We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lot of dirt and dust germs”
Review of St George Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
St George Hotel
Ranked #599 of 956 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Completion dirty from the first floor to the last. Full of dust, the stairs and around the Hotel. In the bedroom was full of dust and a used condom. A mattress are dirty , and hair other people. Two lamps in the shower did not work.
I honestly do not pay the price of the diseases that can be caught here. And is perfect for people who have asthma, to have an attack on the first 5 seconds.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Thyag0_Fig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 291 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

As has been said, great location - very close to Paddington station but on a quiet square - and reasonable value for money (£68 for "double" room mid week). We were also quite late arriving (11pm) and the reception stayed open past its stated 10pm for us which was good of them.
We were given room 22 on the 4th floor, not a great problem there not being a lift as we were travelling light. I was also expecting a small room which is what we got, luckily we did not have a suitcase otherwise we would have had no space to move at all. The small double bed touched 3 walls of the room and left little space in the L shaped room. The sheets and duvet were clean but bizarrely for such a small bed were too small to fit properly.
The weather was not that warm, but the room was. We kept the window open but luckily it faced onto private road so it was surprisingly quiet.

Unfortunately it went downhill from there. Once we had switched the (very crackly) TV off, you could hear an annoying whirring noise coming from the hotels central heating in the ceiling which lasted for a few seconds, stopped, but then restarted almost straight away. This only stopped apparently when a tap was run anywhere in the hotel at which point the sound got even louder and continuous until the tap was switched off.

I went down to reception but by this time had closed and the door was locked. So i went back to bed and had the worst nights sleep i have had in a long time with this constant cyclic noise droning above my head all night.

When i complained to the receptionist in the morning i was told it was a known issue with the boiler and when i asked for a refund was told that the manager would be in later in the morning. Fortunately we were only staying one night but doing something close by so came back to speak to the manager. He said no one else had complained about it before (?) but was quite reasonable about my issue and gave a partial refund.

Room Tip: Do not choose room 22 unless you have earplugs and like the warm
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James_P1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We chose this hotel for the location, and went in to it knowing there was no elevator. The walk-up wasn't so bad if you take it by itself, but after a day being out and about in the city, trudging up the narrow Victorian stairs was not fun.

The staff was friendly and accommodating, but the room was tiny. Don't get me wrong, we knew it would be small when we booked the room, but my hubby and I had to take turns getting dressed in the "vestibule" because it was the only place in the room with any space. You could barely stand between the bed and the counter top that held the TV and electric water heater.

Breakfast was delivered to our door every morning (thank God for not having to go up and down any stairs for food!), but was all pre-packaged. Chocolate chip muffins, "orange juice", and a few other things that at least was enough to take the edge off before wandering out to a coffee shop.

Overall, the St. George was okay. Nothing spectacular, but nothing I would necessarily recommend to my friends. I wouldn't warn them AWAY, but I'm not sure I would encourage a stay either.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

The few good things: really good price for London and quite central, well served zone. Really unclean, stained bed linen, found some food belonging to previous guests in a drawer. Really, really hot, we had to spend the night with wide open windows. No lift and really narrow and steep stairs. A camping toilet box, made in plastic, mounted inside of the room. Breakfast = they knock at your door and lay a tray of low quality food on dirty moquette just outside of the room.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I must start by pointing out that the location is excellent : 150 m from the Paddington Station, in a quiet neighborhood, next to a Central Line tube stop.
The room was really tiny : barely enough free space to put my suitcase into.
But it was clean and perfectly fit for the purpose of getting some sleep before an early departure.
Great value for the money !
Don't expect to get any extras through : there was a tea and coffee selection inside the room, but nothing to stir them with. So barely useful.
The disappointments were that there was no lift and the staircase was really narrow, thus presenting significant difficulties to people traveling with heavy luggage.
And there was no hot water in the shower when I was about to leave for my 5am train.

Room Tip: the closer to the ground floor you get, the better it is.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkodinov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

The room was small, but it was the cheapest room in the hotel. Clean and tidy is all I expect when I pay that much. Hotel wasn't noisy at all. Had breakfast at Paddington Station which is only round the corner.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank newvic2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights in March as it was close to Hyde Park and easy to get around. Value for money as it was cheap but the room was very cramped however it was clean enough. Breakfast was sugary packaged food. Would probably not stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flowerprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Marylebone
St George Hotel
St George Hotel
#674 of 1,081 in London
183 reviews
The Belvedere
#676 of 1,081 in London
468 reviews
Dolphin Hotel
#607 of 1,081 in London
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shakespeare Hotel
#660 of 1,081 in London
902 reviews
Paddington / Maida Vale
Point A Hotel, London Paddington
Caring Hotel
#557 of 1,081 in London
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St George Hotel

Address: 46 Norfolk Square | Paddington, London W2 1RT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Hotel Style:
Ranked #599 of 956 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $55 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — St George Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, HostelWorld and TripOnline SA so you can book your St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St George Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing