early to leave baggage we were informed that we would be not staying in hotel but moved to another "partner hotel" close by.
We can't comment on the Regency but we were told that there had been a broken radiator, but on arrival at new doss house we were not the only ones by any means.
There was no where to leave baggage other than stacked in corridor with the other 60 or so bags. There was no breakfast facilities. It wasn't for us.
We refused to stay in studio 24 apartments and got a refund.
So on arrival if you are moved to that place take what they are telling you with a pinch of salt.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonesdg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

There are many hotels in converted houses or apartments along Gower Street. Almost every door yields another, on one side of the street anyway. This is an area just 20 walking minutes or so from West End Theatre and Soho restaurants, perhaps 15 to the British Museum, and about 50 to the far side of Hyde Park. Busy street, but one way only. Certainly feels safe, and is well-lit and has frequent pedestrian traffic. Nearby convenience stores and some eateries over on Goodge, just minutes' walk. Room we had was about average size for London. Only seating is on the bed, or a desk chair. No air-conditioning, but not a problem for our September visit. Most years it wouldn't be much of a problem at all, anytime. Front desk staff are good; breakfasts mediocre. Very salty food, pre-packaged cheese at breakfast, yogurt/jams etc. very limited, and only one kind of toast on offer. Sausage with full English breakfast had seen better days, and not much care taken with egg. Limited cereal choices. No elevator, so your suitcases are carried by hand (typical, probably, of the whole street).

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

The people at the desk were very friendly, but the room we had (facing the street with 3 singles & a double) was very cramped for 5 people with luggage. It was clean, had a very small bathroom (not uncommon), a good breakfast & was an easy walk to the station. The problem we encountered, which is no fault of the hotel, was that it was during a heat wave & of course, there was no air conditioning. We had to sleep with the windows open & the traffic on the street was very loud, so we did not sleep well at all. Under normal circumstances, I'm sure it's just fine.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank LeeAnn1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked this hotel as part of my 40th birthday present, and specifically chose it because he understood from a telephone conversation with the hotel that the room had a private balcony. It became apparent that a misunderstanding had occurred and the room did not have a balcony but does have shared use - with another room - of a patio area separate to that for use by the rest of the hotel. The room is advertised as a superior double room with patio and I guess it does what it says on the tin. The room is compact but apparently brand new having only been completed a week or so prior to our visit. It had all the amenities one would expect from a Superior room - except for floor space! - such as flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities, good sized fridge with freezer compartment etc plus a microwave and cutlery/crockery - very useful if unable to eat out (as we discovered most of the restaurants nearby close at 11pm). The room was spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable with plump pillows and the shower of sufficient strength to be invigorating without being abrasive. Toiletries were provided (however the hand cream was past its expiry date) as was complementary water in the fridge - rare in London! The room is lacking mirrors - impossible to use hair straighteners and actually see what you're doing as the only mirror is in the bathroom, and the wardrobe didn't have enough vertical hanging space for a full length gown. We didn't find the patio provided us with anything additional - as it is lower ground floor there was no sunlight and whilst it was nice for our room to overlook that rather than say, the wall of the opposite building, the lock on our window was broken so personally I felt a certain lack of privacy/security and certainly would have if the other room had used the patio area whilst we were in our room.
Full breakfast was provided consisting of orange juice, tea/coffee, a pastry each, toast plus apples/yoghurt if required, in addition to bacon, sausage, egg, mushroom and beans. Rare in my experience to have a freshly cooked-to-order breakfast in central London and certainly of a sufficient quantity to keep you going for several hours of sightseeing ahead!
After we checked out of our room we had several hours before our train home and the hotel happily provided us with storage for our luggage. This was located in the garden area as space does appear to be at a premium indoors, however it appeared to be securely shut away in a cleverly concealed area beneath a flower bed. The garden area was being refurbished during our stay with brand new decking, seating areas etc and judging by photos on the web site, once completed will be a big improvement. I have to say the web site did put me off massively and based on the photos on there, personally I would not have chosen to stay at this hotel. However, having been, I would come again although maybe at a reduced rate as I feel there are better value for money hotels around. The location is good though - within walking distance of Euston station, a block or so away from some very nice restaurants, bars etc and within walking distance of covent garden (where we spent a very happy afternoon enjoying the street theatre) and the west end.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trishy_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#636 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 205 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#99 of 1,087 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,675 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#754 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#534 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#501 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#668 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House Hotel

Property: Regency House Hotel
Address: 71 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #557 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Central London, the Regency House Hotel is a beautiful, traditional Georgian Grade 2 listed Terraced Hotel. Its' History can be traced all the way back to the first family owners, the 4th Duke of Bedford in the 1790's. We pride ourselves as one of the finest boutique hotels in Gower Street London. We offer some of the best value Single, Double, Twin, Triple, Quad, and Quint Hotels Rooms in central London. All of our Rooms are comfortable, fully air conditioned, elegant and decorated in traditional Georgian style, perfect for either short or long stay visitors. Visitors can save huge money on accommodation by staying in our affordable bed and breakfast in gower street London. Take the brief tour of our rooms at our official website. Ideally situated in the famous literary area, Bloomsbury, it is conveniently close to many of London's attractions and points of interest. A short walk or tube ride away are: Oxford Street, Soho and Covent Garden, the British Museum and London's Theatre Land. In the opposite direction you can find Regents Park and Camden, Madame Tussauds and the London Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Regency House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel London, England
Regency Hotel London
Regency London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing