We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Regency House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$251
$211
Trip.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$225
$217
Hotels.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Strand Palace Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
$174
$166
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$225
$171
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$204
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$255
$236
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$232
$198
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel 41(London)
$1,055
Travelocity
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$261
$243
Expedia.com
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (379)
Filter reviews
379 results
Traveler rating
100
150
76
30
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
150
76
30
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbritish museumgower streetfridge and microwavegoodge street stationfull english breakfasttriple roomtop floortottenham courtone night stayno elevatorfree tea and coffeewithin easy walking distancetiny bathroombreakfast was includedwest endsmall hotelcovent garden
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
180 - 185 of 379 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

We had a room for 3. Cost around £140 for the night. Was spotlessly clean, quiet and friendly. Only comments are that the shower head leaked/sprayed, shower door runners need to looked at as the shower door was a little difficult to open, breakfast was nice, apart from we all had 1 button mushroom each - can't understand why as mushrooms are two a penny. Other than these very minor and trivial things, this hotel was definitely value for money and is just somewhere to get your head down for a night or two, so the most important thing for us was cleanliness, which it definitely was clean, and location, which was close to everything. Would come back again.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
Thank LouiseBurns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Having arrived early to leave baggage we were informed that we would be not staying in hotel but moved to another "partner hotel" close by.
We can't comment on the Regency but we were told that there had been a broken radiator, but on arrival at new doss house we were not the only ones by any means.
There was no where to leave baggage other than stacked in corridor with the other 60 or so bags. There was no breakfast facilities. It wasn't for us.
We refused to stay in studio 24 apartments and got a refund.
So on arrival if you are moved to that place take what they are telling you with a pinch of salt.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Jonesdg2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2013

There are many hotels in converted houses or apartments along Gower Street. Almost every door yields another, on one side of the street anyway. This is an area just 20 walking minutes or so from West End Theatre and Soho restaurants, perhaps 15 to the British Museum, and about 50 to the far side of Hyde Park. Busy street, but one way only. Certainly feels safe, and is well-lit and has frequent pedestrian traffic. Nearby convenience stores and some eateries over on Goodge, just minutes' walk. Room we had was about average size for London. Only seating is on the bed, or a desk chair. No air-conditioning, but not a problem for our September visit. Most years it wouldn't be much of a problem at all, anytime. Front desk staff are good; breakfasts mediocre. Very salty food, pre-packaged cheese at breakfast, yogurt/jams etc. very limited, and only one kind of toast on offer. Sausage with full English breakfast had seen better days, and not much care taken with egg. Limited cereal choices. No elevator, so your suitcases are carried by hand (typical, probably, of the whole street).

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Don C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The people at the desk were very friendly, but the room we had (facing the street with 3 singles & a double) was very cramped for 5 people with luggage. It was clean, had a very small bathroom (not uncommon), a good breakfast & was an easy walk to the station. The problem we encountered, which is no fault of the hotel, was that it was during a heat wave & of course, there was no air conditioning. We had to sleep with the windows open & the traffic on the street was very loud, so we did not sleep well at all. Under normal circumstances, I'm sure it's just fine.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank LeeAnn1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked this hotel as part of my 40th birthday present, and specifically chose it because he understood from a telephone conversation with the hotel that the room had a private balcony. It became apparent that a misunderstanding had occurred and the room did not have a balcony but does have shared use - with another room - of a patio area separate to that for use by the rest of the hotel. The room is advertised as a superior double room with patio and I guess it does what it says on the tin. The room is compact but apparently brand new having only been completed a week or so prior to our visit. It had all the amenities one would expect from a Superior room - except for floor space! - such as flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities, good sized fridge with freezer compartment etc plus a microwave and cutlery/crockery - very useful if unable to eat out (as we discovered most of the restaurants nearby close at 11pm). The room was spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable with plump pillows and the shower of sufficient strength to be invigorating without being abrasive. Toiletries were provided (however the hand cream was past its expiry date) as was complementary water in the fridge - rare in London! The room is lacking mirrors - impossible to use hair straighteners and actually see what you're doing as the only mirror is in the bathroom, and the wardrobe didn't have enough vertical hanging space for a full length gown. We didn't find the patio provided us with anything additional - as it is lower ground floor there was no sunlight and whilst it was nice for our room to overlook that rather than say, the wall of the opposite building, the lock on our window was broken so personally I felt a certain lack of privacy/security and certainly would have if the other room had used the patio area whilst we were in our room.
Full breakfast was provided consisting of orange juice, tea/coffee, a pastry each, toast plus apples/yoghurt if required, in addition to bacon, sausage, egg, mushroom and beans. Rare in my experience to have a freshly cooked-to-order breakfast in central London and certainly of a sufficient quantity to keep you going for several hours of sightseeing ahead!
After we checked out of our room we had several hours before our train home and the hotel happily provided us with storage for our luggage. This was located in the garden area as space does appear to be at a premium indoors, however it appeared to be securely shut away in a cleverly concealed area beneath a flower bed. The garden area was being refurbished during our stay with brand new decking, seating areas etc and judging by photos on the web site, once completed will be a big improvement. I have to say the web site did put me off massively and based on the photos on there, personally I would not have chosen to stay at this hotel. However, having been, I would come again although maybe at a reduced rate as I feel there are better value for money hotels around. The location is good though - within walking distance of Euston station, a block or so away from some very nice restaurants, bars etc and within walking distance of covent garden (where we spent a very happy afternoon enjoying the street theatre) and the west end.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishy_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews