We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best, will not be returning”
Review of Albion House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Albion House Hotel
Ranked #950 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Lodi, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not the best, will not be returning”
Reviewed June 26, 2012

The photos for this hotel did not correspond with the room we got. A "Double room" is basically a box room with enough space for two pencils to stand side by side, a bed slightly larger than a single. The Wifi does not work in the rooms. Had to get the bed sheets changed immediately on arrival as they were stained (Nice!). The "Breakfast room" is basically 8 tables rammed into a space comparable to the back of a van. It's generally clean and a great location, but very disappointed as the pictures on the site are not what we got.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glenn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Dear Sir

Thanks for your e mail and review

We listen to our customers and try and act accordingly; and we are always looking to improve

The problem with tripadvisor is that the reviews are anonymous. We can not therefor pinpoint the date you stayed and thus the room you stayed in . You booked one of our 10 double rooms : all our rooms diffrenenciate in size some are therefor larger than others . Our doubles have either a standard ( UK not USA ) double bed or KIng Size double bed . In the UK a standard double bed is 4ft 6 inches wide and a King is 5ft wide . We have both of these types of beds . Our our linen is brought in daily from our Laundry company ; if you are notnhappy we will change it immediately as we did . Our housekeeper checks all rooms daily and our team of cleaning staff is on hand to service all rooms daily . Please let us know immediately if you wish to move room and we can make this happen if avaialble.

Many thanks for your e mail

Manager
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    40
    61
    54
    46
    78
See reviews for
37
90
20
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

The hotel is located in a slightly seedy area near Kings Cross. When we arrived we were told the reception was in another nearby hotel. After getting keys to the room and returning to the other location I asked for the wifi password. It did not work in the room, and when I asked about it the employee said it was because I was using a Mac and quickly turned away. However when I went out into the hall I was able to get wifi. My colleagues were not able to get wifi in their rooms either. The bathroom is so tiny you can barely get into it. The street outside was noisy and the breakfast very bare bones.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harmon60763
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2012

A very small room with a view of a brick wall and a lot of strong frying smells from beneath. However, a comfortable bed and clean shower room. As a single middle aged female traveller, it was not nice to be shouted at across the dining room to sit where I was told. I was quite embarrassed and decided not to bother with breakfast. Basil Fawlty strikes again. Reception staff were nice and helpful, however.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank poppy036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Madam

Thanks for your review and feedback ; we listen to all our customers and strive to keep improving in everything we do.

All our rooms our rooms vary in size and shape due to the fact that we are in Grade 2 listed Georgian building. We have however kept the same faciltires in all rooms. All rooms have en suite bathrooms , which have recently been upgraded , comforatbele beds , plasma TVs , ipod docks safes and kettles with complementery tea and coffee and milk. All lined and fresh towels are provided and all rooms are serviced daily.

We try to be as helpful as possible and endeavour to look after you with whatever you need when you are our guest.

Many thanks

Patrick
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2012

The rooms were tiny- but good if your staying the night before an early international train service. Close to the train station

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmmaLeaM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2012
Dear Guest

Thanks for your e mail and time taken to review us. We encourage all our guests to write about us and let us know about your stay .

Our smallest rooms are our single rooms which are equiped with single beds with comfortable pocket sprung mattresses; plasma tvs; ipod dock/alarm clock, safes, en suite bathrooms , free wifi and tea and coffee making amenitites, all linen and fresh towels are provided and rooms are serviced daily. All rates are inlusive of 20% tax and breakfast. We are located 3 minutes walk from Kings Cross and St Pancras international train station.

Guests can chose from small single rooms to family suites depending on your criteria. OUr single rooms are our smallest rooms but are comforatable for a short stay and carry our smallest tag ( £65 net ).

Manager
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on numerous occasions and have always been happy with the cleanliness of the rooms, service of the staff and the location is excellent for a trip to London as it is right be the station. You can also leave your luggage there before and after checkin-checkout which is an added bonus.

It is only a 30 minute stroll from the hub of the city (west end, covent garden, etc) and prefer to stay here as it is close to the station also.

Would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ket227
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed for a couple of nights in Room 13. It's on the top floor, and the noise from the water system was constant. The bed is 4 foot wide - we questioned this and they said that all the beds in the hotel are 4 foot wide. Be warned.
The room was cleanish, although the shower could do with a bit of bleach.
Breakfast: great if you like toasted white bread and Nutella. (I asked for marmalade, but no go) and cornflakes or museli
It gets 1 for the helpful guy on reception, but I expect a proper 4 foot 6 inch double bed.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nottmfoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mr Patrick P, Manager at Albion House Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear Sir

Thanks for your e mail .

We ahve 13 rooms in the Albion Hotel and all vary in size . We have quad rooms , triple rooms double rooms twin rooms and singles . We have a variety of rooms available to book.

You stayed in room 13 where there is 4ft 6 inch bed in the room.

Our bathrooms have recently been upgraded and they are new and very clean . We focus on cleanliness a great deal.

We have a number of rooms with 4ft 6 inch double beds and King sized 5ft double beds also.

If you tell us your prefences we can do our utmost to accomodate you .

Thank you for your time

Manager
Patrick
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 6, 2012

I have stayed in the hotel recently. The staff are very welcoming and the bedrooms are clean and well equipped. The position is excellent being so close to Kings Cross Station and therefore all the major London sites. In particular the square that the hotel is situated in is very quiet and a superb amenity especially for the summer months when I hope to come again

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nllyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Hotel Melville
Hotel Melville
#808 of 1,067 in London
427 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#536 of 1,067 in London
955 reviews
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#540 of 1,067 in London
896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#243 of 1,067 in London
1,727 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#731 of 1,067 in London
539 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#249 of 1,067 in London
1,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albion House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albion House Hotel

Property: Albion House Hotel
Address: 29 Argyle Square | King's Cross, London WC1H 8AL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #950 of 1,067 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Albion House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Albion House is a small modern bed and breakfast hotel ; located directly opposite Str Pancras interantional and Kings Cross Hotel.We are superbly located to discover all that London has to offer. We can be reached easily from The Eurostar located at St Pancras International .We focus on offering clean affordable accomodation in a great central London location. Our rooms are small yet they all have en suite bathrooms and amenities such as: Flat Screen TVs; Free WiFi; in room safes and Iphone docks and of course Tea and Coffee making facilities. Our rooms range from singles to Quads. We are focused on cutomer service and cleanliness. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albion House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albion Hotel London
Albion House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing