We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but not the best I've been to”
Review of Goodenough Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Goodenough Club
Ranked #33 of 896 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 1, 2012

I was in a single room on the 3rd floor. There was no lift. The rooms were basic. The remote didn't work very well. I was at a conference there and there was no extenders or 4 in 1's for electrical equipment. (We all had laptops and electrical equipment) The food was good in the refectory and in the conference room. The bar was friendly. It was a good location near to Kings Cross, St Pancras, Euston and Russell Square Tube Station which is only 2 stops away from Soho and China Town. I would stay again but not for a while but would not go for a conference.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura Hannah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (456)
There are newer reviews for Goodenough Club
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

245 - 251 of 456 reviews

Reviewed November 30, 2012

Convenient location, close to Kings Cross, St Pancras and Euston and within reasonable reach of the West End. Well served, good facilities and therefore good value for money in relation to other London hotels. Great breakfast in college refectory. Pleasant staff.
I understand the range of rooms is considerable. Well worth checking out

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012 via mobile

The location and service is good. The double bed was two singles pushed together. The breakfast was hot and selection was decent, but they forgot to add some taste. I was disappointed by the room; a box on the terrace with big windows. The privacy was lacking and it was noisy with all clients in the back walking past my door.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Suur_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The locations is superb in the heard of Bloomsbury but in a quiet back road. on checking in at their initiative we discusses several different rooms I could have. I ended up going for a large double room on the second floor overlooking the square with a huge picture window, a large bed and a huge chandelier. The fixtures are quite plain and "college like".

The bathroom was just for me but was down the hall and I had a key for it as it was normally locked. However there was only one other room on the corridor and I never actually encountered my neighbor.

Was worried that facing the street would be noisy but is more or less a dead end so very little traffic.

Went across the road to the London House which looks like an college complete with quad to the restaurant for a cooked breakfast. This hall looks just like it came out of Hogwarts. A splendid great hall with long wooden tables. The Goodenough Club consists of several houses in a line and they serve continental breakfast in the basement of main building.

Wi-fi was included. Of the dozen or so hotels I have stayed at in London, this was by no means the fanciest but was definitely the largest room

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

A colleague recommended the Goodenough Club for a work trip to London. The location is very convenient about halfway between Russell Sq and Kings Cross tubes.

I thought is was excellent value. The rooms were small but functional. I had the continental breakfast each day was excellent (you can go to the nearby college for a cooked breakfast).

The hotel is an old Victorian house so there was no lift which was a problem because I had a lot of luggage with me. If you have trouble lifting or lots of cases I'd suggest requesting a room on the first floor.

Overall an excellent place to stay and good for tourists or travelers visiting Bloomsbury for work.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Rooms are really small and a bit old.
Bathrooms are recently renovated and okay.
No lift and squeaky stairs.

The walk to the college and the (decent) breakfast there is a nice way to discover university life in London.

Good location.

Room Tip: No lift. Ask directions to the breakfast.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergeTript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here recently for one night during a work related visit to London. The location, on a quiet square in Bloomsbury, is perfect, although it is a reasonable walk to the nearest tube(s). The room I had was on the second floor and overlooked the square. The room was adequate for a short stay but was a bit on the small side (particularly if there are two of you) for a longer stay. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom and shower were fine (although no soap was provided - there was shower gel, shampoo etc, but no bar of soap!). Tea making facilities are provided. Even though my room was at the front it was very quiet during the night. Breakfast is either in the Club (continental breakfast only) or in the Great Hall of the nearly College (full English). I took the full breakfast and it was fine, exactly what you would expect from a College breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesCBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
The Euro Hotel
The Euro Hotel
#442 of 1,072 in London
728 reviews
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#467 of 1,072 in London
2,102 reviews
Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
Mercure London Bloomsbury
#369 of 1,072 in London
2,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#133 of 1,072 in London
2,499 reviews
Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
The Hoxton, Holborn
#67 of 1,072 in London
1,606 reviews
Bloomsbury
Alhambra Hotel
Alhambra Hotel
#260 of 1,072 in London
2,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodenough Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodenough Club

Address: 23 Mecklenburgh Square, London WC1N 2AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 896 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $181 - $334 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodenough Club 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goodenough Club provides a home from home for visiting academics and those in related professions from all over the world. It occupies 5 fully refurbished Georgian townhouses and a mews which overlook our beautiful Mecklenburgh Sq Gardens, 2 acres of private gardens with tennis court and BBQ area, in the heart of Bloomsbury and a 10 minute walk from the Eurostar at St Pancras. Guests are welcome to join the thriving academic community that has been home to international post graduate students for over 75 years and to attend the talks, lectures and concerts which take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Goodenough Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodenough Club Hotel London
Goodenough Hotel London
Goodenough Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing