We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Less than expected”
Review of 28-50

28-50
Reserve with OpenTable
28-50 is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,790 of 22,674 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $38 - $51
Cuisines: French, Seafood, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: In the heart of fashionable Mayfair is the newest addition to the 28°-50° family.Designed over two floors, 28-50 Maddox Street continues our tradition of providing a high-quality but relaxed dining experience and excellent value for money. Choose from over 30 wines, available by the glass, carafe or bottle, as well as a regularly changing modern European food menu. On the ground floor is our first ever champagne bar, with an amazing choice of 40 to 50 varieties, including four available by the glass. There are also outdoor terraces at the front and rear for 'al fresco' dining, plus a spacious basement room for private parties and group events.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Less than expected”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We had decent moules frites and a nice carafe of Rioja, but I was a bit disappointed that the choice of wines was actually fairly limited...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russell H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    75
    23
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“We only had a bottle of wine”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

but then had just been the last guests to leave a restaurant round the corner and it was Sunday and our friend did not want to catch his train straightaway and we wanted to talk some more and etc. 28-50 we knew from Fetter Lane and had not realised there was one where we were standing in Maddox Street. Very, very pleasant and a much more democratic wine-list than is usually found in Mayfair. I have little doubt the food is good (we have been enthusiastic visitors to Texture since soon after it opened) but a really pleasant interlude on a very wet and cold afternoon.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Relaxed and nice ambiance. YES !”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

Diner for 2, on a week day ; I definitely recommend tables on the ground floor (versus the lower ground floor, more noisy and less pleasant).
That being said, the rest is very good : very nice deco (nice tables and above all, nice lighting), very friendly and professional staff (both waiters/waitresses and staff at the entrance) and enjoyable food and wine.
No rush, all smiles, in a few words : a very relaxed evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isabelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Really nice restaurant with excellent service”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I came here with some friends for dinner on a Friday evening. We were quite early but our table was ready so we took it. We ended up sitting there for 4 hours over some great food and several bottles of wine, and we were never made to feel like we had to leave. Service was really, really good - our waitress was very pleasant, knowledgable and discreet. Great spot!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oks943idk4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great food and wine options in a stylish venue”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

There is a relaxed but stylish feel to this place and the wide variety of food and wine options on the menu is exciting. We were served quickly and efficiently and chef Justin Le Clair did us proud with his delicious fish dishes, ( two varieties of sauces for either baked or fried sea bream). The vegetarian options were a little limited but a request for something off menu was soon prepared. Our deserts of chocolate tart and plum crumble didn't disappoint, ( rich dark chocolate on light pastry was my favourite). The venue atmosphere offers a chance to be smart or casual, lighting for evening winter dining is soft and warm. Both street level and downstairs dining areas are welcoming and hit the right note. The comprehensive wine menu made this dining experience a memorable one. This new restaurant deserves to be a success and should be on everyone's list of where to eat in London. I will return !

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 610markc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 28-50 also viewed

 

Been to 28-50? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing