We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Garden View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Garden View Hotel
Ranked #532 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Leicester
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Just a cheap one night stay in London required and this hotel fitted the bill. Ten minutes walk from Earls Court tube, nice quiet street overlooking a nice green square, basic but adequate for a one night stay. Room was ok, small but just somewhere to sleep so who cares, couple of things didn't work properly but reported to reception on our departure and they where pleased we informed them. Staff very friendly and helpfull, no problem to leave our bags before check in and again after check out before departing London. Although we were on a bed and breakfast tariff, only £90 for the night, the breakfast was only sliced bread toast and tea/coffee and the small room was packed so we went to a small cafe on Earls Court Road - Bencho - who did a superb full English for £6.90p, great fiendly service, just the job.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob_and_Karen_Bent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

968 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    420
    287
    82
    65
See reviews for
211
321
99
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

As written in the title.
Good:
1. Cost ... very low in this location. No extra charges nor taxes.
2. Location... 3 min from nearest tube station"Earl's court", but this tube station is "zone 2", so pretty higher than "zone 1" station. A bus stop of N9 bound for Heathrow airport is also close, and you can go airport at mignight for only less than 2 GBP.
3. Service ... not bad, not good also. One matt, bus towel, shampoo and solid soap is served every night.
4. Equipment ... not bad for the charges. Cheapest rooms does not equip bustub. The building and rooms are shabby, but enought for take a good sleep.
5. food ... very simple. only cerial or UK style breads is served(self-service). Not good taste, but do not worry, most of the foods in London are really bad taste. There is good kebab shop near this Earl's court, you can take good & cheap meal on this shop.

立地が最高です。ゾーン2ですが、地下鉄の駅Earl's Courtから近く、駅近くにスーパーもあります。また、N9 夜行バスのバス停も近くにあるので、深夜便からホテルに直行、または深夜に空港に直行もできます。食事はしょぼくてまずいですが、ロンドンという街は「美味しい」という概念が欠落しているようなので、そこら辺は気にしなくても良いでしょう。

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xidazoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

Nice clean stay, pleasant, good location but no A/c in room which made it uncomfortable if staying in the summer time when it is hot and humid, however nice reception, breakfast, clean and pleasant short stay...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary05uc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was traveling to London with a friend on a limited budget, and after reading the mixed reviews we really were expecting the worst- but Garden View Hotel actually was very good, especially for London and for the price. The location is swell- 5 minute walk from the tube station, area feels safe even at night, and the rooms were not that small (the other reviewers seem to be used to American hotels. This is Europe- we have small beds and our hotels are generally tiny). The hotel was very clean and the beds quite comfortable. Wi-fi was working and we thought the breakfast was fine. The only drawback was that since we traveled in the middle of winter, the rooms got quite cold during the night, and the first two nights we had to sleep with our recently bought fleece onesies. We got it fixed the third night without problems. Despite the cold, the general atmosphere was quite cosy, and there was a kettle and tea cups in the room which was very nice after a long day freezing your butt off in February. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2013

This hotel is in a very good position near the tube and the neighborhood is very quiet.
The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean but really really small.
Breakfast is ok but very basic (cereal & toast).

Room Tip: Ask for first floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MiryMillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is very nice situated. Rooms are clean and nice. Breakfast is terrible! Only white bread (toast) with almost nothing to put on..... That's something that they can improve to make the stay of the customers even more pleasant.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, AL
Level Contributor
184 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The location is good and the staff are friendly and helpful, bur I think this hotel is quite overpriced for what you get. Our room was basic, bit reasonably clean and the bathroom was nice, although we certainly didn't get much of a "garden view". There is no ventilation, but as long as you can keep the windows wide open that is ok. The worst thing was that the radiator was making a loud noise all night, every day of our stay. They could not or would not do anything about it, nor did they have any alternative rooms or could offer any discount off the price. The breakfast was not much to shout about, just toast with jam or cereal + instant coffee. All in all, I wouldn't recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dokness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#437 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#839 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#501 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#744 of 1,088 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 412 reviews
Earls Court
Twenty Nevern Square
Twenty Nevern Square
#556 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#691 of 1,088 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hotel

Property: Garden View Hotel
Address: 29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #532 of 1,088 Hotels in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garden View
Garden View London
Garden View Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing