We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid Harcourt House”
Review of Eaton Square Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Eaton Square Hotel
Ranked #1,035 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed November 16, 2007

My wife and I checked into Harcourt House in October 2007 and stayed only one night. The room did not meet our expectations so we found another hotel for the remainder of our stay in London.

The room was very dingy/dirty and located behind the steps beside the door to go the basement where the breakfast was served. I tried to take a shower but nearly flooded the small bathroom as the shower did not drain. My wife did not even attempt to take a shower as she said she may have felt dirtier after taking a shower as nothing in the room was clean. The toilet was in a separate very small room which unfortunately doubled as a storage closet for cleaning supplies for the hotel.

Overall it was quite a miserable experience. We didn't even stay for breakfast the next morning as we really did not want to be there. I most certainly would not recommend Harcourt House to anyone and I'm quite disappointed my wife and I had to spend a night there on our honeymoon. Furthermore, I feel the B&B was misrepresented on the website even though it appeared to have somewhat decent reviews. Never-the-less, a photograph of our particular room I'm sure was never displayed as a selling point. Perhaps the rooms upstairs are better.

Without raising too much fuss, I simply told the concierge at the hotel the day we checked in we were checking out either immediately or the next morning and she preferred the next morning and unfortunately we agreed. Looking back, I should have left immediately as the hotel was clearly not as advertised.

  • Stayed: October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank arkitkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

194 - 200 of 259 reviews

Reviewed October 18, 2007

Great location near Victoria coach, train and tube stations. Several good restaurants close. Actually backs up to Margaret Thatcher's home in Belgravia. Long climb to 3rd floor room, but actually no problem for this 77 year old, but a bit hard to get the suitcase up. Everything worked and was clean. Good full breakfast if desired. Definitely would use again and recommend to friends who like reasonably priced B&B's.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nonnajean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2007

I chose the Harcourt Hotel based on its price, its inclusion in Rick Steves and the fact that the TripAdvisor reviews were decent. My one night there met my expectation. At 85 pounds, it wasn't cheap but it was a bargain compared to other places in London. The location on an attractive street close to Victoria Station is extremely convenient. I got in late an was surprised that there weren't more restaurants and places open outside of the train station. I had to walk up a few flights of stairs to my room which wasn't a problem for me but could be for others. When I walked inside I was pleasantly surprised by the acommodations - clean and not tiny with a satisfactory bathroom, though the shower was typically small. Compared to the two star budget hotels I stayed at in Paris and Rome, the whole experience was a cut below but not much. Breakfast was included and was not bad - poached eggs with ham and fruit and bread. The staff was satisfactory. In total, I wasn't looking for much and the Harcourt Hotel served my needs just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank HarryfromLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2007

Harcourt House is a short walk to Victoria Station, and walkable to Buckingham Palace. A nice English Bed & Breakfast, with narrow stairs up to our room. Breakfast was very good.

Stayed: May 2007
1  Thank Douglas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2006

I was a little disappointed in Harcourt. The hosts were not very friendly & didn't seem to be around to help with any questions. The breakfast was average, but they did not let us order scrambled eggs. When we asked we were told they had prepared poached. The tomatoes were canned with thick sauce on top & the sausage was tasteless. No wash cloths in bath. The new drapes could not be closed at night. Would not choose it again even though it is very near Victoria Station, its main redeeming quality.

14  Thank marilynvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: No hay ascensor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Luz Marina V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stefania g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Belgravia
The Z Hotel Victoria
The Z Hotel Victoria
#328 of 1,077 in London
1,674 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn London - Victoria
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
easyHotel London Victoria
easyHotel London Victoria
#748 of 1,077 in London
2,115 reviews
Pimlico
The Melita
The Melita
#606 of 1,077 in London
296 reviews
Pimlico
Best Western Victoria Palace
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eaton Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eaton Square Hotel

Address: 50 Ebury Street, London SW1W 0LU, England (Formerly Belgravia Mews)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Belgravia
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,035 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $67 - $853 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Eaton Square Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eaton Square Hotel offers boutique styled contemporary and guest accommodations in central London. Situated in the Belgravia in the heart of central London, the hotel is well located for many of London's top attractions.The Eaton Square Hotel is a perfect choice for both business and leisure travellers to London with excellent transport links to all parts of the great city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Splitty, Cancelon, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Eaton Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Belgravia Mews Hotel London
Eaton Square Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing