We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Best Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elysee Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elysee Hotel
Ranked #556 of 1,072 Hotels in London
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

I live in Central London and required a hotel room as the house was overflowing with guests. Recent reviews had caused concern but checking out various other hotels it seems London room rates have gone crazy.Even a dump one star hotels quoted £160 per night so at £120 per night quoted for Elysee it was worth taking a chance.
What a pleasant surprise and such a gem. Clean rooms, crisp white linen, flat screen TV. The Staff tried extremely hard to make sure that all was well. We were a little late for breakfast at 9.40 but that was no issue with the breakfast staff. The breakfast was great, ok no English fry up but much more that a simple continental that one now expects in budget chains. And the shower pressure, something that I rate as important was wonderful. My view for recent spate of negative review is that in recent months London hoteliers have substantially bumped up room rates and this I believe has increased expectations. Overall I think we had great value. Just remember that high speed wifi internet is free in the lobby and bar area but chargeable in the rooms ( I think £5 for 24 hours)

Room Tip: Room 15 where we stayed was larger than average.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JosephLondoner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    222
    152
    43
    44
See reviews for
139
179
53
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

I was so disappointed with this hotel. I've not stayed at many hotels but I've stayed at a few 3 star hotels in London and they weren't as bad as this. I stayed in a room in the basement and it really felt that you were in a basement; I didn't feel safe at all. Saying the rooms are basic is an understatement - definitely the case for the furniture. The air-conditioning and fans were terribly noisy; I found it hard to sleep. The shower cubicle was faulty - the door didn't close at all. The tea/coffee/milk in the room was not at all sufficient. There were hardly any channels on the TV. The carpet was stained and dirty and the bedding looked grubby - YUCK! The staff in the breakfest room were very helpful and attentive but try as they did, it didn't make up for the shabby surroundings - the toilets in the breakfast room were the worst I've ever seen. Thank heavens I only stayed one night. I don't know if I can trust star ratings and reviews again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesHereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2011

The room was very small, with nowhere to put your suitcase, and no drawers keep your clothes, just a small hanger area with 4 hangers. Carpet was dirty, but otherwise a clean room with A/C which was nice. The hotel was loud with doors banging all the time, and the motion light sensors that don't come on until your almost to your door. They had a nice free breakfast down in the basement though. However there is a little cafe right in front of the hotel called Sheila's, where all the cabbies go, great for a bite to eat! A must do! Also the Mitre Pub right across the street which was very good as well. But you do have to pay for Wifi. Good quiet location near Hyde Park, with the Lancaster Gate Underground station right around the corner.

Room Tip: Value hotel, small but sufficient
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mels4711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgend, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were quite let down with this hotel. We spent ages trying to find a hotel to meet our needs to enjoy a few days away in London. One important thing to us is the use if the internet when away. The website made out that free wifi was available, however upon arrival we discovered that we had to pay. Breakfast was a disappointment. Continental breakfast was advertised on booking. However, this consisted of 3 different cereals, tired looking tinned fruit, yogurts, boiled eggs left out in a tray by the yogurts to go cold, bread to toast yourself, scrambled egg and baked beans. No signs of traditional continental breakfast items such as bacon, sausages, croissants, fresh fruit. Breakfast hours were 07:30 till 09:30 which were not convenient when away on a holiday. We turned up for breakfast at 09:00 to find they were already packing away. Breakfast tables were small and cluttered with too many jams and big sugar bowl. We completed a comment card and on departure popped it in the box, however this did not seem to have been emptied in a long while as it was jam packed. Room and bathroom were on the small side, not easy to move around when 2 are trying to get dressed in the morning. Advertised satellite television, however very basic channels, though we did have one or two sports channels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jayne_caudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

While the hotel lacks the charm of some, the small rooms were clean and the beds comfortable. It was an affordable, acceptable alter attire to some of the accommodations in the area.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jean06345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2011

Okay, so I guess we should've known seeing as it was only a 3-star rated hotel (and after looking back at some of the reviews...eek!) But it definitely is not somewhere you will want to stay for your honeymoon! We were here for 4 days and enjoyed the stay for the most part (the location was spectacular). The staff was less than friendly and the room was smaller than most economy European hotel rooms that we had been in. We told ourselves that we were only going to be sleeping in this room, which after seeing the room, we made sure that was all we did. Tiny, tiny bathroom and it was basically just a room with a king size bed and no walking space. We couldn't even find room for our luggage so we had to jump over it ever morning and night!! Decent hotel, just tread carefully!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mookie1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LIPHOOK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

we booked our room via booking.com. It cost £125 on a last minute room. IN short they have a floor of rooms which are obviously ordinary rooms cut in half especially for these kind of sites. The room was tiny and was the worst shape. there is a narrow corridor within the room which had a window at the end. otherwise no natural light. The bed was not comfortable but wasnt bad. The breakfast was ok but basic. The air con worked well but there was a noise in our room which we attributed to the air con during the night but we couldnt be sure. Rooms are so close that the idiots who rented room next woke us banging the door really loud at 6.30am. Not the best night sleep by any margin. reception were ok but dont expect lots of help.

If your looking for comforatble, clean and basic then this is a great place but surely you can get better for £125.

This is what u get through laterooms, booking and last minute. My advice plan ahead and book through proper thought through deals via sites like travelzoo or the larger chains. YOu'll get similar prices and proper rooms with windows and everything you'd expect.

I am not sure what annoyed me about this room the msot. I think to be honest it was that I felt like it wouldnt of mattered if the rest of the hotel was full (which I dont think it was) we would of got this small tiny room whatever.

Room Tip: Dont use last minute sites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank caironp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ruletheworld, Front Office Manager at Elysee Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2011
The period that the guest booked was an extremely busy one in London and therefore the rate paid was at the top end of the range charged which is £75-130 for double rooms. Even this rate would have represented some of the best value accommodation in London at that time and without doubt the larger chain room rates would have been substantially more for similar rooms. There are a few rooms (three) that are oddly shaped and these provide the best use of space allowing all the required facilities to be in place. That these are larger than the average rooms in the building make them very popular with regular guests. The hotel has obtained planning permission to use the infill and therefore in the near future these rooms will be ‘straightened’ as part of constant improvement programme.

We will take this opportunity to apologise for the neighbouring guest banging the door too loud at 6.30 in the morning something that is generally difficult to control. Regarding the issue of breakfast this has been explained in previous review responses. It would be helpful to have details of how the reception was unhelpful so that corrective measures and improvement can be made.

The guest’s note that ‘If your looking for comforatble, clean and basic then this is a great place’ is clearly welcome.

Margaret

Front Desk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.2 mi away
Rhodes Hotel
Rhodes Hotel
#290 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 1,252 reviews
0.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
BEST WESTERN Mornington Hotel
#347 of 1,072 in London
4.0 of 5 stars 629 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Columbia
The Columbia
#502 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
MStay 27 Paddington Hotel
#570 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#521 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corus Hotel Hyde Park London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Hotel

Property: Elysee Hotel
Address: 25-26 Craven Terrace | Hyde Park, London W2 3EL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #556 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysee Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elysee Hotel is superbly located in Central London's Hyde Park area, an ideal base from which to explore the capital. Privately-owned and recently renovated to the highest standards, this 55 room hotel provides guests with excellent value for money. Rooms are modernly-designed with flat screen TV, air conditioning, WiFi, in-room safe, tea and coffee facilities, and€“ all the modern amenities today'€™s travelers rely on. Triple and quad rooms are available for families and small groups. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Elysee Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing