We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Hotel in Bloomsbury”
Review of Goodenough Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Goodenough Club
Ranked #29 of 853 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Brooklyn, NY
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel in Bloomsbury”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Went to London on a business trip and stayed in the room on the ground floor. The bed was huge and comfortable and the bathroom was small but OK. Everything was clean, the staff was friendly and welcoming and they offered breakfast every morning.

The hotel is part of a college, weird right? Regardless, it is an affordable and conveniently located place for a short stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beach_Girl_NY_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    200
    61
    17
    13
See reviews for
68
145
64
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Lovely comfy bed, but the shower room was tiny and had no noise insulation from the bedroom. I've given a terrible rating because our room had two glass walls and blinds which wouldn't close properly - completely unsuitable for a bedroom.
I mentioned this on check out, all the receptionist advised was to ask for a room in the main building in future, he did not seem to grasp that a glass box with inadequate screening is just not appropriate for a bedroom.
Fitting curtains would solve this problem.

Room Tip: Don't go there if you get a mews room until they consider replacing the blinds with curtains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Gillian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2013

Interesting hotel, opposite a very nice park. About 8 minutes walk for the nearest tube, and within walking distance of the London School of Hygiene and Tropical medicine. Quite a scenic part of London and if you like shopping, near a small mall and walking distance to Oxford circus, if you don't want to take the tube. Breakfast was nice though the variety of (free)beverages was limited. My main peeve was the lack of a lift...if you have heavy boxes to lug upstairs, could be a problem, but the staff are very helpful and took mine up and down when i was checking in and out. Was told it was due to rules, so a lift cant be installed. The staircases are innumerable (or so it felt) and my first night i got pretty lost 3 times, trying to locate the exit!

Room Tip: Ask for one on a lower floor if you have lots of boxes
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliveandfreelondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middle England
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This is a somewhat unusual place to stay being a part of the post graduate Goodenough College. The accommodation is spread across a number of regency houses in a quiet square. There is no lift but some rooms are on the ground floor. Had a single room which was basic but comfortable and probably my best night's sleep in Central London. Breakfast was only average with cooked breakfast being available in the College's large common room across the square.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bigjohn18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We booked this hotel toghether with some friends because of its price. We had a good enough experience but not more than that.
Location : it's situated in a quiet street what ads to a good night rest, really little london noise to hear. Its a 12 minute walk from St Pancras train station, but also some 8 minutes to the nearest tube station , wich is awfull Rusell Square station (lifts !!). All in all good but also not close enough to get around quickly, nice neighbourhood (bloomsbury)
The hotel : is divided over 5 houses, but there is no connection between them, so reception is in nr 23 , we had a room in nr 22, means you go out again and enter again next door. Also no lift, so be prepared to carry your bags up the stairs your self
Rooms : our rooms had to small a double bed and to small a bathroom, but it was clean and comfortable, with a little fridge. Windows are worn down and single glazed, also not much isolation between rooms, we could hear our neigbours quite good
Breakfast : strangest part, you have to go outside for it. Continenatal in bottom of nr 23, or full english breakfast 200 m further on the square in a student building. It not so nice to have to go out for it, but the english breakfast in the college building is worth it, altough its really a strange experience to sit on a large table togheter with other people, feeling students again, if you don't mind that, it's a good breakfast buffet
Check in/out : very friendly and smoothly, one of our rooms was available altough we arrived early
All in all : if you don't mind the lack of a bit of luxery and are aible to adapt to the occasion, this is a good place to stay

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WimLeuven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2013 via mobile

We picked this hotel mainly for its location and the fact that they advertise themselves as a 4 star accommodation. The location is the ONLY good thing about it, believe me. Russell Square station is close and the area is lovely. The housekeeping is very poor, dirty floors, dusty surfaces. The bathroom is tiny and not as spotless as some other reviewers thought, the furniture is of student accommodation standards, as mentioned in many other reviews. We had to go down 64 steps and go out our building to have a not very good continental breakfast. We never went to the other building to have the English breakfast since we don't have cooked breakfast. The people at the front desk were kind and attentive: the radiator next to the bed was leaking and made the carpet soggy. They sent the plumber quickly but the carpet was wet for most of our stay. It looked like the housekeeping team had not noticed that soggy carpet for a few days. I also think they should give ample warning about the lack of lifts. Anyway, read ALL the reviews and look around the area before you pick this hotel. I regretted my choice because the price we paid didn't correspond with what we got for it, even for London, notorious for its poor value for money hotels.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Josefa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

stayed here at a weekend.
Interesting alternative to a hotel.
If £170 offends your sensibilities, like me, you could consider the excess to be a donation to a worthy educational charity,instead of to a faceless hotel chain.
Excellent breakfast across the road in a very nice common room.
Room very good,but it was on the 4th floor and no lift ! We asked for a garden room (looking onto the square) and maybe this was the only one ?
Tea,coffee,toiletries,flat screen tv etc/
But nothing to complain about. Staff were very good.
Very central for us coming into Euston (c. 10 minutes walk).
Some building work going on at the college. Pity,but no big deal.
Worth a try,especially if you're a student.
Booked our student daughter in at £108. That's more like it.

Room Tip: if you've got heavy luggage remember you have to carry it up the stairs. 1st/2nd would be the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paul186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#68 of 1,068 in London
1,528 reviews
Bloomsbury
The California
The California
#384 of 1,068 in London
1,855 reviews
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#426 of 1,068 in London
712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#259 of 1,068 in London
1,983 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#129 of 1,068 in London
2,407 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#347 of 1,068 in London
2,079 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodenough Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodenough Club

Property: Goodenough Club
Address: 23 Mecklenburgh Square, London WC1N 2AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 853 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodenough Club 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goodenough Club provides a home from home for visiting academics and those in related professions from all over the world. It occupies 5 fully refurbished Georgian townhouses and a mews which overlook our beautiful Mecklenburgh Sq Gardens, 2 acres of private gardens with tennis court and BBQ area, in the heart of Bloomsbury and a 10 minute walk from the Eurostar at St Pancras. Guests are welcome to join the thriving academic community that has been home to international post graduate students for over 75 years and to attend the talks, lectures and concerts which take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HRS, Priceline, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goodenough Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodenough Club Hotel London
Goodenough Hotel London
Goodenough Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing