We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great location but faulty air condition” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysee Hotel
Ranked #576 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location but faulty air condition”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The location of this hotel is great and many restaurants and other services in the neighborhood, but the window in the room was up to the ceiling, we could not open it and we could not adjust the air condition.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a window, wich you can open.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OlafReynis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    236
    158
    49
    45
See reviews for
146
195
55
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is well placed, travellers hotel. The room I had was the smallest I have ever stayed in, but the hotel did carry that warning when I booked it and to be honest it had everything I needed. Generally the place can do with updating decor wise but it served my purposes well. Breakfast was good and staff were friendly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MFiVienna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

For the review this hotel received I am highly disappointed. You can't please everyone but at least try and not with cheap smiles. The rooms are old and dingy at best and it's not just the one I am in. On check in day the doors to several other rooms were open and you could see in them. That was of course as you tripped over the garbage and linen bags strewn about the hallway. It was cleaning time apparently. The air conditioning made a terrible grinding sound and eventually stopped blowing strong and merely a small stream of air came out. Having a little knowledge of these systems I knew exactly what the problem was. I called the front desk and advised them of the issue. Of course he couldn't believe be but had to come up and check for himself only to tell me he doesn't know anything about air conditioners. Then he told me it was working fine because he could feel the small stream of cool air. I opened the unit up and showed him how it had not been cleaned in some time and the filters were clogged. I told him the relief lines were more than likely clogged because it was causing the back-flow and condensation, which is why the unit was frozen over. He told me it was working. When I became angry and irate at the issue and his challenging me, the customer who was sweating in a hot room with a "working" unit, he capitulated and said he could turn the central unit on, which he did. Then the other unit, the frozen one, made horrific noises all through the night. I would recommend this place to anyone, even on a budget. Dirty rooms, bad maintenance, and bad service! Funny, considering the term "the customer is always right" was coined right here in jolly old England not but a few blocks from this location. I guess they didn't get the memo.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieLikesToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
We are very sorry that the guest was unhappy.
All The air-conditioning units are under bi annual maintenance contract and in response to the review have called the service engineer to recheck all the units to ensure satisfactory functioning. Unfortunately it will be too late for this particular guest as winter is now setting in. once again we apologize to the review guest. As one can understand, with the best of intentions, reception personnel are not qualified to carry out such maintenance late at night. An alternative room would have been offered to the guest if there was availability.
We appreciate constructively critical reviews which help us all at Elysee to improve quality.

Margaret Debinska
Front Desk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Maryland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

The Elysee Hotel is located on Carver Terrace, Paddington, Bayswater. It is within walking distance of Hyde Park. The area is quiet but has all you need within a block or two i e pubs, cafes, grocery. The hotel has a pub attached and also serves breakfast for a fee. We didn't take advantage of this. The rooms are very small but not cramped. The bathroom was good with a nice shower and extra storage room. It had a flat screen TV with lot's of channels. There is an open wardrobe for hanging cloths, a bedside table with shelves an well as a deck and chair with shelves. If you aren't going to be in your room much it is ideal for the price. It was very clean and the beds were very comfortable. The staff was very attentive and helpful. We would recommend it and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dimples07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

A good mid-range hotel in an area of hotels. Clean and friendly. Breakfast was buffet basic, but sufficient and I got milk free scrambled eggs for the asking. The room we were given at first was very small, and we are very tall, so we inquired/complained and the manager changed our room to something bigger after the first night. A good location - a very short walk to the Tube, good restaurants or Hyde Park. Charging for WIFI seems a London hotel given, but again the management was open to reasonable negotiation. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a basic clean and friendly hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GneissGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

The hotel was good. The room was very good, beds very very confortable. Bathroom also very good. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was average, not very choice in food. Location was good, right in front of Hyde Park, perfect for a show that we attended. I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Filipa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

I'm rating this as poor, from a global London perspective. However, in fairness, it's average for the neighourhood. Staff very friendly and try to be helpful. No problems there. But like many hotels in this area, it's in an old borderline dilapidated building, with the rooms painfully small and a bit shabby.

And my pet peeve is, in this day and age, having to pay extra for internet. Which you have to do here. And, not only that, you have to pay extra for EACH device (so, if you want to use a laptop and an iphone, it's about an extra 20 pounds a day).

If you need to stay in this area, you could do worse. But I personally wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Stay in a room overlooking the pub across the street, and you can pick up their wifi signal. But at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lane99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaret d, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Guest reviews and comment cards are extremely important for us at Elysee in improving quality for future customers. However for this particular review we are uncertain on what improvements can be made.

The guests paid £99 for a double room, equivalent to 110 euros or 160 can $. For this they got an ensuite room with tea coffee facilities, in room safe,air-conditioning, flat screen TV, daily change of towels, hotel In a great location facing Hyde Park. Plus the guest’s have confirmed of helpful and friendly staff. There are a number of hotels in the area which charge £200-300 per night which are in a different niche from the Elysee and all coexist very well in the catchment, giving visitors an excellent choice of accommodation.

Regarding charges for internet/Wi-Fi, this is an issue constantly under review, as in most London hotels, majority of which charge for internet. Currently at Elysee we take the view that those who do not require or use Internet benefit from a lower room rate whereas guests who need this facility pay the extra. To clarify it is £9.50 per 24 hours ( £17.50 for seven days) and not £20 a day stated by the reviewer. These systems do not work for multiple devices but the hotel staff are more than happy to transfer to other given devices at no extra charge.

Regards
Margaret
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#532 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#535 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Columbia
#507 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Rhodes Hotel
#289 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,335 reviews
Hyde Park Boutique Hotel
#509 of 1,087 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Property: Elysee Hotel
Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #576 of 1,087 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Priceline so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing