We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexceptional statue, great location”
Review of Boadicea Monument

Boadicea Monument
Ranked #410 of 1,633 things to do in London
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
254 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Unexceptional statue, great location”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Boadicea Monument is so-so as statues go, in a city filled with statues. I found it interesting mostly because of its location: at the west end of Westminster Bridge. As such, you can get some eye-catching photos by juxtapositioning it against other near-by London icons: the London Eye or Big Ben. Note that by late afternoon, Portcullis House (the building to the west) shadows the statue.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kay-cee-1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    37
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Boudicea's wonderful statue”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

She stands next to some of the most important buildings in London not in the shadow of Big Ben as one American person stated here. I walked by her daily and being 75% Celtic it is great to see such an important Queen in my ancient history recognized. Boudicea defeated the ninth Roman Legion and she destroyed Colchester which at the time was the center of Roman rule. The Romans raped, stripped and flogged Boudicea and her daughters which, exacerbated widespread resentment with the Iceni tribe, the native people. Nothing strange about having a great statue of her in our great city.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Boudicca0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
83 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“An interesting statue”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

An interesting statue depicting Boudica and her daughters. It's right across the street from the Parliament Building, so if you're in the area, check it out.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great places to go in London”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We visited here on a day out for a birthday treat visiting London. Nice attraction. Lovely location on the Thames.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank GinKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
1,061 reviews
467 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 847 helpful votes
“A nice piece of Roman history”
Reviewed November 12, 2011

How strange to find a statue of an Iceni Queen who burnt the Roman settlement of Londinium to the ground. It is neither great art nor important history but, no extra travel is necessary. It stands in the shaddow of Big Ben.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank DonPaulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boadicea Monument also viewed

 

Been to Boadicea Monument? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing