We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good things come in small packages.....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elysee Hotel
Ranked #563 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Coquitlam, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good things come in small packages.....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The Elysee Hotel in London is small, has very small rooms but what the hotel lacks in size, they more than make up for by wonderful service, great breakfasts (7.50 pounds each) and a staff that will do anything to help you. We stayed there twice (at both ends of our holiday)and loved the fact that Hyde Park was at the end of our street, there were at least 6 very good restaurants - Chinese, Italian, Malaysian nearby and two excellent pubs (one across the street from the Elysee) and easy bus and tube access to anywhere. We wouldn't stay anywhere else!

Room Tip: The rooms are, by North American standards, minuscule! But after you get over that and get creative...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danae P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

547 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    219
    149
    43
    44
See reviews for
137
176
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Once again we needed to stay in a hotel in London and having stayed at Elysee a couple of years or so ago decided to stay there again. We were certainly not disappointed. Improvements since last stay: - free internet throughout the stay and in the entire hotel
- A fully cooked breakfast, eggs, bacon, sausages etc etc.
We went to theatre in the West End which is only a 15 minute Taxi ride and I went for a morning run in Hyde Park which is opposite the hotel. The traditional pub opposite, The Mitre, has been revamped to a good old fashioned English pub.
A good clean hotel with impeccable service in a great location. An excellent value for money rare for a Central London hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing Hyde park
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Great little place. Near Lancaster Gate, close to buses, tube and a variety of restaurants and pubs, laundry facility next door, staff great - mostly. All the staff were just terrific - I even went back for a second stay during this trip. The LAST morning, I needed a taxi to get to the train station, but the night desk clerk said they only had a contract with hired car to take me to the airport, and HE REFUSED to call me a cab!!! So I had to walk down the street part way to another hotel to catch the attention of a taxi to get my ride!!! This with a cane for walking, and heavy luggage for an international flight home. It was a double insult because everyone else was soooooo wonderful.

Room Tip: Front of hotel is across from a pub, but it quieted down about 10 pm, so that was not a problem. Al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Desertladypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Visited Elysee Hotel with my family and had a fantastic stay. We walked to Westfield shopping centre in Shepherd's Bush which only took 30 minutes and passed through Notting Hill.
We also walked to Hyde Park only 5minutes walk from hotel everyday and fed ducks with bread we pinched from the hotel.
Our stay was memorable as the staff were excellent and gave us 5 star treatment. The cost of our stay was very cheap in comparison to other 3 star hotels in the vicinity. English breakfast was excellent and we could eat as much as we wanted. They also catered for my son who is glutton intolerrant at no extra cost.

The only negative was size of the room. You only stay in the room at night so overall staff, cleanliness, Bar and breakfast out-weighs the negative,

I would highly recommend Elysee Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tel aviv
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

I'm used to 3 stars hotels or inns, but this hotel really ruined the great time we had in London. The curtains were white so starting from 6AM the room had a lot of light. The sheet had stains on it and we found hairs in the glasses and in the shower - grouse. The bed was hardly enough for one person and the room was the size of the bed... there wasn't even room to put our clothes. EVERY DAY WE SEARCHED FOR A DIFFERENT HOTEL, BUT THEY WERE ALL FULL SO WE HAD TO STAY THERE. THE ONLY GOOD THING IS THAT YOU DON'T HAVE TO GO TO LONDONG DUNGENS - YOU JUST SLEEP IN ONE OF THEM...

Room Tip: choose different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmel b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your stay was not up to your satisfaction and we are very concerned about the issues raised and have endeavored to investigate. When you checked in you were not happy with the room allocated and the receptionist immediately offered you another room, which you accepted. When you raised the complaint about the white curtain a member of staff placed another sheet over it to minimize natural light into the bedroom. The bed size is standard international double length and width. Having stayed at the hotel for four nights, that you were unhappy with the hotel and bedroom was never raised with the staff at any point. You can be sure that had you raised the matter with front desk they would have gone out of their way to assist, even to the extent of finding you an alternative hotel through our connections and giving you a refund for nights not stayed rather than have an unhappy guest. Your description of the hotel as a dungeon is regrettable and an insult to the thousands of guests who stay at the hotel every year.
Regards Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Montreal
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in September of 2013. It has a good location, within walking distance of the Paddington rail station and Underground. From the Underground station, you have access to most attractions within a few stops. The hotel itself has very small rooms and they are looking depressed. Breakfast is nothing special but it fills a hole. If you are going to London from Heathrow for a few days, it is a good place to stay just because it is easy to get to.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cookie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
155 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This "Hotel" need to be closed down!!! Its look nice in the net , and some reviews say its good.
I have been in many hotels around the world. London have so much to offer, don't waste it by staying here. the room is so small, tiny. the walls very thin, you can here the elevator door 24 hours. any droop from the next room lavatory, sound like you are their...the sheets was washed, but the stains and marks stay. 100 pounds. no breakfast. We already lost our mood their. you can still go to another hotel. a real one. And they writing at the entrance : "Recommended by tripadvisor" this was my first and last time their( 4 nights...poor us)

Room Tip: don't try this place. this is not a joke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chaim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
We look forward to constructive reviews to improve service and quality. Unfortunately reviews such as this one is of no help to the hotel or the review reading public. At the time of this guest’s stay London was extremely busy and pretty much full. 1,2 and un-starred guest houses, with shared bathrooms, were quoting nightly rates of over £100.Whilst £100 may get guests In most part of the world a generous rated hotel, in central London such a rate buys a budget room at peak times. Luckily a majority of guests at Elysee are regular repeat customers with clear expectations and demands. There are hotels within the catchment, which charge £300 plus per night, which would have suited this reviewing guest.

The inclusion of breakfast within the room rate is an issue under constant review, in fairness to guests who do not want breakfast. The option is up to individual guests. For a charge of £5 breakfast includes cooked eggs, bacon, sausages, juices, cereal, cheese/ham, yogurts breast/ toast, tea/coffee. All this for unlimited consumption by the guest, with staff serving in proper metal cutlery and glass crockery ( no plastic cups etc. as in most branded hotels)

Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#562 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#303 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,236 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#343 of 1,069 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
Comfort Inn Hyde Park
#514 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 476 reviews
0.3 mi away
Troy Hotel
Troy Hotel
#588 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Columbia
The Columbia
#495 of 1,069 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Property: Elysee Hotel
Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #563 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing