We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed in worse, stayed in better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Regency House Hotel
Ranked #552 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

My partner booked this hotel as part of my 40th birthday present, and specifically chose it because he understood from a telephone conversation with the hotel that the room had a private balcony. It became apparent that a misunderstanding had occurred and the room did not have a balcony but does have shared use - with another room - of a patio area separate to that for use by the rest of the hotel. The room is advertised as a superior double room with patio and I guess it does what it says on the tin. The room is compact but apparently brand new having only been completed a week or so prior to our visit. It had all the amenities one would expect from a Superior room - except for floor space! - such as flat screen tv, tea/coffee making facilities, good sized fridge with freezer compartment etc plus a microwave and cutlery/crockery - very useful if unable to eat out (as we discovered most of the restaurants nearby close at 11pm). The room was spotlessly clean, the bed very comfortable with plump pillows and the shower of sufficient strength to be invigorating without being abrasive. Toiletries were provided (however the hand cream was past its expiry date) as was complementary water in the fridge - rare in London! The room is lacking mirrors - impossible to use hair straighteners and actually see what you're doing as the only mirror is in the bathroom, and the wardrobe didn't have enough vertical hanging space for a full length gown. We didn't find the patio provided us with anything additional - as it is lower ground floor there was no sunlight and whilst it was nice for our room to overlook that rather than say, the wall of the opposite building, the lock on our window was broken so personally I felt a certain lack of privacy/security and certainly would have if the other room had used the patio area whilst we were in our room.
Full breakfast was provided consisting of orange juice, tea/coffee, a pastry each, toast plus apples/yoghurt if required, in addition to bacon, sausage, egg, mushroom and beans. Rare in my experience to have a freshly cooked-to-order breakfast in central London and certainly of a sufficient quantity to keep you going for several hours of sightseeing ahead!
After we checked out of our room we had several hours before our train home and the hotel happily provided us with storage for our luggage. This was located in the garden area as space does appear to be at a premium indoors, however it appeared to be securely shut away in a cleverly concealed area beneath a flower bed. The garden area was being refurbished during our stay with brand new decking, seating areas etc and judging by photos on the web site, once completed will be a big improvement. I have to say the web site did put me off massively and based on the photos on there, personally I would not have chosen to stay at this hotel. However, having been, I would come again although maybe at a reduced rate as I feel there are better value for money hotels around. The location is good though - within walking distance of Euston station, a block or so away from some very nice restaurants, bars etc and within walking distance of covent garden (where we spent a very happy afternoon enjoying the street theatre) and the west end.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank trishy_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (373)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

181 - 187 of 373 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2013

Although in a great location, this hotel did not live up to expectations. Our Double Room was tiny and I mean tiny and so hot we could barely breathe. Luckily we are not large people and managed to get around the bed and just managed to get in the bathroom for a shower, but anyone else would have difficulty. The hotel did provide a fan, which sadly we had to have on all night as the heat was unbearable. The double glazing was superb and just as well as the rooms overlooking the street side are very noisy. There was no mirror in the bedroom, just one in the bathroom, not a great help for putting on makeup etc
The Reception staff were lovely and were very helpful about getting about. Breakfast was pretty average - sadly the promise of a selection of cheeses was some very plastic looking cheeses placed in a cup on the table, toast was so thin it tasted like cardboard, but that aside the food was hot and nicely cooked.
I do think that morning papers would be a nice little touch for breakfast - not a great expense and just something a bit extra.

I think this location is excellent but I can honestly say I will not be recommending this hotel to friends and family - have stayed in lots better for the same price.

Room Tip: Do not have Room 12 and certainly ask for a back room, they will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3Twiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We spent 4 nights at the Regency House Hotel in May 2013 and would recommend it. It's in a great location, close to Oxford St and easy to get to most parts of Central London. It's slightly more expensive than other hotels in the area, but not bad value considering it's London. The room itself was good; the beds were comfortable and it was very clean. Our only complaint was the tiny bathroom. It was a tight squeeze to get in the door and to the shower without hitting the toilet and the basin. Overall though a pretty good hotel in London.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach8821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

We are a family of five and stayed here on the 15th June 2013 in room one. The staff were wonderful, friendly and helpful and made our stay pleasurable.

The location is nothing short of perfect if you are going to enjoy the west end, in fact our children thought we were on the street Peter Pan is filmed in; it is quiet, peaceful and beautiful.

Our room was perfect everything was clean and comfortable, it had a Sony Bravia LCD with freeview, a kettle, a fridge (with complementary bottled water), a freezer and a microwave, the bathroom was clean and modern and the water was hot, the towels were thick and there was an abundance of shampoos and lotions.

Our room also looked straight onto the street at street level....Perfect.

Breakfast was outstanding with plenty of choice and was served swiftly by wonderful staff. In short we loved it here and will return.

Room Tip: Room one was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank angharad m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

We had one night stay. 5 girls in a 5 bed room. Basic, but very clean (my main criteria), reasonable price, excellent location, very pleasant staff and decent breakfast. Staff were very accommodating and friendly and for me, this makes allllll the difference!

Bed was a bit uncomfortable, but for one night i was fine. My friends found the bed fine. Only real down side, it was a warm June day but even as the temperature dropped outside in the evening, the room was way too hot!

All in all, I have stayed in many a hotel in London and I was very satisfied! Thank u guys! :)

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrsBellz16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and had a pretty good experience. Our room was a good size and fairly well equipped but our friends was noticeably smaller - both on the top floor. Breakfast was good, the staff friendly and helpful. On the downside if you don't like stairs you'd want to check which floor your room would be on as its a good climb to the top. It was also very warm even after leaving the windows open all day - probably nice in the winter!
My main problem is the price - if this hotel wasn't in central London it would be £50/60 a night and you could probably get a deal, where it is (which is a good location) well over £100 and no deals. It just raises your expectations to a false level. At half the price it would have got 4 stars.

Room Tip: Check which floor you are on - no lift!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princewobblebottom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed last week for 2 nights. Hotel location is great, room was nice and clean. Hotel staff very friendly and very helpful with getting taxi and directions around London. Will definitely return. Thank you.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Stephanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#138 of 1,081 in London
1,293 reviews
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#624 of 1,081 in London
238 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#81 of 1,081 in London
1,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#493 of 1,081 in London
381 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#574 of 1,081 in London
810 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#790 of 1,081 in London
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House Hotel

Address: 71 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #552 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: $149 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Central London, the Regency House Hotel is a beautiful, traditional Georgian Grade 2 listed Terraced Hotel. Its' History can be traced all the way back to the first family owners, the 4th Duke of Bedford in the 1790's. We pride ourselves as one of the finest boutique hotels in Gower Street London. We offer some of the best value Single, Double, Twin, Triple, Quad, and Quint Hotels Rooms in central London. All of our Rooms are comfortable, fully air conditioned, elegant and decorated in traditional Georgian style, perfect for either short or long stay visitors. Visitors can save huge money on accommodation by staying in our affordable bed and breakfast in gower street London. Take the brief tour of our rooms at our official website. Ideally situated in the famous literary area, Bloomsbury, it is conveniently close to many of London's attractions and points of interest. A short walk or tube ride away are: Oxford Street, Soho and Covent Garden, the British Museum and London's Theatre Land. In the opposite direction you can find Regents Park and Camden, Madame Tussauds and the London Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Regency House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel London, England
Regency Hotel London
Regency London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing