We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upmarket quiet college room”
Review of Goodenough Club

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Goodenough Club
Ranked #35 of 949 Specialty Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 21, 2012

The locations is superb in the heard of Bloomsbury but in a quiet back road. on checking in at their initiative we discusses several different rooms I could have. I ended up going for a large double room on the second floor overlooking the square with a huge picture window, a large bed and a huge chandelier. The fixtures are quite plain and "college like".

The bathroom was just for me but was down the hall and I had a key for it as it was normally locked. However there was only one other room on the corridor and I never actually encountered my neighbor.

Was worried that facing the street would be noisy but is more or less a dead end so very little traffic.

Went across the road to the London House which looks like an college complete with quad to the restaurant for a cooked breakfast. This hall looks just like it came out of Hogwarts. A splendid great hall with long wooden tables. The Goodenough Club consists of several houses in a line and they serve continental breakfast in the basement of main building.

Wi-fi was included. Of the dozen or so hotels I have stayed at in London, this was by no means the fanciest but was definitely the largest room

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBirdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 466 reviews

Reviewed October 23, 2012 via mobile

A colleague recommended the Goodenough Club for a work trip to London. The location is very convenient about halfway between Russell Sq and Kings Cross tubes.

I thought is was excellent value. The rooms were small but functional. I had the continental breakfast each day was excellent (you can go to the nearby college for a cooked breakfast).

The hotel is an old Victorian house so there was no lift which was a problem because I had a lot of luggage with me. If you have trouble lifting or lots of cases I'd suggest requesting a room on the first floor.

Overall an excellent place to stay and good for tourists or travelers visiting Bloomsbury for work.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Rooms are really small and a bit old.
Bathrooms are recently renovated and okay.
No lift and squeaky stairs.

The walk to the college and the (decent) breakfast there is a nice way to discover university life in London.

Good location.

Room Tip: No lift. Ask directions to the breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergeTript
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed here recently for one night during a work related visit to London. The location, on a quiet square in Bloomsbury, is perfect, although it is a reasonable walk to the nearest tube(s). The room I had was on the second floor and overlooked the square. The room was adequate for a short stay but was a bit on the small side (particularly if there are two of you) for a longer stay. Bed was very comfortable and bathroom and shower were fine (although no soap was provided - there was shower gel, shampoo etc, but no bar of soap!). Tea making facilities are provided. Even though my room was at the front it was very quiet during the night. Breakfast is either in the Club (continental breakfast only) or in the Great Hall of the nearly College (full English). I took the full breakfast and it was fine, exactly what you would expect from a College breakfast. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesCBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We spent a couple of nights here while in London. Location is excellent, very central and situated in a tranquil, and pretty area. Our room was incredibly large with a flat screen tv and lots of channels, and tea and coffee facilities which were all well received. But the furnishings are basic, and the bathroom, while clean, was very basic. There was no shower curtain in the bath, so it made for a wet floor when showering. Breakfast is in a separate building, in the actual college, which is novel, and added to the uniqueness of this place. Excellent selection for breakfast. Good value overall, especially given the location, but it’s not 4 star.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HarrisonLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

In the centre of London and has good service at the reception. However 4 stories and lacks a lift (No 23 as all of it in a row of houses). The rooms were nice but the toilets were small with poor flushing.

However front desk was very helpful.

If you want an efficient hotel with all modern services, this is not it. However a relaxed stay and some old world charm - this is it.

Room Tip: If you can take a room in the ground floor - climbing 4 stairs at 11.30 om - ugh!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HeHooTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed at the Goodenough Club during the Para Olympics.Few of my colleagues also stayed at different houses of the Club.My room in the ground floor was very spacious but had a closet of a bathroom.All four star comforts were available in the room .We had our breakfast in the Goodenough college Great Hall than the small common room area close to the reception.
The reception staff were welcoming but had no facilities or porters to carry my friends baggage to the third floor room.(he left the Club the next day)
The location is great for Bloomsbury and Russel square area activities or for a London Base. Remember the hotels in Russels square will be cheaper.(smaller rooms)Area is full of good restaurants Local attractions.
The breakfast at the goodenough college is like the university student breakfast. If not for the price i will certainly stay next year at the Goodenough club too during our annual conference.

Room Tip: ground floor delux
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank senejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Clerkenwell
Crowne Plaza London - Kings Cross
Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
Ambassadors Bloomsbury
#461 of 1,077 in London
2,175 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Megaro
Hotel Megaro
#141 of 1,077 in London
2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
Radisson Blu Edwardian Grafton Hotel
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#34 of 580 in London
242 reviews
East End / East London
The Royal Foundation of St Katharine
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodenough Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodenough Club

Address: 23 Mecklenburgh Square, London WC1N 2AD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 949 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range: $168 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Goodenough Club 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Goodenough Club provides a home from home for visiting academics and those in related professions from all over the world. It occupies 5 fully refurbished Georgian townhouses and a mews which overlook our beautiful Mecklenburgh Sq Gardens, 2 acres of private gardens with tennis court and BBQ area, in the heart of Bloomsbury and a 10 minute walk from the Eurostar at St Pancras. Guests are welcome to join the thriving academic community that has been home to international post graduate students for over 75 years and to attend the talks, lectures and concerts which take place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Goodenough Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodenough Club Hotel London
Goodenough Hotel London
Goodenough Club London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing