We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Healthy and Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caboose

Caboose
Ranked #1,193 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $38
Cuisines: Barbecue, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Takeout
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Description: A Caboose is the last carriage on a train, a rolling cabin where the railway workers of yesteryear used to eat, sleep, play cards and hang out. After seeing a derelict Caboose we decided this would make an excellent space to serve our food, which itself has made its own slow, smoky journey. In the spring of 2013 we set about building our own Caboose from the ground up. We rolled into Brick Lane 3 months later and have been here ever since. Our menu is about pairing slow smoked meat with fresh flavour combinations that we feel complement this age-old way of cooking. British food for us means a sensibility for flavour balance and an openness towards global cuisine. We care deeply about the provenance of our meat and the welfare of the animals, as such all our meat is always ethically sourced, free range, and locally sourced wherever possible. Our coffee is all roasted in-house and is always FAIR TRADE. We use a 66% Brazillian Santos & 33% Costa Rica Hacienda Aquiares blend. Our pork is from Dingley Dell Farm & our beef from Dedham Vale - both of which we have visited.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Healthy and Tasty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

Healthy & delicious not easy combination to find and also for a reasonable price. Nice people :) - Just heard this is a #1 things to do around London - I definitely would go back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aiskel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    18
    9
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Me and 11 friends visited the Caboose for my birthday dinner, and it was a great experience. The atmosphere is great for a casual dinner with friends, the staff are very accommodating, and they even decorated the cabin with balloons and got a birthday cake for us for dessert. We will be going back again - I highly recommend it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank LDN-Mac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, great atmosphere - the best birthday ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

After visiting these guys for lunch one Saturday, I loved the food and was so excited about the prospect that they did private parties, so I decided to have my birthday here! Couldn't cut numbers to the 11/12 they say fit comfortably, but we squeezed in and were still comfortable with my 13.

Firstly, they were soo attentive! After they sent through a great looking custom made menu I decided to be picky and ask for a halloumi started (my favourite). The guys didn't hesitate to make a halloumi and red pepper started for me. This and the rest of the food was incredible, everyone was so impressed and the atmosphere was great. Chilled yet fun, great music playing - great place to go just for dinner in a great location or to set you up for a night out in Shoreditch. BYOB really helped to make the night a hit!

Couldn't fault the place, thank you thank you thank you and thanks for accommodating my drunken friends and I.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
1 Thank Charlea90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

We booked Caboose for a stag party of 11 for one of their private dinners. They seated us next to the kitchen in an old railway carriage, and decorated the place with balloons. Throughout, the service was excellent, and food delicious and the atmosphere perfect. I highly recommend it for a large group - it was very sociable sitting around the edges of the carriage and talking to everyone!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect food, staff and setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

I hired Caboose for my birthday and had the best party ever. The food was amazing - I'm still thinking about that pork and garlic mash - and so cheap. The staff couldn't have been more helpful.

The Caboose is beautiful and really cosy. We fitted 12 in easily.

Definitely go and visit them. I've eaten from loads of plCes around Brick Lane and this is my favourite by far. And, if you can, try and book it for a party!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Becky82_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caboose also viewed

 

Been to Caboose? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing