We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regency House Rocks”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Regency House Hotel
Ranked #539 of 1,067 Hotels in London
omahhung
Level Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Regency House Rocks”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

The Regency House B and B at 71 Gower St. is a wonderful place to stay. It's intimate, reasonably priced. Great breakfast, caring staff. Ask for a room at the rear--overlooking the garden, which is not a thing of beauty but at least it's spacious green and quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear overlook the garden and avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilawheel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    134
    67
    28
    22
See reviews for
86
109
39
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We booked a nights stay at the regency house hotel as we were seeing a show at the pheonix theatre. Found the hotel easily from the tube station. (only about 5-10 mins walk from goodge street station). Check in was quick, simple and then found our room. It was exactly as we expected, and exactly all we wanted. Clean floor, sheets, and bathroom.

Upon waking the next day, the only mistake made was that we thought breakfast would be between 7-10. Please note this is not the case. It's actually 7.30-9. Despite coming down at 9.40 one of the kind staff cooked us both a full English, with plenty of toast, tea and orange juice. My partner and I thought this was especially good as some places we have been to, refuse to serve you if your late.

I am surprised by some of the negative reviews on here for this hotel. Yes it's not the ritz but considering the charge for the room per night with breakfast included, and the location think this hotel is very much worthing visiting and worth the money.

If ever attending a show or in this area again would defiantly stay here and recommend to others.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klipp86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2012

Stayed here in the last week and it was disappointing.
Nice entrance and easy check-in.
Once i got too my room it was the pits.
Very small and the floor creaked every step i made which drove me mad.
Bathroom was very small and the bed was awful.
Mattress slopped down on one side so i felt i was going to fall out of bed.
So not alot of sleep.
Breakfast was ok but nothing special.
I will not stay here again thats for sure.

Room Tip: If travelling solo avoid room 3.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alanrush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

dublin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2011

The place smells a wee bit, the rooms are extremly small and the place really needs to be redecorated. If we had the time we would have left straight away. i wouldnt be staying here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_Sean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damariscotta, Maine
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This B&B was average with a clean room, small bath, hardy breakfast. When I went to check out my bill was automatically converted to USD with a fee and owner determined rate of conversion. I was given an estimate to check but the conversion was in small print. I would have liked a chance to not convert.

Room Tip: rooms to the back of the building were much quieter than on the street. Narrow stairs and no lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
116 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2011

One of many Georgian houses on Gower Street that are now small hotels, usually with very small rooms. Staff at Regency House were friendly and helpful, but hotel lacked most amenities--no lounge, no computer for guest use, no air conditioning (and Gower Street is very noisy. when windows are open.) On the plus side, location is great and price is right.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank capegirardeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bielefeld, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

We found this traditional London hotel to be very good value for money given its facilities and location. Although the pictures on the net slightly flattered the interior of the hotel and the carpets had seen better days, our room on the top floor was large, clean enough and surprisingly comfortable. The bed was a super-double size and we enjoyed a very good night's sleep. There was a TV with a limited choice of channels (apparently DigitAl has yet to reach this part of the capital!), but adequate nonetheless. The ensuite facilities were perfectly adequate for the type of hotel and some courtesy toiletries were provided. The staff were helpful and friendly. The cooked English breakfast was fine and plentiful. All in all a decent hotel we would happily recommend to friends who need a place to stay in the city.

Room Tip: Bear in mind that this is a budget hotel in a Georgian town house, so rooms are arranged on several...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Gower House Hotel
Gower House Hotel
#634 of 1,067 in London
213 reviews
Bloomsbury
Garth Hotel
Garth Hotel
#832 of 1,067 in London
44 reviews
Bloomsbury
Arosfa Hotel
Arosfa Hotel
#92 of 1,067 in London
1,730 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Staunton Hotel
Staunton Hotel
#534 of 1,067 in London
347 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ridgemount Hotel
Ridgemount Hotel
#130 of 1,067 in London
1,201 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Academy
The Academy
#543 of 1,067 in London
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regency House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regency House Hotel

Property: Regency House Hotel
Address: 71 Gower Street | Bloomsbury, London WC1E 6HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #539 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Regency House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Central London, the Regency House Hotel is a beautiful, traditional Georgian Grade 2 listed Terraced Hotel. Its' History can be traced all the way back to the first family owners, the 4th Duke of Bedford in the 1790's. We pride ourselves as one of the finest boutique hotels in Gower Street London. We offer some of the best value Single, Double, Twin, Triple, Quad, and Quint Hotels Rooms in central London. All of our Rooms are comfortable, fully air conditioned, elegant and decorated in traditional Georgian style, perfect for either short or long stay visitors. Visitors can save huge money on accommodation by staying in our affordable bed and breakfast in gower street London. Take the brief tour of our rooms at our official website. Ideally situated in the famous literary area, Bloomsbury, it is conveniently close to many of London's attractions and points of interest. A short walk or tube ride away are: Oxford Street, Soho and Covent Garden, the British Museum and London's Theatre Land. In the opposite direction you can find Regents Park and Camden, Madame Tussauds and the London Zoo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Regency House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regency House Hotel London, England
Regency Hotel London
Regency London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing