We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time out of the states” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albion House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albion House Hotel
Ranked #891 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“First time out of the states”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Rooms smaller then I thought they looked on website. But had everything we needed was glad to have ceiling fan since no AC. Small staircase to drag luggage up. Close to King's cross station. Be careful on website that you pick breakfast if you want breakfast. Thought I picked room with breakfast but they said I had to select it and I didn't. So wasn't sure if was charged more..

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your feedback.

Positves : Room had everything you needed ; glad to have ceiling fan…Close to Kings Cross Station

NB: Breakfast is an optional extra which can be booked online or at the hotel. We do this so we can keep rates down and give you the customer greater Price transparency..

Thank you for your time

Regards

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    54
    44
    37
    59
See reviews for
21
79
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had to catch an early train from St Pancras, so Albion House is a great choice for us in terms of location (less than 5-min walk to the station). We booked the room directly with the hotel, so we got 15 percent off the normal price (we paid 75 pounds instead of nearly 90 pounds). We didn't stay at the Albion House, but in a building nearby within the same chain which is well-renovated and furnished.

Certainly NOT a place for older people as there are many stairs and the room is TINY, but it was PERFECT for a young couple like us travelling on a budget. The room was well-refurnished and has everything you need. The bathroom is very small, but clean, functional, and well-equipped. The bed was comfortable; the rather big flat screen TV was actually a treat!

But the room could get a bit warm in the summer as there seems to be no air conditioning system (just heater).

Room Tip: Call the hotel to book with them directly and get some discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank crimsondip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review ; we appreciate your feedback and we are always listening.

You listed a number of good things : ..Great Choice for St Pancras…Good discount..Perfect for Young Couples…well furnished and everything you need !..Big flat screen TV was a treat..

We appreciate your kind words and hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We spent a night in Albion House and was pleased with our experience there.

Good points:
1) Its location. It's very close to King's Cross Station and I really enjoyed the convenience.

2) Cleanliness. I guess the staff takes pride in ensuring that the rooms are kept clean. Really appreciate it.

3) Provision of toiletries such as shampoo and soap, as well as towels

4) They allowed us to have an early check-in upon arrival.

Points to improve on:
1) Lack of lifts (I understand that it's a Law that you can't install lifts there), but really makes carrying of luggage (ours was heavy) difficult. Thankfully the staff did offer his help, and that our room was located at the first floor. I couldn't imagine staying in a higher floor with such bulky luggage

2) Small rooms. Really not much space to move around (we couldn't open both our luggages at the same time)

Overall it was a good experience. I enjoyed my stay here! (:

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fullofdusk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your e mail and excellent review for our hotel. We really appreciate your kind words and very encouraged by them

Regards

Manager

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

The location where this hotel is situated is perfect for getting around London. It is nearby King's Cross Station, and tube connections. Shops, atm and places to get breakfast are all in the neighbourhood. It's a quite neighbourhood. The rooms aren't big and the bathroom is small, but it is fine when you're out on the town all day and night. Excellent value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edgar V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your positive feedback and good review

We always read our trip advisor reviews as it lets us know in what areas to improve in and we are always striving to do better and better.

Positives : Perfect Location; good tube connections ; safe neighbourhood .

You understand our concept completely !

We hope to see you again.

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sleights
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Visited for a weekend in May, Having read previous reviews I was a bit nervous as to what I would find. We arrived early and were able to leave our bags whilst we explored the city.

Upon return we were checked into room 4. The room was an average size maybe a little small but for the price we paid there was no complaints. The room was clean and tidy, but the furniture a little bit worn.

The bathroom was on the small side but again for the price we could not complain.
The staff were polite and helpful when we needed them.
The location was perfect, a quick walk from Kings Cross station meant we didn't have to carry heavy suitcases across the city and on the tube.

Overall we enjoyed our stay and think the hotel deserves better reviews and I can only imagine people were being a bit too picky when they stayed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johnmcc95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks very much for your review and kind and encouraging words

We are happy you understand our " concept "

To provide clean and affordable accommodation in central London. Rooms will not be large and nor is the price . All sizes of rooms and beds and bathrooms are visible on our website when you click on the room description page.

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldershot, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

Our check in was at 10 and we waited 45 minutes because they couldn't contact the housekeeper. And the receptionist didn't even apologize or sympathised. Very poor customer service.They were highly unorganised. When we arrived at the reception, it looked classy however the room we stayed in was very dirty. There were stains on the bedsheets, the floor was sticky, the fan was dusty and the cups were dirty too. I'm never going back again ever. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone and suggest people to think twice before staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rasa1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Guest

Your check in was at 2 pm and was clearly stated on your booking form
Check out for the previous guest is at 11 am ; so there is no way we can even offer you a room at 10 am ! You were extremely rude and arrogant demanding a room to be cleaned for you immediately and shouting at everyone in the reception ; even other guests - who subsequently complained about you .
If i was in the hotel at the time i would have politely asked you to leave. You can not speak to people like that .

We are always polite and professional at all times - If there were any issues with your room it is because you hurried our cleaning team far too much. You have to let us do our job . We spend an hour on each room we clean. In your instance the ladies had to finsh the room in 15 minutes …..As you were being unreasonable.

Regards

patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I booked this hotel for my daughter and I to visit London to celebrate her 16th birthday. Primarily, I booked this hotel because of it's location to King's Cross and Zone1 of the Tube, and also because the hotel looked modern in decor.

The first thing to point out is that there are THREE hotels in this group which are all located in Argyle Square. The Melville and Excelsior are next to each other, and the Albion House is just over the road. As far as I understand it, the reception for all three hotels is in the Melville and you could be staying in either of these hotels. There are signposts on each of the hotels, kind of explaining this, but it would be worth pointing this out to customers when you book to avoid confusion. As we were booked into the Albion House, we tried to get in to the hotel for quite some time, in the cold and rain, before we noticed a sign telling us to go to the Melville to check in. The branding for the hotels is the same, which is what helped us to make the connection, but some more explaining would have helped a little in this case.

Breakfast is continental, which I'm not sure is really explained, with a range of cereals, toast {with normal domestic toasters - a bonus from the normal hotel industrial toasters, which I hate!}, boiled eggs, ham etc. There are juices, tea and coffee and it's all very nice in a clean and pleasant room at the Albion House Hotel - in the basement. This is kind of explained when you check in, but I can understand that this would be off putting for some guests who have to go outside for breakfast. You're given a card when you check in to show each morning for breakfast.

The lack of lift {I can only talk for the Excelsior, as that's where we stayed} is a pain when you have a heavy suitcase, especially as the stairs are narrow and very windy. There wasn't anyone to ask for help, as Reception is in the Melville next door and help wasn't offered. As we were two women, a hand with our bags would have been nice. The room we stayed in {no 24} was absolutely spotless but small. In all fairness, that wasn't too much of a problem and we managed fine. The decor was fresh and pleasant. The bathroom was a wet room and I was lucky to have read about the hot water situation. Basically, you have to let the hot tap on the sink run to "jump start" the hot water for the shower. In the hotel book in our room, it was made to seem that this was a one off problem, but I suspect that this little tweak needs to be done for every shower - it certainly was for us. Again, not really a big problem, but a sign in the bathroom would probably help, rather than trying to hide this issue and annoying guests who don't read the book.

The hotel is very secure and we were given three keys - two for each of the big front doors and one for our room. It was also very quiet, considering it's location in relation to King's Cross.

The location of the hotel/s was definitely a big selling point for us. We visited Oxford Street, Madame Tussauds, the London Eye and other places and the furthest we had to go was five stops. It was 20 minutes door to door to the West End.

Another thing to mention is that I kept being asked to confirm my booking through bookings.com and eventually emailed the hotel direct and paid in full prior to my stay. The contact was very efficient and the manager was well mannered and professional.

All in all, you probably get what you pay for. This break was £175 for two nights bed and breakfast through bookings.com and I would probably stay here again, though I would request a room on a lower floor next time. I also understand that you can pay more to upgrade your room to a bigger one - which I would do if I was staying more than a couple of nights.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a lower floor and specifically at the Albion House Hotel if you don't want to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AngelPie78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thanks for your review and your feedback

We appreciate your positive feedback and encourages us to keep on working hard and providing our guests with the best possible service.

Thanks again for your kind words and review

Manager

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#642 of 1,067 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 346 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#485 of 1,067 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#532 of 1,067 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#235 of 1,067 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 1,649 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
Tune Hotel Kings Cross
#330 of 1,067 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 2,765 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#242 of 1,067 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion House Hotel

Property: Albion House Hotel
Address: 29 Argyle Square | King's Cross, London WC1H8AL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #891 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion House is a small modern bed and breakfast hotel ; located directly opposite Str Pancras interantional and Kings Cross Hotel.We are superbly located to discover all that London has to offer. We can be reached easily from The Eurostar located at St Pancras International .We focus on offering clean affordable accomodation in a great central London location. Our rooms are small yet they all have en suite bathrooms and amenities such as: Flat Screen TVs; Free WiFi; in room safes and Iphone docks and of course Tea and Coffee making facilities. Our rooms range from singles to Quads. We are focused on cutomer service and cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Albion House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel London
Albion House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing