We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place”
Review of Martel Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Martel Guest House
Ranked #50 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 23, 2010

The Martel Guest House is located in a safe and quiet surrounding. From Golders Green station (5 minutes walking distance) you can reach all places of interest within 15-30 minutes.
We had been staying at Martels Guest House in the family room for 5 persons with 2 parents and 3 children (21, 17 and 10 years old).
All of us enjoyed the nice and pleasant stay with a perfect start in our sightseeing days with the breakfast buffet, eggs, ham and beans served by Mr. Martel supplemented with nice talks and helpful trip advices.
We felt like being at home and the best is that you get this all at a price which it is absolutely worth. Martel Guest House is our location of choice when we visit London the next time.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaroHippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (453)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

331 - 337 of 453 reviews

Reviewed September 17, 2010

Hey! My boyfriend and me have been staying in the Martel Guest House for 9 days and highly enjoyed every one of it! Our room was big with a normal size bathroom with shower. It is really quiet in the house, which is probably due to the good double glazing and the double doors, so you dont wake up from any noise. There is a good connection from the free wifi and a LCD TV. Breakfast is really nice with a big choice and variety. There are several cornflakes, 2 sorts of milk, yoghurt, juices, coffee or tea, a "buffet" of 3 or 4 different salamis and hams and several cheeses, tomatos, eggs and others. On top of that you can ask for a typical delicious English breakfast, which will be made fresh in the little kitchen. The breakfast room has 4 tables, which makes it rather cozy and possible to interact with the other visitors and it has a nice view in the garden. I have seen really all ages staying here, whether as young/old couple, group of friends or business traveller. I have heard from people who are repeatedly coming here for tourism and business reasons for over 10 years. The owner, Phil, has also been very helpful with hints and tips around London and he is nice to talk to once you got him get him caugt up in a conversation. The woman there is also really nice and always open for a little chat.
So if you dont expect a 3 star hotel, but a clean, personal, nice, affordable B&B in a nice and calm area with good transportation and shopping links, you found the perfect place to stay! Enjoy your time!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JaneM_83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2010

Stayed at the Martel over the August Bank Holiday weekend. It's ten minutes walk from Golders Green tube station on the Northern Line. So, easy access to central London and Camden just a few stops away. The guest house is in a nice residential area and the owner seemed like a decent bloke. Very good value for money and no problems to report whatsoever. Bed was comfortable and all facilities clean. Free wireless internet so take your laptop, or I think you could hire one at the guest house. Didn't have the breakfast myself but my girlfriend did and said it was good. Would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frankbooth64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2010

Everything as it should be, extremely good value for a stay in London. Parking for us was important as we simply wanted to leave the car at the accommodation and travel by tube, no problem as there is plenty of off road parking at Martel Guest House and the tube station is a only short walk, we were even ok to leave the car there on our last day after checking out.
The room was very spacious, very clean and quiet too, everything worked as it should. The large flat screen TV was an added bonus too although we didn't use it a great deal. Free wifi and you even hire a laptop if needed at a very reasonable price.
The en suite bathroom was nicely done and was also very clean, plenty of towels.
Breakfast was very nice and is served in a cheery dining room next to the garden.
Last but not least was the friendly and informative owner.

To summarise - not a single point for complaint, would we stay again when visiting London, absolutely.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peteyboy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2010

My family came over and their one week stay at Martel Guest House was pleasant and relaxing. Area is far from busy street, it offers easy access to local shops and metro station in just a few minutes walking, service is polite and not disturbing, English breakfast prepared to order every day. Good shower, clean space. I compared all local hotels, visited them and checked prices, in Golders Green area and Martel Guest House is the best value for the price deal you can find. It is not too big, everything inside works, does not smell weird like others, and the owner is always around. Clean towels every second day, free wireless Internet, even laptop if needed can be rented for a day or two. I have friends coming over staying at Martel Guest House as I will always recommend this place.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ewan0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We've stayed at Martels Guesthouse from july 28th till august 1st 2010.
Phil is a nice men. He made us breakfast every morning and told some jokes. He gave us very usefull tips. (Golders Hill Park is a very nice place nearby).
The coachbus from Londen Stansted brougth us straigth to Golders Green and than its a short walk to the guesthouse. We have had a very good holiday.
The reassons I choose this guesthouse were :it's in a quiet neighbourhood near the tube-station and it has extra's like airconditioning, fridge in the room, and coffee- and teafacilities.
We reccommend this guesthouse to other people.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elluf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

Our stay at this guest house was very pleasant. It is very close to the Golders Green underground station which gives good accessibility to the tube network. It is located in a fresh and quiet area. Room facilities were good especially the TV, Air Conditioning and electric Kettle with tea and coffee offered. We had great support from the owner. Amongst others he arranged for the airport transfers. Looking forward for another stay at this guest house.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kandara Guest House
#34 of 571 in London
140 reviews
The Station Hotel
#94 of 571 in London
60 reviews
MStay Golders Green
#73 of 923 in London
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Croft Court Hotel
#93 of 571 in London
125 reviews
East End / East London
The Lion & Key Hotel
The Lion & Key Hotel
#9 of 571 in London
172 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#32 of 571 in London
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martel Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martel Guest House

Address: 27 The Ridgeway | Golders Green, London NW11 8QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $110 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Martel Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Martel Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martel Guest House Hotel London
Martel Guest House London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing