We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok..” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chelsea House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Chelsea House Hotel
Ranked #170 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Ok..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location, fairly clean and poor service. The guy at reception was very rude when we first arrived. Also, we came back to the hotel at midnight (after him saying that we could come back at any hour at night) and the door was locked. It took him a while to let us in and we were not well received when he opened the door.

The room was ok, but you can notice that the hotel is getting old on the not very clean walls when going upstairs.

Is just 3 minute walk from the earl's court tube station and it has many cafes around. I guess the hotel is not bad if you're planning to stay one or two nights and not looking for any type of luxury.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Romina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    82
    107
    60
    79
See reviews for
88
109
24
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed here while attending a wedding in Chelsea. We arrived about mid-day and were allowed to leave our luggage in the breakfast room. As we are not young and not very mobile we had asked for a downstairs room but were given one up many flights of stairs. The receptionist eventually helped us with our case.

The room was incredibly small - two single beds with a gap between them, no bedside table, nor light switch by the bed, nor wardrobe. Instead of the latter there were two wire coat hangers on the back of the door. We tried to push the beds together and then found that this exposed pipes by the window which jutted out and my husband nearly fell over them.

The beds were clean but incredibly uncomfortable. The bathroom was modern but there was no plug in the basin.

Breakfast was minimal and had to be taken in shifts. We were offered cereal, tea, coffee, orange juice and two pieces of sliced bread toast. The receptionist did get us a taxi to Kings Cross.

We would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Richmond, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

We booked at this B and B when in London for a wedding, as it was on a list provided by the bride. We arrived about an hour before check in time and were told we were too early. At least we were able to leave our luggage while we went out to fill in time. Room small but clean. We couldn't switch off the light over the mirror in the bathroom and was told they weren't able to fix it. After one night with light coming through the bathroom door, my husband fixed it by taking the light fixture apart.
Breakfast adequate but somewhat mediocre.
At 10:45 on the morning we were leaving, someone was knocking on the door to remind us we had to be out by 11:00.
I didn't like having to leave the room key at reception, where they are hung on a board in full view of anyone coming in to the hotel.
Price reasonable for London, but on our last visit to London we stayed at a very reasonably priced hotel which was much better value than this one.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judy g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in January 2013 with two adults and two children aged 4 and 2. The location is great, it's a calm neighbourhood with easy access to many museums, Hyde Park, shopping and restaurants. It's also within easy access of local transport. The staff was very kind and helpful. The rooms are a little on the small side but the staff went to great lengths to provide for the children. Most of the floors in the hotel are wood, which looks great, but really is not very practical in terms of noise. The breakfast was tasty but a bit pricey for what you get, and like most hotels in London it's very expensive. I can't see the value for money, but I think that's a big city phenomenon. Despite the minus points I would stay here again for the area which I like very much.

Room Tip: Rooms toward the back are quieter, facing away from the main street and onto the Mews behind. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bella V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

London is expensive so if you need something that is good location wise this is all it has going for it. We expected very basic; clean and safe. I found one manager helpful with directions and recommending a place for dinner. Another one was not friendly at all. Internet access must be done from the breakfast area at the front of the hotel.The rooms were clean but very small (again, to be expected). The bed was very lumpy and uncomfortable but sheets were clean. More blankets would have been nice as the room was quite cold at night (third floor). We made tea at night and the next day the dirty cup was still there when we came back after touring. There were a few times when the front desk was vacant and we saw guests having to wait to get their keys. Not a great experience after a long day of touring but we didn't experience this. The showers varied from lots of water and pressure to none, to either all hot water or all cold. At one point I couldn't wash my hair as I was sculled by the water. Breakfast is very basic and they didn't seem ready for all the guests that arrived in the morning. On the day of departure (at 6:45 am), the manager was at the door to be sure our cab arrived and wished us well on our travels.

Overall, they have lots of work to do. One manager is quite good but the other needs lessons in hospitality. We took the perspective it was merely a place to sleep and nothing more. They appear to want to simply get away with the minimum and really don't care about their guests or their comfort. After all the B& Bs I've stayed in when travelling in Europe, this was one of the most disappointing. I hope they take all the feedback many have given and work to improve the place because the location is quite attractive.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMwoolfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

This has got to be the worst hotel/b&b I have ever stayed in!!

Me & my boyfriend stayed here for 1 night after we went for a Chelsea stadium tour it was walking distance to the hotel which was ok & the outside didn't look to bad, we walked in and the house looked so old we wasn't greeted just Asked which name I booked it under, asked me to fill a few details and made me pay straight away before we Evan looking at our room, which I must say was shocking.

We wer placed on the 1st floor and as we walked in to the room it was the size of a box the cupboards wer wonky the tv was placed on a fridge that looked as tho it came from a scrap yard, the curtains wer discusting and there wer stains all up the walls we opened the curtains to the view of a brick wall!!! & a massive draft coming through the window which didn't Evan shut properly. The bathroom was dirty it had no plug in the sink which I nearly lost my mascara down! Broken locks on the doors! Discraseful!

When we turned on the television it came up in Spanish! And didn't Evan work I then asked at reception and the staff member was very rude & unhelpful, we then spent 15 mins trying to tune it in! The bed was made out to be a double when really it was just 2 single beds pushed together which I nearly fell down the gap by the way!

As for the CONTINENTAL breakfast well that's a different story we wer offered stingy bowls of cereal vile coffee & 2 pieces of dry toast which took 25 mins to come out!

after an awful experience We couldn't wait to leave this building so as we left we handed our keys & didnt evan give them a thank you, I WOULD NOT recommend this hotel to anyone I would have rather slept under a bus shelter than in this dump of a b&b

Disappointing & a waste of money!!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sted91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

You don't really expect to complain within 5 mins of being in our room, but we did. Sticky carpet, either old gum or carpet glue, a toilet that wouldn't stop filling and a sink that took an age to empty, ie blocked!! Bed was comfy and plenty of hot water for a shower. Continental Breakfast, minus the Continental was an experience....2 white and 2 brown slices of toast were plonked in front of us, not a croissant in sight. On our way out, the metal handles on the exterior of the front door were being vigorously cleaned to within a mm of its coating....if only they would apply half the energy to making sure that the rooms are ready for paying guests!!
We shall not be returning or recommending.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Browneyes569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Sara Hotel
Sara Hotel
#626 of 1,087 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#486 of 1,087 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
South Kensington
Merlyn Court Hotel
Merlyn Court Hotel
#115 of 567 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#69 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#82 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#50 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chelsea House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chelsea House Hotel

Property: Chelsea House Hotel
Address: 96 Redcliffe Gardens | Earls Court, London SW10 9HH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #170 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Chelsea House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Chelsea House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chelsea House Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing