We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Albion House Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Albion House Hotel
Ranked #950 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Cornwall
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent 2 nights here, and the locaton is the best point a short walk to the underground and kings cross is the best area to hop to other areas of london via tube. The Albion is okay and the rooms are all neat and very clean but very small, good for short stopover tea and coffee in rooms is lousy tasteless tea bags and the coffee is the worst I have ever had, This Hotel not for long term stays, you have to check in to the melville hotel across the way staff are polite but some staff are not talkative at all...some are, so very inconsistent in that respect. What lets the Albion down is there are no staff there at all in evening, only one miserable staff caretaker who doubles up on serving breakfasts He does not talk at all to guests and you feel as if you are in the way and not welcome, they have a peculiar system for breakfast they give you raffle type tickets to hand in every morning! If you need anything at night you have to walk over to the Melville hotel,(do not expect any help from the Terse caretaker) when I suggested an internal phone in the albion lobby to ring over for help I was laughed at....seemed to make sense but it was taken as a joke. Oh Well, sums it all up not very well trained in Hotel Industry. so this place is okay for short stay and hit or miss for helpfull staff, some good some bad. also the breakfasts are boring, and no imagination has gone into it....well maybe thats our friend the caretaker again!....Another good point, If you want to leave your bags there after or before check in times then they will oblige and store them in secure lock up, on leaving one of the staff rang for a taxi for us, one fo the more helpfull staff, so all in all a hit or miss Hotel. Some good points let badly down by the poor points

Room Tip: Room 2 is a Triple? seems more like a twin with a double bed swapped for a single
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilCornwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir

thanks for your review and rest assured we are listening to our customers and trying to improve wherever we can.

Positives : Location ; we are directly opposite the train station about a 2 minute walk. Cleanliness : we are heavily focused on making sure all areas of our hotel are cleaned thoroughly with no stone unturned .Nicely decorated : we are always upgrading and redecorating our rooms with our team of on site maintenance men.We provide a free luggage storage and a concierge service to help you with anything you may need.

Negatives : In fact our reception at the albion has a night manager there from 6 pm to 6 am ensuring your safety and responding to your needs in the evening. We are also looking into a direct dial telephone on each floor direct to the main reception in the Melville. So if you need anything at anytime you can just pick up the phone . Breakfast is simple and basic but there is an adeqaute choice. Hot croissants , toast , cereals, juices tea and coffee , boiled eggs and condiments- good value for £4 per person .We teach our staff to be helpful and polite yet not intrusive.

Many thanks for your review

Patrick
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    58
    51
    41
    72
See reviews for
30
87
20
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

This is the 6th or 7th place I've stayed while visiting London and rural England the past three weeks. It has been the biggest disappointment. Although reasonably priced, the hotel doesn't begin to deliver. First, do not expect internet connections; despite the notices plastered all over the walls, in the room booklet, and at the front desk. If you manage to get on line, the connection is poor and will predictably fail in the middle of an important email message. A major inconvenience for travelers. My room is very small and clean, but the toilet doesn't flush very well, although after four or five attempts a tsunami of water will make enough noise to raise the dead. The rooms are quite hot, so keep the windows open. Last night, at 11:30, someone from the front desk tried to get into my room with his key! Apparently, the management didn't know that the room was occupied! He told me to come to reception, but I refused. I told him my name and he went away. Really. This morning I came to the breakfast room at 7:15 in order to beat the crowds. The room booklet practically begs visitors to get to breakfast at this time in order to accommodate all the people. When I arrived at 7:15, the attendant told me that I was too early and not to show up until 7:30. I would not stay here, again.

Room Tip: Ground floor is supposed to have better internet; if you need to be connected, do not accept a top f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Valeria55Pistoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Madam

Thanks for your review we are listening to our customers and trying to make things better each day .

Firstly ; the intenet connection is not great on the top floor where you stayed and we are aware of this. I am currently having access points installed on each floor so all rooms ahve a great connection. The initial wiring is now done and we are waiting for the hardware to arrive . I will have this completed within a fortnight.

Positives : clean room ; well located and good value for money . These are 3 very important points and we will always deliver here .These are essential factors and the most important factors when booking a room in a hotel.

Any other issues can be fixed immendiately if you inform us ; we have a dedicated team of staff on hand to help 24 hrs a day.

We hope to improve in all aspects of our hotel and as you can see you we are trying to get things right . Perfection is not realisitc but we are trying to offer you a good deal , a comfortable clean room and a great location.

Many thanks
Patrick
Manager

( * a tsuanmi of water = really !!! .... Enough noise to wake the dead ! = Lets just stick to the facts and we will get things right for you . )
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Newcastle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel recently for 2 nights. It's a very convenient location, close to Kings Cross, but quiet and the staff were very friendly. The hotel reception is in another hotel close by. The bathroom door didn't close in the first room we were offered but we were immediately changed to another room. Clean, well fitted out, a lot of thought has gone into the fittings in the rooms, and the bed was comfortable, but the rooms really are very small and, from our experience, the photos on the hotel's website are misleading in that regard. Breakfast was good. The charge for the two days was very reasonable.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

thanks for your feedback and positive comments

Positives as mentioned by you : Convenient location ; very friendly satff. Clean and well fitted out room with al ot of thought being put in. Comfortable beds .

Thanks for your feedback it is encouraging

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cittiglio, Italy
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed here 2 night before Olympics. The room was quite good but there wasn't hot water the first night. The breakfast is good but server in a small room under the level of the read, crowded and noisy.
Our room was at the third floor and there isn't an elevator but only a huge little stair.
The only thing that is great is the position, just a walk from king's cross

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexMufatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for your e mail and review we are looking into things daily and trying to improve

We are a grade 2 listed building in central London which means we have a lot character , history and personality and individuality ...what this also means is that space is very limited and we are not allowed to make certain changes to the buildings which are protected by British Heritage .. You have the same also in Italy . ( Rome , Venice)

Positives from you : Our location - located opposite the Eurostar . We are in Kings Cross in central London

Thanks for your comments

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

A group of four of us stayed here during the Olympics.
We really enjoyed our stay and were so pleased with our room.
What we saw of the hotel was newly decorated, clean and tidy.
We collected the key from over the road, but this was'nt a problem at all, the man on reception
was so helpfull, nothing was too much trouble.
There are stairs, but to my mind, why take more luggage than you can carry.
We will be staying here on our next stayover in London.
Great location too, a couple of minutes walk to the station.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tapdancer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for your e mai and subsequyent feedbacxk on tripadvisor.

We are working hard to offer all our customers a great stay nad good experience.

Positives : Newly decorated ; great service and clean room !

We are happy that you are pleased and thank you for your words

Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

Booked to stay at Albion in June for jubilee weekend, check in is at a different hotel where unfriendly staff check you into smallest rooms ever, have stayed in London many times but never in rooms this small. Also didn't think rooms were very clean. Friends stayed in the California just up the road,we looked at their rooms and they were much nicer slightly cheaper too.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank holigogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for your feedback; we read all our reviews and hope to learn from them and communicate with our customners effectively

1. Our rooms are small but are on par for our location and price and budget . Double rooms average 8-10 metres sq.
2. Our rooms are very clean and we spend a lot of time and effort on this essential fact. If there is anything not upto scratch please tell us and well put it right immediately. You were unsure on this point ???

Please tell us immediately if there is anything we can help you with and dont be shy, we will do it for you and we are here to help.

Thanks for your review

Patrick
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed at this hotel in July 2012. It was absolutely fine for what we paid. Location is great and very near to tube station. The only problem was we found it slightly claustrophobic but that as our own fault because we were hungover!! Didnt go for breakfast so cant comment on that. Would recommend this hotel for a short stay :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank traceybb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks very much for your feedback and positve comments

We are looking ti improve and offer the best possible service we can

Many thanks for your review

patrick

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#746 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 409 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#519 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#541 of 1,089 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#241 of 1,089 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#245 of 1,089 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,916 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#733 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion House Hotel

Property: Albion House Hotel
Address: 29 Argyle Square | King's Cross, London WC1H8AL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #950 of 1,089 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion House is a small modern bed and breakfast hotel ; located directly opposite Str Pancras interantional and Kings Cross Hotel.We are superbly located to discover all that London has to offer. We can be reached easily from The Eurostar located at St Pancras International .We focus on offering clean affordable accomodation in a great central London location. Our rooms are small yet they all have en suite bathrooms and amenities such as: Flat Screen TVs; Free WiFi; in room safes and Iphone docks and of course Tea and Coffee making facilities. Our rooms range from singles to Quads. We are focused on cutomer service and cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Albion House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel London
Albion House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing