We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Springfield Hotel London
Ranked #977 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I knew I would not get much from this Hotel after reading all the reviews.As I spend only one night, I was ok to give it a try. Location is good and from the outside the hotel looks ok. The room was run down, the beds to short for me and I could not sleep diagonally, as the matress was worn out and I kept sleeping between the beds. As I left early I did not have the breakfast. The Bathroom was a nightmare. Dirty, falling apart and not clean at all. Close your eyes, do what ever you want to do quick and get out.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinyhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

137 - 143 of 250 reviews

Reviewed July 7, 2010

The hotel is very convenient located just close to two metro stations. Neighborhood is nice. The rooms were quite small and the bathrooms were quite small.

The checkout time is quite early - 10am.

Make sure to close the windows so you can have a sleep because of the busy street outside.

In conclusion the hotel served its purpose - good location on fair price.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BiserDimitrov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2010

I have been using the Springfield for more than thirty years, both recently and with previous owners. I stay there wehn I am in London on business on my own; I prefer to take my significant other to slightly more upmarket places.
Having said that, the Springfield is great if you just want a place to sleep that's easy to get to from Heathrow (15 mins on Heathrow Express). The rooms are small, but clean and comfortable. Breakfast is the usual English Breakfast, but you won't go hungry with generous portions.
So, if you just want a place to lay your head for a night or two, and you need to be close to the West End and the airport, you could do worse than the Springfield. Don't expect big spacious rooms with widescreen TV though, and you won't be disapponted. Good basic B&B hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rockyroad2dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2010

This hotel is in a great location but there is a lot to be desired in this hotel. there is no lift we had to carry out bags up four flights of stairs. The breakfast was fine but the staff were not very friendly . The rooms are in desperate need of refurbishment. There was stains on the ceiling and the window wouldn't open. There was paint feeling off the ceiling in the bathroom and and the light didn't work. We only stayed there two nights and at this price you cant expect much

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ashersk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We stayed at the hotel with some trepidation having read the reviews after we had booked. We were greeted by a very friendly polite receptionist. The room was in need of refurbishment but was clean enough. The dining room was clean and fresh the breakfast was fine. Because we were using the hotel just as a base we did not intend to spend much time in the room. The location we like and have stayed at various hotels in Sussex Gardens.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrenNorthamptonshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2009

We come to London several times a year but never had such awful experience.We have booked 3 nights to stay in Springfield hotel. The room was like a sauna with 40 degrees with no window, only a door to the yard. We asked to fix the heating system. When we returned and and asked if they managed to do anything they just replied "NO." We said we are checking out and moving to the hotel across the road. Then a person in reception decided to call to the manager and we were offered another room but we had to check out next morning and leave all bags in the corridor. In the evening they said they are giving us a room but we have again to checkout each morning. It was inappropriate so we offered to pay for 1 night. The hotel manager was very rude and threatened to charge for additional 2 nights which were booked. Only when 2 other new customers came in and there was again problem and the manager offered them a room till the morning only, he said to us "Pay for 1 one stayed night and move out". It was absolutely horrible service.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roza22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2009

Got to hotel about 11am. The guy at the desk was friendly but as we were early for check in, we had to leave our bags in the main hall or wait til 1pm. We left the bags and when we came back at 9:30pm they were still in the hallway. Lucky the guests were honest. The room was disguisting! Paint peeling off the walls, dirty sheets which werent even covering the mattress properly and a bathroom that was only fit for a campsite. The manager was arrogant refused to change our room, give us a discount or allow us to leave. He said that because we hadnt cancelled the room in 72 hours we would be charged whether we stayed or not. He didnt seem to get the point that we wanted to leave because the place was terrible and we didnt know that 72 hours before check in!!! Apparntly because we booked ONLINE and got a good rate, we were given aroom that reflected this! Breakfast followed the same standard. The english breakfast was a disgrace we couldnt eat them and the continental breakfast was cornflakes and toast. Would never ever stay here again or recommend to my worst enemy.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruthmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Olympic House Hotel
#804 of 1,078 in London
348 reviews
Earls Court
Windsor House Hotel
Windsor House Hotel
#979 of 1,078 in London
587 reviews
Stylotel
#608 of 1,078 in London
794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
Notting Hill Gate Hotel
#814 of 1,078 in London
507 reviews
The Darlington Hyde Park
#229 of 1,078 in London
2,219 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#731 of 1,078 in London
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Springfield Hotel London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Springfield Hotel London

Address: 154 Sussex Gardens, London W2 1UD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #977 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Price Range: $82 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Springfield Hotel London 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Orbitz so you can book your Springfield Hotel London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Springfield Hotel
Springfield Hotel London England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing