We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel
Ranked #183 of 555 London B&B and Inns
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointing”
Reviewed November 16, 2013

Booked to stay at the hotel as we were going to the Ideal Home Xmas Exhibition.

After booking read some of the reviews and decided to just take as it came - but found the room very disappointing. Only one 3 pillows available for 2 twin beds and duvets on bed very thin. Not the place to stay when its getting cold as heating does not come on until 9pm at night - as we found out as it was freezing. Amazing the corridor outside the room was warmer than our room. Window as not double glazed.. they do have shutters but not enough to cover all windows and the curtains although lined - did not keep out the draft coming from the Window.

The lock on the door was not secure and would not have taken much to break into the room. The bath room door - needed a technique to get it closed .. a huge pull and then an almighty bang as it eventually closed.

Bathroom and room and all sheets on bed were clean. But the shower head needed descaling as the water went all over the place - but the shower was hot.

Breakfast consists of orange juice, toast & cereal. Also tea and coffee.... The staff are warm and friendly and that l feel really is the only bonus points to this hotel...

For the cost of the rooms l feel this hotel is very poor and there are lots of other places in London which for the same money, make a bit more of an effort to make their rooms more warm and breakfast bit better. When we stayed the vast majority of the guests were eastern European. I would not return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Not sure there is such a thing in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    85
    112
    62
    79
See reviews for
92
111
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed here on the 26th October for one night. We were going to a concert at earls court and the hotel is ideally placed for this. That's the only good point.
We stayed in room L3 on the third floor which was very small and cramped. The room had a weird small window which was basically falling out of the frame and actually had holes in it.
The bathroom had a shelf above the sink which was falling off the wall , no plug and a shower which didn't,t work and was also falling off the wall. The pillows on the bed were disgusting. There was also a large hole in the wall. The breakfast was terrible and consisted of cereal and toast. They couldn't,t even get that right as the toast looked like it had been shown the toaster for 5 seconds and there was no choice of spreads.
Overall for what we paid it was terrible value for money.
We pointed out our complaints to the guy on reception who I assume was the owner but he wasn't interested. Terrible.

Room Tip: Our friends had a room on the ground floor and that was a lot better than ours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Chelsea House Hotel is very well situated if you want to visit London; close to Underground and bus lines to the centre of the city. But this is the only positive thing of the hotel.
"Bathroom" is too little [microsink-lavabo] and furnitures are less than essential. Breakfast is based on two toasts and crispies. Permanence is generally uncomfortable. The staff is kind, but this is not sufficient to compensate the cost; too expensive in comparison with the service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fab49er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventnor
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Okay so we are going to a concert, so only one night stay.
I write this review because I have a restaurant and sometimes people write unfair reviews or owners may change things but the bad reviews remain. 
On arrival a pleasant reception and room very clean. Reading the other reviews I was nervous but we were worried we would not be able to find an inexpensive hotel so we booked in hope that the reviews were wrong. The pictures may have been from before, seems they have redecorated. The room is not bad for the money, number g2 on ground floor is fine cannot vouch for the others. It is not for your honeymoon but a budget overnight or short stay is perfect. Clean toilet and seat,liquid soap tiles and towels clean,shower clean. Sheets white and clean, tv flat screen with remote. Tea and coffee in room. Breakfast coffee tea cereal and toast included, pleasant girl serving tables. Clean tables and staff. 

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beekay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location, fairly clean and poor service. The guy at reception was very rude when we first arrived. Also, we came back to the hotel at midnight (after him saying that we could come back at any hour at night) and the door was locked. It took him a while to let us in and we were not well received when he opened the door.

The room was ok, but you can notice that the hotel is getting old on the not very clean walls when going upstairs.

Is just 3 minute walk from the earl's court tube station and it has many cafes around. I guess the hotel is not bad if you're planning to stay one or two nights and not looking for any type of luxury.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Romina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here while attending a wedding in Chelsea. We arrived about mid-day and were allowed to leave our luggage in the breakfast room. As we are not young and not very mobile we had asked for a downstairs room but were given one up many flights of stairs. The receptionist eventually helped us with our case.

The room was incredibly small - two single beds with a gap between them, no bedside table, nor light switch by the bed, nor wardrobe. Instead of the latter there were two wire coat hangers on the back of the door. We tried to push the beds together and then found that this exposed pipes by the window which jutted out and my husband nearly fell over them.

The beds were clean but incredibly uncomfortable. The bathroom was modern but there was no plug in the basin.

Breakfast was minimal and had to be taken in shifts. We were offered cereal, tea, coffee, orange juice and two pieces of sliced bread toast. The receptionist did get us a taxi to Kings Cross.

We would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked at this B and B when in London for a wedding, as it was on a list provided by the bride. We arrived about an hour before check in time and were told we were too early. At least we were able to leave our luggage while we went out to fill in time. Room small but clean. We couldn't switch off the light over the mirror in the bathroom and was told they weren't able to fix it. After one night with light coming through the bathroom door, my husband fixed it by taking the light fixture apart.
Breakfast adequate but somewhat mediocre.
At 10:45 on the morning we were leaving, someone was knocking on the door to remind us we had to be out by 11:00.
I didn't like having to leave the room key at reception, where they are hung on a board in full view of anyone coming in to the hotel.
Price reasonable for London, but on our last visit to London we stayed at a very reasonably priced hotel which was much better value than this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#669 of 1,063 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#522 of 1,063 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 426 reviews
Earls Court
Garden View Hotel
Garden View Hotel
#525 of 1,063 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Merlyn Court Hotel
Merlyn Court Hotel
#117 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Earls Court
Manor Hotel
Manor Hotel
#127 of 555 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#50 of 555 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel

Property: Chelsea House Hotel
Address: 96 Redcliffe Gardens | Earls Court, London SW10 9HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #183 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing