We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cozy homely hotel”
Review of Albro House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albro House Hotel
Ranked #666 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed February 8, 2014

Stuff is very polite and helpful. Good that breakfast is always included in the price. Very handy for rail/tube/bus connections. Marble arch is walkable also but u can get a bus to Oxford street. The room was comfortable and clean. The heating in room was good. The TV has a lot of channels.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Olga L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (143)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 60 of 143 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with my husband on a holiday.

Pros - fantastic location close to the station.

Excellent breakfast provided by the manager and his wife.

Cons - There was a miscommunication in regards to breast milk storage although arrangements were made prior to or stay. The manager tried to help me the best he could, but there wasn't enough room in both the fridges in the hotel (one private and one in the kitchen). I moved out a day earlier as there wasn't a resolution and was told that the discount I was given was forfeited. Disappointing as I wasn't told before that there was a minimum stay to get the discount. Also, do bear in mind that there is a surcharge for payments via credit card. I can't remember the surcharge % as I decided to pay in cash.

The rooms definitely need updating and do try to get rooms facing the back. I had difficulty sleeping as the noise from the street was quite loud. Management should consider investing in double glazed windows.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank beachchick82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
londonhost_10, Owner at Albro House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2014

Dear Beachchick82,


thank you for taking the time to write your review about your stay in my hotel.

I would like to reply to your various points mentioned in your review.

As you said , there was definetly miscommunication about the quantity of breast milk you had to store.When you enquired you said "a small quantity of breast milk"to be stored in the fridge, to which we agreed.But when you arrived there was a "large quantity" of such milk.
As you said ,the manager tried to help as much as possible , using TWO fridges for your milk.

When you made your reservation you asked for a special rate (discount ) if you stayed a certain number of days.We did offer you such discount for an agreed number of days.
Obviously if you change your mind and reduce the lenght of your stay you break the agreement and in fairness we cannot give any more discounts.Sorry you are disappointed about this.

Credit card processing banks charge a fee for processing card payments, plus we have to wait some days before the amount is credited to our bank account, in the meantime banks charge
high interests on OUR overdrafts.I trust you appreciate the financial difficulties involved.

I am surprised about the windows.

All our front windows overlooking the main road (Sussex Gardens) have TWO windows , i.e.the traditional wooden sash on the outside and the heavy double glazed Everest on the inside.
When both windows are CLOSED they cut out the noise completely, where your windows OPEN perhaps ??
How could it be that YOU DID NOT SEE THEM ???

I can assure you that they are there , and have been there for the past 20 years or so, fitted for the comfort of our clients.Not many hotels in my road have them fitted !! I am sure this is an oversight on your part.

I am glad you enjoyed the breakfast provided by my manager and his wife.

Again thank you and best wishes to yourself and your family.


G A Caruso
=========
Owner


ALBRO HOUSE HOTEL.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2014

'Albro house is a cheap accommodation in central London, offering everything that is needed. The rooms are confortable; breakfast is available; a central line tube stop is within walking distance.
I enjoyed it!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Good location and close to station. The rooms were in need of updating along with bathroom (mold). Wifi worked in lobby but not rooms. Breakfast was good. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abbyaboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Really nice, clean and very good customer support. All the stuff is very friendly, the breakfast is really good and the location is incredible. I'll repeat for sure if I come back to London. If you are looking for a very good place with incredible prices, you have found it.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sergio_perales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We had a very warm welcome from Joseph. The bedroom was small, which is to be expected in London but clean. Each morning we chose the full English breakfast and found it satisfying and kept us going for several hours.
If you have alot of baggage, or heavy baggage, and there are just two of you, request room 2 as it is en-suite and on the ground floor - much easier than lugging it up and down the stairs.
Albro house is an easy 3 minute walking distance to Paddington station - a huge plus on the morning we left for home and booked the Heathrow Connect.
An excellent pub nearby is Taylor Walker at 109 Pread Street. The Steak and Ale pie was excellent after day of walking all over London.
My only concern, and it's more emotional, was they really need to get a professional to take a look at the fish tank in the breakfast room. It needs a simple filter and some light. The gold fish look depressed...

Room Tip: As for a ground floor room such a Room 2 to avoid lugging bags up and down. It also faces a small e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank poundsterling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The hotel is very near Paddington Station which makes it incredibly easy to get around by train. The rooms were a bit small and older, but they were clean. It was a good room for the price I would say. The manager was friendly and accomodating. The stay comes with a nice breakfast which is pretty good. Overall if you would like a bit cheaper place in London, this is a good value.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#821 of 1,077 in London
638 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Belvedere
The Belvedere
#680 of 1,077 in London
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
ABC Hyde Park Hotel
#687 of 1,077 in London
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Balmoral House Hotel
The Balmoral House Hotel
#662 of 1,077 in London
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
The Royal Cambridge Hotel
#641 of 1,077 in London
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Omega Hotel
The Omega Hotel
#661 of 1,077 in London
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albro House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albro House Hotel

Address: 155 Sussex Gardens | Hyde Park, London W2 2RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #666 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $91 - $233 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Albro House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed & Breakfast Hotel located in a very pleasant central London wide tree lined avenue, very close (50 metres?) to beautiful Hyde Park/Kensington Gardens and Paddington Station for mainline train services to the west and south west of England,the Heathrow Express fast 15 minutes Airport train service, plus Underground (5 Metro lines + imminent Crossrail) with easy transport links to all parts of London. Numerous city bus lines plus tour bus stop very near.There are numerous excellent restaurants of all nationalities,Pubs,Coffee shops,souvenier shops, etc very near our hotel. We offer accommodation in single,doubles,twins,triples and family rooms, all well furnished and decorated, all with private ensuite facilities, radio,multi channel freeview tv, complimentary tea/coffee making facilities,hairdryer,free wifi,free towels,soap and toiletries, etc. All our rooms are carefully cleaned and serviced daily. A complimentary, copious full English or continental breakfast is cooked and provided daily in our modern airy dining room. All our staff are most welcoming, friendly, multi lingual and offer an efficient courteus service in a very relaxed quiet atmosphere. Our sincere aim is to provide a service to make all our guest's stay in our hotel as comfortable, enjoyable and memorable as possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Albro House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albro House Hotel London, England
Albro Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing