We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros & cons”
Review of Garden View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Garden View Hotel
Ranked #580 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Pros: A nice quiet location with a view of the park. The neighborhood has restaurants and grocery stores and the Earl's Court tube is just a few blocks away. The staff is friendly and efficient. Free internet in the room worked great.

Cons: The room was tiny. A twin bed with a narrow hallway. I nearly had to stand on the toilet to close the bathroom door and access the shower. Breakfast was too basic with instant coffee.

Considering the price, I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,039)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

355 - 361 of 1,039 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2011

The room was clean and nice, but it was super small. Had to maneuver around the door to use the toilet or get into the shower. The room overlooked a nice park, generally a quiet area. The breakfast was an option of white bread toast or cereal. Definitely would not recommend the food. The location was great though, close to the subway. Would stay there again, but wouldn't do breakfast with them.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

The main advantage is the location, other than that rooms are very small and beds are not comfortable, and breakfast is very basic (white bread toast and cereal)

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2011

The Hotel was run down, very small and not kept up good. We were given a room in the basement with window looking to the main entrance, we were not able to sleep until 1am first night since there was a group of students from Denmark that were constantly opening and closing their rooms and running out to smoke in front of the main entrance. Also 3 boys in the room next to ours were talking not that loud and it felt like they were 2 feet away in our room. I guess that is what you get when you build 3 rooms out of 1.
I was at the front desk around 11:30 pm and asked that either they move us to a different room or do something about kids running around. The front desk told me that there are no rooms available and that I should wait until midnight to go to sleep since that is when they stop running around. I found that ridiculous. Next day we were able to get another room on the ground floor and just few doors away from the front door, this room was so tiny that we could not fit 2 bags anywhere and had to jump over one to get to the bed.

Bed was awful springs were broken and squeaking, and our double was more like a twin.
Breakfast was just 1 kind of toast and some cereal with instant coffee.

Overall I say stay away, if you do not have in your budget to spend little extra for a different hotel I say save some more and go next year, since for me the London experience was tarnished by staying at this hotel

Room Tip: If you stay here. Which I advise NOT, ask for the room on 2-3 floor and not facing the garden
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jasmin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2011

Room was very small but we knew that going in... Very clean. Bedding was worn and old, but again very clean. Staff helpful booking tours and taxi's. Very close to tube station. It was very warm in the room and had to open the window. We did not use breakfast. Not sure why people get upset about it. They do not promise a full breakfast.

We arrived early and was able to store our luggage all day until late that evening when we returned to check in. We left early every morning and returned back in late evening so did not stay in the room any longer than to sleep? Not a fancy place but a very decent place to stay on a budget. Was happy about free wifi.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loriekirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2011

Rooms are small.Stayed in single room.Bathroom quite small but clean.Staff are very friendly.Breakfast is self service and really only tea and toast.Ideal place for short stay as its 5 mins from Earls Court Tube station.Very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripsterDonegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2011

The rooms are very small and basic...They have crammed in as many rooms as possible making it feel like a hostel rather than a hotel. In my twin room one bed was okay but the other was well past its 'sell by date'. The 'continental' brakfast was a joke...choice of toast and three cereals that was it. What happened to fruit, croissant and cheeses!!! Come on Garden View you could do so much better and perhaps you would get returning visitors.
On the positive note the reception staff were friendly and its a great location for Earls Court and the underground....But never again

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie186284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
London Court Hotel
London Court Hotel
#386 of 1,077 in London
188 reviews
Earls Court
London Town Hotel
London Town Hotel
#561 of 1,077 in London
451 reviews
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#797 of 1,077 in London
758 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Earls Court
Hotel Rushmore
Hotel Rushmore
#574 of 1,077 in London
476 reviews
Earls Court
Mowbray Court Hotel
Mowbray Court Hotel
#451 of 1,077 in London
375 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Kensington Hotel
Lord Kensington Hotel
#727 of 1,077 in London
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garden View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garden View Hotel

Address: 29-31 Nevern Square, London SW5 9PE, England (Formerly Terstan Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Earls Court
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #580 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Price Range: $59 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Garden View Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Garden View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Garden View
Garden View London
Garden View Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing